We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Peruvian hospitality and fantastic food (vegetarian friendly)”

Deva Restaurant Tipico
Ranked #24 of 728 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It is the only gourmet restaurant of typical local food. We do not make fusion style. Located in the old palace of the Inca Tupac Yupanqui, we have vegetarian options. In Deva you can found the ancestral cuzco culture through its gastronomy. It is atended by its own owners. We have different Peruvian wines and piscos, and you can enjoy, if you wish so, the traditional "chicha de jora", drink that the Incas offered to the Sun in the Inti Raymi
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Peruvian hospitality and fantastic food (vegetarian friendly)”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I were roaming the streets of Cusco, looking for a place to eat and we stumbled across Deva. Seeing an indian sounding restaurant name caugh our attention and we decided to stop and look at the menu. Since we are both vegetarians, we were quite pleased to find multiple vegetarian items on the menu. The menu is completely Andean, which got us even more excited since we were trying to find good vegetarian local food.

Anyway, we entereed and were quite pleased with the really nice ambience. Our server was Alfredo and he was one of the nicest servers I have ever had. To start of with, he brought out this roasted corn (think Andean version of popcorn) which was absolutely delicious and quite addictive. For food, we ordered the tamales, the corn soup and the beans stew with cheese and rice. The food was exquisitely flavored with really unique local ingredients. I can't remember the names of any of the items anymore but it was all fantastic! For dessert, we had this combo plate of 3 items (pumpkin pie, yucama(?) sorbet and dark and white chocolate Bon Bon).

One of the highlights though was when we asked Alfredo what some of the local ingredients were. They had displayed various corn and potatoes next to our table for decoration purposes and it looked incredible (think black, orange, pink, etc colors of corn). He then gave us a crash course in Peruvian produce and even recommended a market for us to visit to buy some of these things.

Definitiely one of the highlights of our trip so far.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment.

It's realy fantastic.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    167
    39
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go there, even if the place is empty!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

In Cuzco there are many places were you can get cheap and decent food (backpacker menu's and so on.) But since it was one of our last nights in Cuzco we're looking for a place we're we could have a nicer meal without going to a very expensive and uptight place. We were drawn to the Deva Restaurant by the good reviews on Trip Advisor, but when we arrived there around 7pm (sept 2012), the place was empty. Since the guidebooks say thay you can recognise a good restaurant by the amount of people eating there, we were in doubt.
When we returned an hour later, the place was still empty.

We decided to eat there any way, and this turned out to be a good choice! The food was really nice and the waiters were very friendly and enthousiastic. The chicha welcome-drink is very tasty! Can't remember what we ate, since it is more than a month ago, but we followed the recommendations of the waiter and the food was good! Fact that I feel obliged to write this review, means that this is one of the places that left a very positive impression on us. So go there, even if the place is empty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much. We are glad that you liked and you have written this wonderful comment after a month of visiting us. It is very important to us.

Mu best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should try it”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have had our lunch in this restaurant and really enjoyed it. The waiter and his service was quite good. He was also helpful with the food and the region. Chicha and roasted corn is served as welcome. We have lomo saltado and vegie soup. Yammy! The prices are reasonable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elifavci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. We are pleased to know that everything they liked.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great little place close to Main Square”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had dinner here on our last night in Cusco. We stayed in the Novotel, and must have passed by at least three times, but didn't see the restaurant till our last night in town. What a great find!

The restaurant was very quiet, clean, with nice decor with Peruvian art and artefacts. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful, even giving us an impromptu Spanish lesson. He provided small glasses of chicha and an appetizer of dried corn with local cheese, which was a nice start. We wanted something special for our last meal in Cusco before leaving for the Peruvian Amazon, so my husband had the cuy stew, and I ordered the alpaca loin. The food was delivered in good time, and both meals were very tasty (the alpaca meat was very tender).

We'd definitely recommend eating here. Even better, they take credit cards!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DP_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. It's very important for as.

I hope you remember as with a smile.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Yummy hearty food and excellent service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Came here for dinner on our last night in Cuzco. Steps from our hotel Novotel on San Agustin. Really friendly and personable servers who want to know your name and how you're enjoying the food. Prices are a little steep for Cuzco but the food was good and hit the spot. We got also chicha samplers and 'corn nuts' with cheese. Overall a comfortable and memorable experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. It's very important for as.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deva Restaurant Tipico also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Deva Restaurant Tipico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing