We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hostel”
Review of Hostal El Puma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Puma
Ranked #106 of 437 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went here with the recommendation of fellow travelers. We had a large four bed room with nice thick blankets, private bathroom and a TV(though we never watched it) with breakfast included for 20 soles per person, which we thought was a nice deal. Overall hostel is quite clean, services good, breakfast simply bread, jam and drinks but good enough. Wifi was strong and super fast, and there were also two PCs to use at the tour desk, both free. The people(probably a family) was quite friendly and helpful and will happily hand you a coca tea if you´re altitude sick. You can use the tiny and dismal kitchen too for simple food. Recommend their laundry service also. The location is wonderful, few steep stairs but just 3 min to Plaza de Armas(ask the info center for the location). Only thing a bit disappointing was the shower, there´s blazing hot water for like a minute, then icy cold for 2 min, and this cycle repeated again and again, the managers were unable to fix it. But overall a very good choice to stay and meet fellow travellers!

Room Tip: Almost no rooms have sun but not a big matter. Also our room had a problem in which the door locked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unyeondong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After checking out a few hostals, we stumbled on HOSTAL EL PUMA. Directly we noticed the cleanliness of the rooms. After hearing the good price (including breakfast), we didn't hesitate to take the room. After staying there 10 days we can honestly say that this is a very good hostal with very hot showers that you can enjoy for a long time. (not the usual drip of water, but a strong spray). Also the owner and staff are very friendly and helpfull. And all this at 200 meters of the main square. Really a recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stumbled upon this hostel after checking out a few more expensive ones. It's a little hostel up a cobbled alley. We stayed in a double room, with private bathroom for 50 soles per night (about £12),

This was an amazing deal! the shower was lovely and hot, the bed comfortable, and it also included a small breakfast of bread, jam, butter, and tea/coffee. The staff here are a family, all really nice and very willing to help you with anything.

My only gripe was on the weekends it was a tad noisy, as you can hear everything from the street outside. But I'm sure that's applicable with a lot of hotels near the tourist area.

We went back to El Puma after our 4 day trek and again had the same great experience. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We`ve found this `hostal` occasionally after checking out about 6 or 7 of those listed in LP (which turned out to be more expensive than we expected). It's nothing to write home about. but the ratio price-quality is great (we paid about $13 for a private room with a shared bathroom). Our room was basic but clean, towels were provided for free. As it was on sunny side, we really needed just one out of 5 (!) warm blankets, forthoughtfully put on our bed. The window in our room was small, but it was facing the Main Square. The owner is super friendly and understanding. Oh and probably the most important thing: hot water is abundant and is gas-heated (which is a great advantage in comparison to electric showers). All in all, it's the place to stay if you are looking forward to a better out of cheaper accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 3 - it's warm and has a god street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank informaldehide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stumbled upon this place while looking for a hostal near the main square and not wanting to climb up too many steep stairs of Cusco. The location is really great! Also, the price was hard to beat - US$75 for 4 nights for a couple. We had our own bathroom, double bed, and the hostal was very quiet the whole time we were there. The wireless internet worked well. There was also a computer to use, but it was very slow and sometimes shutdown suddenly. The worst parts were that our room had no window and often smelt musty and damp. Also, breakfast was included but very minimal so we generally went out for breakfast during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I spent 5 nights in Hostal El Puma and I can say that it's the best deal I've had in 6 weeks of travel in Peru and Bolivia. In many other places, I spend much more for a lower service. My room was clean, spacious, confortable with a separate bathroom and hot water. Wifi and cable TV and a PC were also available but what I enjoyed the most is the genuine hospitality of the people who work there including the owner who also lives in the building. My favorite was the breakfast time served on a long table in the enclosed patio. It was a great occasion to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzekmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed there in July 2010, and not for my choice but because when all my things were stolen, travel comany which driver was responsible for this accident (he didn't close the car whith all my things on private tour in the port of Arica, Chile) offered this hostel as a compensation of my loss.
The main advantage of this hostal is location. It is situated just 100-200 metres from the Plaza de Armas, on the street, where are no cars and not high, so it is not hard to get there and you shoudn't to go threw a lot of stairs.
The territory is very small, the window in my room were in the small yard where all including oners have breakfast, so don't expect to sleep long - stuff will awake you rather early in the morning. The doors of 4 rooms goes to small common room (apppoximately 3X4 meters), carrying out function of reseption and place for tour manager. The shower in the room is rather ok, but blankets on bed are very heavy and seemed little damp from humidity, so it was rather cool for me to sleap and I slept in sweater.
The breakfast was only a drink with come pastry, so I went to a restaraunt to have my breakfast.
The hostel has storage room for laggage for those, who go to Macchu Picchu.
But for price of 9$ for room and if you need just cheap place to sleep a couple of nights it may suit, but not more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
El Puma Hotel
El Puma Hotel
#94 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#40 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kurumi Hostel
Kurumi Hostel
#35 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa del Inka
Hostal Casa del Inka
#90 of 347 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Familiar Munay Wasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Puma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Puma

Property: Hostal El Puma
Address: Calle Resbalosa No 410, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 437 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal El Puma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing