We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Ranked #24 of 366 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This room in this hotel rivals many of the five star hotels we have stayed in. No extras like gyms, pools, fancy restaurants, but everything needed for a very comfortable stay, in a location that cannot be beat.

We stayed in the suite with a balcony overlooking Plaza. The room was very spacious, well furnished with chairs and sofa, a comfortable bed, a safe and everything needed for very enjoyable four night stay. It is the perfect location for exploring the historic distric of Cusco and the San Blas area - we could walk everywhere. The room is surprisngly quiet given it overlooks the Plaza de Armas We enjoyed watching all the activity on the plaza - with a glass of wine in the afternoon and an early cup of coffee in the morning. On the Sunday morning we witnessed a special celebration with the military parades and the representatives from all the regional pueblos in native dress, dancing as part of the parade to the music of the "folk band". Another incredible morning!!

The included breakfasts provided a reasonable assortment of food, with good bread and fresh fruit. There are lots of good restaurants close by (especially Inka Grill on the Plaza), some small stores for buying water and snacks within the block and the tourist Information (IPeru) is kitty-corner across the plaza. We felt very safe wandering around the areas in the city center and through the picturesque and historical streets of the San Blas areas.

All the hotel staff were unfailingly professional and very helpful. They recommended several restaurants. Best, Maruja at the reception desk arranged for a private car and driver with an exceptional English speaking guide, Paul, for two days, to take trips to temples and ruins outside the city (Sacsayhuaman and close by sites with half day to Pisac on one day and Tipon, Pikillacta and Rumicolca on another day). These days were not cheap but worth were every penny. We hiked more sites, visited more temples and ruins and these trips, with all of the information provided by this wonderful guide, gave us a much better perspecive of Peru - its history and cultures. And having a private car and driver alowed us to tailor trips and times to our needs and to avoid crowds of tourists.

Special thanks to Maruja Quispe at the reception. She was always very friendly, very professional and extremely helpful to us and Especially - helped us to catch our Inka Express bus when we had confused our ticket dates. It saved our day!!!

We do recommend taking the open air bus tour of the historic center as it gives a good orientation to Cusco. Catch it on the Plaza de Armas.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony over Plaza. Worth every peny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
93
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Presentation - great, Staff- very helpful, Room 205 - Sensational view of plaza, Breakfast - bland, Plaza can be noisy at times, For a 3 star hotel it's terrific, When paying these reasonable room rates in Peru you need to compromise a little, also take the topless city bus tour (yellow) it's worth it. Visit pisac market it's got a great variety.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizzies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the suit for the first night and I would definitely recommend it. The room was lovely and the views from the balcony was definitely worth it. The other rooms are ok. Clean with ok wifi and tv. We did have a problem however, their website stated free transfer from the hotel, but when we enquired about it, they were too slow in responding to the initial transfer to the hotel so we had to get a taxi, then when we enquired about the transfer to the airport from the hotel they informed us we had to pay, not very good customer service to offer a service then be overall difficult about it??

Room Tip: Balcony room is a must but limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good
--------

Great location - on Plaza de Armas.
Decent wifi (free).
Has heater.
In room safe.
Helpful staff.

Bad
------
Run show for 5 minutes for hot water.
Poor soundproofing.
Basic breakfast.
Worn floor.
Heavy blanket.
Stain bed sheet.
Squeakly bed - heard other guests on their honeymoon ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location right on the Plaza del Armas. Clean comfortable rooms with as they say "all mod cons" Lots of hot water and electric heaters. Good breakfast. Staff has minimal English but are willing to try. Tea and coffee are available all day. I've stayed here 3 times now and all has been good.

Room Tip: No complaints but avoid room 101. It is on the main floor near the reception and is very noisy and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location, right on the main square - right in the middle "of it all".Rooms were very adequate. The shower was OK ( but only just). Noise level, in spite of being centrally located, was minimal. The staff was very accommodating. The curious part was the breakfast service. They had a vast variety of items on the buffet -but -only "just" enough. However, as items were depleted, there was staff ready and willing to constantly replenish the display. Instead of putting out 10 or 20 bread rolls, they's put out 2-3 and as soon as that was gone, they'd have more put out. It worked OK, just a curious way to handle a buffet.
The constant - free - supply of COCA tea was a welcome item to thwart off the Altitude issues. While walking around Cuzco, the 3,700m / 13,500ft were never an issue.
BTW - out the hotel, turn left, go to the end of the block - turn Right and 'just' across the street is a SCOTIA-BANK ATM which lets you at your money "without" fees ! Considering the other 'local' banks were wanting up to $4/transaction - that was good information.

Room Tip: We recommend "NOT" to pick room #101 ~ it's on the ground floor, NO window, very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juergen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great beds, quiet place right on the plaza, the location cant be beat it was central to everything, They had the best breakfast of our trip. Would definitely stay there again, good value. only 15 minute drive to the airport and walking distance to most tourist areas in cusco. The only downside is the minute you walk out the door you are harassed by people trying to sell you things or asking for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.0 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#38 of 169 in Cusco
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.1 mi away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#29 of 465 in Cusco
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Virrey Boutique Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Virrey Boutique Hostal

Property: El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Address: Portal Comercio 165 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal El Virrey)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Virrey Boutique Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your El Virrey Boutique Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing