We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignored” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cajon del Naupa

El Cajon del Naupa
Ranked #191 of 687 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ignored”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was on the early side for dinner and when I arrived there were no other customers, but just after I ordered, other people arrived and from then on, I got no attention.

Twenty minutes after finishing my meal, I finally caught the eye of the server who offered me the check, but my menu included a dessert. I had to remind her of this.

The soup was bland. The alpaca was o.k. Since the food was not outstanding and the service was insulting to a single diner, I can't recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rizadoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
1 review
“very delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

local beautiful, fast service are very good dishes went with my boyfriend and I quite liked the sason of meals we ate funky chicken, grilled trout I recommend visiting the place very nice congratulations very delicious dishes the chef

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raquel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of our least enjoyable meals in Cusco”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had dinner here and found it to be both pricey and disappointing. Everything we had simply wasn't good. Even the eggs in chaufa de quinoa were overcooked and the potatoes my husband had as a side were cold and dry. There are far better restaurants to be found in this area of town - I'd highly advise skipping this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Cuzco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent two months in Cuzco and this was my favourite restaurant. It is very nice and clean inside and the food and service is impeccable. I took my boyfriend there for a romantic dinner when he visited me, and he loved his alpaca steak served on hot stones! As a soup lover, I was addicted to their quinua soup. I also loved their fish served with sweet potatoes (camote). I appreciated the fact that the portions were not that minuscule as in other 'posh' restaurants for example on Plaza de Armas. Given the quality and environment, the prices are absolutely great and affordable! There are also nice seating places upstairs, don't get discouraged if it is packed downstairs especially later on. The only thing you need to check is their opening times, I don't think they are open very late at night, but it is worth coming back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terezie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Tasty food with good friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just had a very nice meal at this restaurant tonight. Food was tasty and the service was excellent and very friendly. Ever so slightly away from the busy central streets means you can have a nice quiet meal if that's what you are looking for. Would recommend the the juices too, had pineapple juice, which was freshly made!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RinkDink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cajon del Naupa also viewed

 

Been to El Cajon del Naupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing