We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse riding - best way to see Moray, Saltineras and some amazing Andes scenery”

Apupacha Horse Adventure
Vilnius
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horse riding - best way to see Moray, Saltineras and some amazing Andes scenery”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked a one day horse riding trip with a visit to Moray and Saltineras very last minute and were pleasantly surprised with the quick response by the owner (booked at 8pm for the next day 8am start)
We were picked up from our hotel on time and traveled about an hour to a small town Maras where the ranch Was. Here we were introduced to our horses. It was my second time horse riding in life so I was a bit nervous. But I shouldn't have as the horses were so calm and responsive as well as very well looked after.
We rode past some breathtaking scenery and it is one of my favourite memories of the whole 3week Peru trip. When we arrived at Moray I was watching people getting of the tour buses all hot and sweaty and could not help but feel smug about the way we got there.
Albizu is not only a great horseman but a personal guide too. He told us about the sites we visited as well as the flora&fauna along the way as we rode.
Half way through the trip we've stopped for a picnic next to an old colonial ranch house. The food was yummy and conversation was engaging. Albizu Is interesting and interested - he was interested to learn more about the countries we came from and told us a lot of things about Peru helping us to understand Peruvian history & culture a bit more.
At the end of the trip we rode back into the Maras town, the whole ambience & surroundings were very Indiana Jones :))
The last visit was Saltineras (we went there by car rather than a horse) - an ingenious Incan salt mine engineering design.
All in all - a very memorable day, truly recommended and worth every dollar.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I did the one day cultural tour with Albizu, including visits to Moray and the Salt Flats. We loved our tour and time with Albizu and his beautiful horses.

Albizu was very accommodating. He was able to pick us up at our hostel in Ollantaytambo and welcomed a last minute addition to our group. We were so impressed with the horses. They were much larger than we were expecting. My husband is 6'3" and was quite comfortable on his horse. The horses are well trained and were easily able to handle riders with virtually no experience horseback riding! :) It was so much fun starting our tour riding through a small town. The remainder of the day was spent on trails and dirt roads over amazing countryside. The scenery was just spectacular! Around mid day we were treated to a lovely picnic lunch that was all waiting for us as we arrived on the horses. It was such a lovely location. We often times, throughout the day, felt like we were on a movie set, it was just so ideal!

Above all else, we were most impressed with Albizu. He is a very friendly, knowledgeable person. He loves Peru and really enjoys sharing his beautiful country with guests. We were so impressed with his deep respect for the environment and his hopes and wishes for the future of the beautiful countryside that is his home.

All in all we loved our tour and would highly recommend Albizu and his tour company for anyone looking for a horseback riding tour!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianalovinglife30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun(ny)”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I practically forced my friends to go on the horse adventure (most of them had never been on a horse before), and it turned out to be a day of fun. On our arrival at the stables we were each given a small bag of snacks, fruit and water for our trip.
The Andean horses were very small, and two of my friends were fairly tall guys so it was a funny situation. The horses aren't exactly steerable so they just kind of walked and trotted among the beaten track, but the views along the countryside were beautiful. Our guide was a sweet lady with a lot of knowledge of the ruins we visited.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ej2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great but expensive”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a great time and the food was really good but we found the price high for what we got. Horses were really nice and well kept. We got to run the horses too. Moray was cool and so were the salt mines.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TampaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend which couldn't have been better”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

In a group of 6 girls we did a 2 day trip with Albizu and his wonderful horses. we started in a village close to Morras and rode the horses through a breathtaking landscape. We stayed in a local community close to Morray and stayed in tents. After really good local food Albizu organised a little bonfire for us and we enjoyed the local beer and some pisco sour. The stay at the community was a highlight of our stay in Peru. Not touristy at all and the people were so lovely. The next day we did a little trekking up a hill and got a really nice view over Morray. Albizus horses are really well trained and in a very good condition!
I can only recommed doing a 2day trip with him!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apupacha Horse Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Apupacha Horse Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing