We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location, ok staff, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Ranked #23 of 365 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“fantastic location, ok staff, ok rooms”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place is in the center of it all! Could not have a better location in Cusco if you tried! the hotel itself is more like a 3 star place not so much a boutique hotel. the bathrooms are a bit outdated, and the rooms are just ok. The staff is ok, didn't feel them going out of their way. BReakfast is quite good, many options compared to other hotels. Choose this place for the location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    98
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
93
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location/good value for money. The staff was very nice and helpful. Specially Darwin Jimenez that not only had multi language skills, he made a good effort to speak Portuguese . Also kindly did my online check in for my flight on the day after, as the internet went down at the time , and he did it for me during his night shift. Muchas Gracias Darwin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location on the Plaza de Armas with various shops and restaurants within a stone's throw. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was adequate. Mattresses a touch hard.

We stayed two separate times with a visit to Machu Pichu in between. On first visit they provided bottles of water, nice. But on second stay they did not which seems just the opposite of what most hotels practice. The included breakfast buffet was centered around scrambled eggs (no other choice) that were probably cooked at 6:30 am and then not replenished. By 9 am the eggs were definitely dry. Last two days we skipped the hotel buffet for a pretty good breakfast sandwich, and much better coffee, at McDonald's across the Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler6208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Virrey several years ago. Originally was with a family but was so uncomfortable that I had to get a hotel for the duration of my stay in Cuzco. It was a bit pricey for the length of my stay so when I decided to relocate to another hotel the manager arranged for me to have a smaller room for the same price I'd have paid if I had moved.
The people at the hotel could not have been nicer. The room was comfortable /television and a private bath plus breakfast. I totally enjoyed my time in Cuzco and the hotel is centrally located at the town's center. All is walkable from this spot.
If I ever return to Peru, I will definitely stay at Virrey.......a.worthwhile and decent, safe place in beautiful Cuzco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The location of the hotel is superior. It’s very easy to find a couple of quality dining places and convenience stores next to us. Hotel staffs were warm and helpful. I asked the reception desk to book a taxi to the bus terminal, and it costed 10 sols (very reasonable). We went downstairs for breakfast in the ten minutes before it ended, and we found no meats or eggs left. However, the staff asked us and provided more just for us. When we left, the girl at the reception kindly helped us carry our luggage. There are only two rooms with the amazing view of the Plaza del Armas. So check with the hotel in advance if the view outside the room's window is the main attraction for you to book this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights here pre-Inca trail trek and then another night here after the Inca Trail. The staff here are very helpful and friendly, a special call out to Enrique at the front desk. Check in was a breeze. There is no elevator so you will be going up sometimes several flights of stairs, which can be a small challenge if you are not acclimatized yet to the altitude.

Our room was quite small with a small bathroom. The pillows ( they provide 2 per bed) were on the hard side. There is an in room safe and plug in radiator heating which we used and worked well. Bottles of water were supplied on arrival in the room but not replenished following the 1st night. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the hotel provides hair dryers upon request. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are provided. Hot water does take a while in the shower and the water pressure is a bit low, but it's still ok. Wifi is available but we found it patchy.

Breakfast was served from 6am-9:30am though by 9am pickings were very slim. There is a small selection of fruit, bread, and cereal (still available )as well as scrambled eggs and sausages , cheese and sandwich meat( these were gone when we arrived at 9am the 1st day). Also there was an assortment of teas and Orange juice. The morning we were heading to the Inca trail, they supplied us with a boxed breakfast as we were leaving before breakfast was being served, which was very nice of them.

Soundproofing isn't the greatest, aka, if anyone is talking in the hallway, they might as well be in your room. This is in part due to the fact that our room had no window to the outside, but had a window facing a tiny central corridor to the hallway. It's hard to explain, just take it that hallway noise can be present, but we heard no street noise from our room!

The biggest bonus of this hotel is the location.. splat dab in front of the central plaza, it really can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kln
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Location is on the centre of Plaza the Armas. It is much convenience for guest even shopping or trip to major museums for food and restaurants just on side of the roads. Lots of money exchange shops and travel agents for arranging tours even Sacred Valley on in town tours. Room is clean, tidy and quiet room for rest. Big wardrobe. A side small window facing mountain. Sufficient baths, hands and foot towel. In room digit safety deposit box. Shampoos and soap were provided. Exclusive tooth bursh. Hair dryer can get it from receptionist at lobby. In room wifi signal was not stable on 1st and 2nd night. 2nd nite internet only good used at lobby work station terminal.
Asked for morning shift lady receptionist to make a call in-town hotel to check for lost and found twice times. It was helpful. However, I was noted that two local calls charge had been generated without notification till evening when I approached to a male receptionist for checking room bill and make a further call to ex-hotel for checking lost and found item. (Public phone call is Sol 1 per minute for in-town and the telephone set just outside hotel entrance opposite wall pillar area, in ten second walking distance). Breakfast is very good with variety choose. Fruits, fresh juice, pancake, chicken wings(randomly), ham, stawberry yoghurt, fried / scramble eggs, breads and toast. Exclusive one thing, coffee taste was not good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winfield T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.0 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#39 of 169 in Cusco
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.1 mi away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#30 of 462 in Cusco
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Virrey Boutique Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Virrey Boutique Hostal

Property: El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Address: Portal Comercio 165 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal El Virrey)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Virrey Boutique Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your El Virrey Boutique Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing