We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok meal in a town spoilt for choice”

Deva Restaurant Tipico
Ranked #24 of 729 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It is the only gourmet restaurant of typical local food. We do not make fusion style. Located in the old palace of the Inca Tupac Yupanqui, we have vegetarian options. In Deva you can found the ancestral cuzco culture through its gastronomy. It is atended by its own owners. We have different Peruvian wines and piscos, and you can enjoy, if you wish so, the traditional "chicha de jora", drink that the Incas offered to the Sun in the Inti Raymi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An ok meal in a town spoilt for choice”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice meal but nothing special.

We ate better elsewhere in Cusco at the Inka Grill and Marcelo Batata so would not recommend Deva over these two if you have limited time in Cusco.

Eddy the waiter was a pleasant and friendly chap who tried hard to ensure we enjoyed our evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank M and S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    167
    39
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Cusco cuisine with a lesson!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The best part of this charming little restaurant was the service. My husband and I love learning about different cultures, and Deva's friendly staff gave us a fun lesson on the local cuisine our last night in town. Following the lead of Tripadvisor reviewers, we had a true Peruvian Thanksgiving dinner, fried cuy and alpaca tenderloins. I admit, I love alpaca. Cuts like pork, tastes like beef. Cuy, or guinea pig, took a little more getting used to. It tastes like a fatty chicken leg, but like most delicacies, it's a lot of work for very little meat. After a quick lesson on the many types of potatoes and corn in Peru, we were invited to the kitchen to get a lesson from our chef on the origin of the dish. They brought the whole thing out to us at first, so we could take a picture before they cut it up. It was more than just dinner, it was an authentic local experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firecracker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deva is a Diva Simply for the Service”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Wanting to continue our experience of authentic Peruvian food, we stumbled upon this cute little restaurant. Arriving early we were met by the cherubic and enthusiastic Eddy who made my wife and I feel like we were the King and Queen of Cusco. After selecting the corn bread salad and stuffed chilli followed by the traditional shredded hen in peanut and corn curry, Eddy then brought over the basket of potatoes and corn used by the locals. A truly wonderful insight into local ingredients and why they are chosen and when.
The food? Well, it was OK but the atmosphere, the service and ultimately the price make up for any shortfalls in the cooking. Just do it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrightson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment. I feel bad because you do not be satisfied 100% with the food, I'm really sorry.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duitama, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If happiness is contagious in this place you'll be so happy, Alfredo and Diana will guide you through the experience of inca food, I had lunch and dinner in this place with my family and none of us were dissapointed, the service is just incredible, Alfredo invited us to the kitchen and taught us about all the types of corn and potatos in Peru.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angiezapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment.

When our guests remember the name of our waiters is a very good signal.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Small Gem in an Historic Town”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We left our hotel with no restaurant in mind. We set out on foot determined to eat at the first place we found. Lucky for us - we continued up the street - and ate at the second place we found - Deva Restaurant Tipico. This small gem is tucked into a tiny space that is warm and welcoming. The ambiance, presentation, food and extra samples made for an enjoyable dinner. Your welcome present is a small glass of "chica" (the local fermented corn drink) and various types of corn (fried, but not greasy), with some of the local cheese. Next came the local bread with a yummy condiments made from ¨tree tomatos¨, mint, peppers oil, and secret seasonings. You spread the condiment on the bread and your mouth was treated with a magical combination of flavors that you can never reproduce in the US!

Since it was our first night in Cusco, we wanted to eat very lightly. 3 of us had the cream of corn soup with cheese. It was an interesting flavor that grew on you as you continued to eat it. One member of the group had the chili relleno. What a delight! Not your typical US fried in a wonton skin chili rellano! Rather a delicate egg batter filled with mouth watering seasonings and ground meat. A pleasure to see and taste. Another member of our group had lemon chicken. We decided it was a bit of a misnomer as none of us have seen a lemon in Peru. Either way, the flavor was good (but a bit on the dry side). She had quinoa and vegetables. She enjoyed the dinner and had extras for a doggie bag. Another member had the warm potato appetizer with cheese. The purple potato and freeze-dried potato was sweet and flavorful. I had the ärugula, cheese and boiled potato¨salad. I ate every bite. No extra seasoning required other than a bit of the native pink salt! The salad was light and filling.
Part of the group had native Peruvian white wine with their meals. It was satisfactory.

After dinner, the waiter - Alfredo - brought over baskets filled with the native potatoes, corn and quinoa. He explained how they were grown, dried, used, etc. So, not only did we have a delightful meal, we also received a great show and tell about the native plants of Peru and the Sacred Valley.

I would highly recommend this restaurant. It was reasonable - my check with tip was $50 sol (a bit less than $20 US). Alfredo is excellent and deserves 6 out of 5 stars for his service. It was a memorable night and with good friends, wonderful ambiance, and good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCW8300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much to take the time for writing so detailed comment.

I think that when some one remember every dish taste and the bouquet of the wine such detailed is because the food was excellent.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deva Restaurant Tipico also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Deva Restaurant Tipico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing