We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ELEGANT PLUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
McGregor, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ELEGANT PLUS”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a fabulously elegant hotel. Inside has a medieval look with oodles of amenities. Staff provided extraordinary services...made us all feel so special. As we were unsure of the drinking water in Peru, we were provided with unending bottled water. The food was outstanding. Rooms were clean and replenished daily. We wanted to go ziplining while in Peru so the staff contacted a tour agency which sent a personal rep to the JW Marriott for our convenience. We have traveled extensively in Europe & Asia, but this Peruvian Marriott was undoubtedly the BEST EVER! Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your encouraging comments about the hotel and our services, for us your opinion is really valuable.

I feel honored with your wonderful comments about the hotel and our service being you an experimented traveler, I am so glad you loved our architecture and design and that the service provided by our so professional staff exceeded your expectations making you notice how special you are and how we care about your needs for example giving you the bottles of water.

I am glad you liked the food, the rooms and the staff helpfulness that gave you advice and could contact you to do the tour you wanted.

Thank you once again for your kind words considering us the best ever! It will be a complete pleasure to have you and your family back soon to continue delighting you.

Best Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    274
    57
    33
    21
See reviews for
705
1,050
99
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although the J.W. Marriott in Cusco have already celebrated their 1st Anniversary of being open very recently, the hotel still have the very new feeling since being fully renovated into a luxury hotel from being an abandoned colonial (and even pre-Columbian) archeological site.

We stayed at this hotel over 6 days in early September, as a base for exploring Cusco and the areas nearby and for being a base for getting out into the Sacred Valley.

As a regular Marriott customer, I was pleasantly surprised at how the hotel was renovated over an ambitious 6 year project and how it's history only adds and compliments to it's existing charm.
From the moment you come into the former chapel to the front desk with the crystal hanging down the ancient wall, where you are seated by the fire while all your arrangements are made for you while you enjoy a warm cup of tea,.

There are recreational facilities and a spa in the basement level, although we were too busy in Cusco to enjoy these amenities...we did take a tour down there and they were beautiful. Also on the same level are two pre-Columbian archeological sites behind plexi glass to demonstrate how much history exists behind these walls and what the hotel has done to preserve and showcase these sites. The hotel offers a small tour of the property, has a book on display in the lobby explaining the history as well a video that is played on the welcome TV channel.

The rooms were very comfortable with a strong Wi-Fi signal, a well designed bathroom with shower and tub...and pink bath salts from Salines de Maras. The breakfast and service was fantastic in the morning with a huge selection for breakfast of excellent quality foods.

We had a 3rd Floor courtyard view room that is a little more and took the oxygen in the room to help reduce the effects of the altitude while in Cusco.

So many extras the hotel offered, all of which make our whole experience in Cusco all the more memorable. My only fault would be the online booking system, perhaps I made an error when I booked but was expecting the same package and price when we returned to the hotel for the second part of our stay. The desk staff seemed disinterested that I was paying so much more with our second stay.

This hotel provides great value today, as it surely will become one of the best...if not the best hotel in Cusco very, very soon.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having the courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfcrestYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a detailed review on the Tripadvisor website, I appreciate the time you took letting us know your opinion about our service.

First of all I would like to thank your words of appreciation for our historical past that we preserve not only in different hotel common areas where we have the Augustines’ Monastery remains but also in the exhibition rooms that you could visit where we have Inca and Pre-Inca vestiges. I am glad that you spent 6 days with us and that you could visit all the marvelous Cusco attractions!

Thank you for mentioning our service details like the personalized check in enjoying a cup of tea, the decoration details like the 65,000 Swarovski crystals hanging at the front desk area which represents the sun, the god of the Incas; and our facilities like the spa, comfortable rooms and great internet signal.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the room and the bathroom, relaxing at the tub with the Maras pink salt, that our breakfast product and service was of your complete like and that the oxygen in-room supply helped you reducing the altitude sickness symptoms.

Finally I would like to apologize for the inconveniences with your reservation, we will check on that with the department responsible but fortunately that was an isolated incident that did not stained your whole experience. Once again thank you very much for the positive and motivating review you left, we are doing all our efforts to be ranked as the best hotel in Cusco.

We look forward to welcome you and your friends back in the near future, so that you can continue exploring Cusco and enjoying all that JW Marriott has to offer.

Warm Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is perfect, the hotel is beautiful. The staff, however, really make this place spectacular! We felt like family there - honestly cannot say enough about how wonderful the hotel staff were to us during our stay. They (often) knew our names and treated us like royalty (and we are not). We hope to return with our kids next time, and will DEFINITELY stay at the JW Marriott. Thank you to all who made this such a memorable experience. The great team at this hotel didn't even know that this was our 15th wedding anniversary and my 50th birthday celebration - it couldn't have been more perfect. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We experienced both a suite and regular room. Noise level was reasonable for both, even though room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTGray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank the time you have taken to share your comments about your stay with us, it is so rewarding to receive positive feedback like yours, it inspire us to continue giving our best.

I receive with much gratitude your comments about our associates (staff) who demonstrated how gladly they do their job every day with a sincere interest on your needs making you feel like home, following the hotel standards on a natural way showing you how much we value your preference. I will extend all of them your kind words.

I hope you can come back with your family! I am sorry we missed the opportunity to spoil you in such important dates, but for sure next time we will delight you with another memorable experience!

Cordially Yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay while visiting Cusco!

We had spent several nights with a tour group in Cusco, staying at substandard hostels. We needed a break and booked a night at the Marriott. This is truly one of the most beautiful, classiest hotels I've visited and I've traveled extensively within the U.S. and have been to 7 foreign countries.

Visually, the hotel is stunning, incorporating original Inca and Spanish architecture in the construction. The rooms were spacious and very clean. In the basement, they have some Inca and pre-Inca ruins and they provide an interesting free tour to guests each evening at 6pm. They also have a relaxation pool, hot tub, and sauna which were perfect after a long day of walking around town. Location wise, it is just off the main square of Cusco and is very convenient, although a bit noisy from traffic.

The staff were extremely attentive and were some of the most professional people I've dealt with during a hotel stay. They were very helpful in recommending sights and restaurants. A wonderful breakfast buffet is included with your stay and is not to be missed.

Although a bit pricey, I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a bit of pampering while vacationing in a beautiful setting. After one night, we went on to rejoin our tour at the hostel we originally booked. I was sad to leave the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeynDnvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you took to write a review about your experience during your stay with us, it helps us a lot to monitor the quality of our services.

I am honored for the kind words you used to describe the hotel considering it as one of the most beautiful and classiest hotels you have visited being you a continuous traveler that is a real inspiration and motivation for us to continue with the dedicated job we do.

Thank you for appreciating the history we preserve and for taking the tour to visit our exhibitions rooms where we have Pre-Inca, Inca and Colonial remains. I am glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms as well as the spa which is the best place to get the relaxation you deserve after a day of tours.

I feel proud of the team I am working with, they are so enthusiastic and truly committed on making each guest experience memorable I take with much gratitude your comments about the staff which I will extend.

As you said breakfast no one can miss is varied, nutritious and delicious. I am so glad you loved the hotel it will be a pleasure to have you back at JW Marriott Cusco to continue pampering you!

Cordially Yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely great experience at jw in cusco. We had stayed 2 nights in the nearby casa andina which was nice but this was excellent. Starting with check in we had asked for an above ground room and we easily accommodated. We also asked to swap our dinner which was included in our stay with lunch and at first they said no but then quickly called the restaurant and made it happen. Lunch was extraordinary. All drinks except alcohol were included. I had the lomo saltado and the shrimp tempura which were both outstanding.

They were helpful in assisting with a late checkout to allow us to enjoy the spa a bit before checking out. Breakfast was also wonderful. Quite a spread with exceptional service. I can't say enough great things.

2 things to note, they charge 10 dollars for Internet in your room per day. There is free wifi in the lobby but that's about it. It felt a little cheap to me considering every other hotel on our trip included it. Not a reason not to stay there but a heads up nonetheless. Also, the exchange rate for money is insane. You can easily go to any other hotel and get a better rate. Again, not a reason to avoid but just be warned to handle this elsewhere

Overall a great stay and would absolutely return

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review on the Tripadvisor website, I appreciate the time you took letting us know your opinion about our service.

It is a joy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that the check in process was flawless and that you could change dinner for lunch we always try to be flexible helping our guests in all their needs, so I am glad that the” lomo saltado” and shrimp tempura were of your complete like without doubts our food is delicious.

It’s good to know that you could relax at the spa before checking out, breakfast as you said is wonderful full of delicious options to start the day. Thank you once again for all the flattering words about our service they are a real motivation for the team I am working with.

Regarding your comments about the internet and the exchange rate I value your point of view, they will be considered.

On behalf of all the staff of JW Marriott Cusco, we look forward to welcoming you and your couple in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This beautiful hotel on historic renovated site -- complete with authentic Inca walls -- is also in a terrific, convenient location. However, as wonderful as the physical hotel is, my husband and I have rarely experienced such outstanding service. So many personable, informative, helpful employees. Truly a pleasure to be there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would to thank the time you have taken to leave your comments on Tripadvisor, they serve us a lot as a tool to follow up the hotel’s service and product quality.

Thank you for appreciating the beauty and historic side of the hotel, it is a real gem! Having Pre-Inca, Inca and Colonial remains inside the hotel fills me with pride. As you said our location is so convenient and that is something our guests really appreciate when they come for tourism.

Regarding service I value very the perception you had, we feel that we are accomplishing with the daily mission we have to create unforgettable experiences through a painstaking service.

Finally I would like to thank your preference, we will be honored to have you back in a next trip to Peru!

Best Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our vacation centered around a week long trek on the Inca trail to Machu Picchu. We selected the JW Marriott - Cusco as our base, staying two days prior to and after the trek to acclimatize and enjoy the city. What a great choice! The service, amenities, food and rooms met and exceeded our expectations, even for a five star venue. The Manager took time to greet us; the staff and room service ensured we were well cared for, and the front desk service was attentive, timely and accurate.
As an FYI-Daily breakfasts are well worth your time, the chocolate ice cream from room service was amazing, and the corner suite below ground level was magical! We thank the Staff for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay with us, I very much appreciate your feedback giving us the opportunity to know your excellent opinion about our services.

Thank you for choosing us as your destination for your vacations, congratulations for hiking the Inca Trail! I am happy we could give you a great rest and that the service, amenities, room and food we provided you exceeded your expectations making you feel like home showing you how much we care about you.

Regarding the food and room I am so glad your loved them, your comments really motivate us to continue giving our best every day in order to have more satisfied guests like you, I will extend your kind words to the staff.

We look forward to welcome you and your couple in the not too distant future, we will be glad to have you back.

Cordially yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing