We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Excellent”

Patricia Valer Ugarte
Ranked #111 of 732 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Small but Excellent”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a small restaurant where we ate at the counter and could watch all the food being prepared. All the food is fresh and cooked right their by someone's Mama. I had a simple tuna sandwich and it was the best! My husband had the traditional Lemon pie and it was quite good too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    57
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I wandered into this little coffee shop/cafe on accident, and so glad we did. We had the fruit and yogurt and the fresh banana chocolate cake and coffee. The fresh juices looked amazing and they say they use filtered water for ice and juices. It's cheap, clean and delicious. We kept meaning to go back, but never got the chance. It's in the same plaza as InkaTerra restaurant if that helps someone give you directions. Highly recommend for lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, fresh, delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner on a quiet plaza in Cusco”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We discovered El Café de Mama Oli purely by accident while we were waiting for a friend to meet us in the Plazoleta Nazarenas. It was pure luck. They prepare delicious, simple, healthy meals for an incredibly reasonable price. For S/.10 (the equivalent of about $3.50) they make you an enormous omelette with fresh veggies and tasty meats that either comes with toasts and marmelades or a fresh salad (a welcome option for a gluten-free diner like myself).

For vegans/vegetarians they have lovely salads for S./11. Their juices are exquisite. They take the fruits right off the counter in front of you, pop them in the blender and serve you up a delicious juice/smoothie without adding any extra sugar.

They also have great breakfast combos such as the "Golosa" which comes with a small fresh mixed juice, a coffee/tea, two eggs, bacon, and a delicious fresh fruit salad, all for S/.17 (~$6.50).

The best part is that they are still a well kept secret, so they aren't inundated with people the way that (the more expensive, touristy) Jack's Cafe constantly is. Check them out. The service is also lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadiDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a lazy morning”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Café de Mama Oli offers everything you need to windle away a lazy couple of hours, or shrug off a hangover: real coffee, the best fruit juices I have tasted anywhere in the world (try the revitalizer and be prepared to hit the ceiling), a great choice of tasty, filling, home-made snacks, pleasant company to chat with (it's a small family set-up, very welcoming), and the option of taking your order to one of the benches on the plaza Nazarenas outside, to sit in the sun with a smoke or just enjoy the peace and beauty of this quiaint secluded square with its perfect blend of inca, colonial and religious architecture (not least the monastery, now a luxury hotel). I go again and again (and again).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barna010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch spot”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have been here for lunch and had very good sandwiches with superb fresh juices. The juices are all made of fresh fruits and prepared in sight. They also have homemade quiches, but we did not try these.

Just a very good lunch spot!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuelneven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricia Valer Ugarte also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Patricia Valer Ugarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing