We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Virrey Boutique Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Ranked #25 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location right on the Plaza del Armas. Clean comfortable rooms with as they say "all mod cons" Lots of hot water and electric heaters. Good breakfast. Staff has minimal English but are willing to try. Tea and coffee are available all day. I've stayed here 3 times now and all has been good.

Room Tip: No complaints but avoid room 101. It is on the main floor near the reception and is very noisy and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    92
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
89
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location, right on the main square - right in the middle "of it all".Rooms were very adequate. The shower was OK ( but only just). Noise level, in spite of being centrally located, was minimal. The staff was very accommodating. The curious part was the breakfast service. They had a vast variety of items on the buffet -but -only "just" enough. However, as items were depleted, there was staff ready and willing to constantly replenish the display. Instead of putting out 10 or 20 bread rolls, they's put out 2-3 and as soon as that was gone, they'd have more put out. It worked OK, just a curious way to handle a buffet.
The constant - free - supply of COCA tea was a welcome item to thwart off the Altitude issues. While walking around Cuzco, the 3,700m / 13,500ft were never an issue.
BTW - out the hotel, turn left, go to the end of the block - turn Right and 'just' across the street is a SCOTIA-BANK ATM which lets you at your money "without" fees ! Considering the other 'local' banks were wanting up to $4/transaction - that was good information.

Room Tip: We recommend "NOT" to pick room #101 ~ it's on the ground floor, NO window, very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juergen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great beds, quiet place right on the plaza, the location cant be beat it was central to everything, They had the best breakfast of our trip. Would definitely stay there again, good value. only 15 minute drive to the airport and walking distance to most tourist areas in cusco. The only downside is the minute you walk out the door you are harassed by people trying to sell you things or asking for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

As with all tourists going to Machu Picchu you need to get to Cusco - the flights from Lima are like a bus service, every hour and full both ways. Up through the clouds and the incredible Andes tower even higher... amazing. A taxi into Cusco from the airport should cost you no more than US $7 (told me by a local and what I paid). I stayed in a small hotel on the main square - Plaza de Armas, hotel El Vierrey - clean, great location, nice staff and breakfast enough (although some housekeeping noise can get you - rooms looking onto the square can be noisy). There are loads of suitable hotels in Cusco dependant on your budget, some you may need to book in advance others not and dependant on the time of the year no doubt, but look online you will find one that fits your budget. There was a bank with ATM machine close by that dispended local or US dollars - they open at 9am. DO NOT TAKE any old or tatty US $ - they do not accept them anywhere in Peru, they are very fussy - only new notes if you can. I found they seemed to favour Visa vs. Mastercard. Cash is king though. Cusco was clean, safe and the people friendly and not phased if you didn't want to buy their goods, they accepted that you were just looking. There are some nice restaurants in Cusco. Walk up to San Blas, go up the alley that has the famous 12 sided stone - it is a steep(ish) climb but worth the view and there are lovely shops and sights along the way. On the way back pop into El Piso for a drink - superb new bar/restuarant ... great selection of Pisco Sours like nowhere else - sassy spot. Go to the fruit/veg market - San Pedro there are glorious sights. Many locals wear indigeonous clothing, a photographers delight and they are fine with you taking picutres (I do however think that asking first is the right way to go about it). Many of the ladies wear amazing hats - gorgeous. The hand crafts are beautiful and one is almost loath to bargain for them. The Inka Museum is so well worth a visit. I went to mass on Sunday morning to the cathedral on the square, the alter is solid Bolivian silver and the black Christ hangs here too (there is not cost to go in on an early Sunday morning). You need to establish what it is you want to see before buying a museum ticket ... you can buy on for the city of Cusco and the other for Cusco & outlying sites. Just walking around you get to see so much, so establish wha tyou really want to see before buying the ticket. Yes, they have a Seattle Coffee shop, it is very nice and you get a great view of the main square from there and sometimes they have a 2 for 1 special on coffees. There are also lovely free trade shops and also ones that support different self help groups. The handcrafts are goregous and full of colour. (I live at altitude) so If you struggle with altitude you need to have perhaps 1 - 2 days here before moving on elsewhere. Machu Picchu is lower than Cusco (3500m). Try the cocao tea - it is like fairly weak black tea but does give you a bit of a high :-) ... try it at least once for the experience - do not take leaves with you through customs..not a good thing! There are so many torus on offer you need to establish where you want to go and what you want to pay for a day trip out of Cusco. Walk the backstreets there are great sights to see and as with any gtravel be aware although I personally never had issues whilst in Cusco.

Room Tip: They were very obliging about arranging taxis, tours etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DiB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Room 304. Highs: loads of sockets with various pins. Pleasant, helpful staff. A good proportioned room. Nice bathroom – beautiful tiles. The location is excellent - you walk out onto the main square.
Lows: the bathroom light was the slowest to warm up eco bulb I’ve ever! The toilet seat was peeling and the lid had been broken off and not replace. It was strange at breakfast to see a flower arrangement with artisan breads but then be provided with boring breads. Cereal – just cornflakes or sugar puffs. Fruit was provided though, including strawberries and avocado. The stairs will nearly kill you until you acclimatise so I recommend a lower floor! However, noise may be greater nearer reception? If there’s one place a lift would be welcome, it is here in Cusco! Noise was a problem every morning with people talking outside rooms and in the stairwell and it is amplified there. There is a security risk in that the door clears the floor by about 3cm and a theif could hook valuables and drag them under.
Still, the problems were outweighted by a general good feelingand I can recommend stayng here, especially as we had to move out when we decided to stay in Cusco longer and the standard of some of the other offerings at the same price were poor, with drab rooms and mouldy bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awholeworldoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here before and after our Machupicchu experience. Have to say this place has the best customer service oriented staff. The best location in town!! The rooms are well kept, and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet is out of the ordinary bread and coffee. They offer yogurts, fruits, cereals, eggs, chicken aji, juices, oat meal, etc. etc... The internet connection works very well. They kept our luggage for free during our trip to Machupicchu, they booked our train tickets without extra charges, they made taxi arrangements for us. After all this I decided to stay there again after my work in the missionary hospital in Curahuasi ended. Booked online a single room but to my surprise I received the master suite with balcony to the plaza for the same price to honor my reservation after a mistake done by the staff. They know how to do business, they care about their reputation and customer satisfaction. Without a doubt I will stay here again!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra $$ do not hesitate to take the suite with the balcony to the plaza. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 7 days and nights at the El Virrey in a triple with balcony overlooking the Cathedral on the main square, the Plaza de Armas. The direct view overlooking the park was the best of our hotels in three weeks in Peru, absolutely beautiful. Furnishings were budget nice (solid furniture, bed done up comfy with comforter and decorative pillows), amenities were better than average (6 branded medium sized bottles of different lotions, shampoos, conditioners, etc.). The bed sheets were clean, although very rough - if you require 800 thread count sheets you will definitely need to bring your own), towels replenished daily (and once left in amusing swan configurations). The hotel staff were incredibly friendly, attentive, prompt, courteous, professional... I could go on and on. Wake-up calls were prompt. Though on the main square, things are pretty quiet after dark, and even the park completely empties out not too long after 9:30 PM or so. This hotel was our best in Peru.
There was only one shortcoming: The owner/manager quoted prices of 2 1/2 to 3 times the cost (yes, almost exactly 250% - 300% higher) for every single thing we asked about, than we were offered by taxi drivers and travel agencies for all services:MP tickets, tours, prearranged taxis, etc. Do your research on attractions and costs (we did, but her statement of "You will buy all of your sightseeing needs from us, yes?" made us at least ask and try to funnel some of our money to this great hotel, but not when it was so blatantly overpriced). In short, great hotel, but the owner/general manager is more predatory in pricing than you will get in quotes off of the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citimowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Inti Wasi - Plaza de Armas
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa De Selenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Virrey Boutique Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Virrey Boutique Hostal

Property: El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Address: Portal Comercio 165 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal El Virrey)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Virrey Boutique Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your El Virrey Boutique Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing