We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The fastfood of "degustacion"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Soleil

Le Soleil
Ranked #12 of 686 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Soleil is the first restaurant gourmet French food in the city of Cusco. Proposes true flavors and wines of French culture, the only place where you can taste the classics of this kitchen, for example, rillettes, confit de canard, creme brulee. Offers an exclusive menu prepared only with fresh products according to market dishes available. In the space bar you can taste wine by the glass even the excellent French wines. The restaurant is open for all age groups and is also available for private events such as: Weddings, cocktails.
Europe
Level Contributor
244 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“The fastfood of "degustacion"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went with to this restaurant with big expectations after reading a bunch of reviews on Trip Advisor. We left disappointed and wondered where we went wrong. When we got back to our hotel, I took a look at the average reviews for the restaurant and could understand where they were coming from and was really disappointed by the owner's responses to their comments.

Plus points
Presentation was beautiful.
Table setting was nice.
Food flavours were average. Nothing was bad, but nothing was amazing either (looked a LOT prettier than it tasted).

Min points
The host of the restaurant was not only active in the restaurant, but was also sitting to eat at a table, which gave a very unrefined and odd vibe.

They don't take your coat, so you get to see trekking coats hung on the backs of otherwise elegant chairs.

The atmosphere is much sparser and empty feeling than it looks in the pictures. The wallpaper with the French scenery is not well aligned and the white walls looked fairly roughed up and in need of a coat of paint. The other decorations do little to make it welcoming.

The restaurant attempts to be posh by only serving wine, but they don't have the wine etiquette that follows. Instead of allowing the person to taste the wine, it was sloshed into the glass and in spite of being French, it was very average (23 soles a glass). In the menu, there is a price mentioned for water (sparkling and still) and they asked each of us if we wanted water. We said yes, but instead of giving us one bottle of water, they poured two glasses out of a carafe and we were charged 9 soles per person (this just feels like nicking and diming). If you are drinking wine, then water should be included especially if it's not in a bottle.

We ordered two seven course "menu degustacion". Not only were there no amuses, which is typical for showcasing a posh restaurant's skills, we were in and out of the restaurant in 1 hour and 15 minutes. This is ridiculous for "degustacion". The courses were put out there one after another without any real pause in between. But the place was so disappointing that we didn't mind getting out of there fast. Some of the other tables split the seven courses between two people, which would be a slightly better way of doing it.

The service was okay, but more focused on putting the right cutlery on the table than adding to the experience.

The restaurant price was a little over 420 soles (approx. $165) for two people. For this price, you could go out for an exquisite dinner in Europe or North America. Thus, it is highly overpriced and simply not worth it in a country where you can eat so many wonderful things in other top notch restaurants for a better price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your comment about le Soleil; I understood that you did not like our proposal, sorry.
After reading your comment I have an impression that you were in the worst MacDonald's in Alberta and comparing us to a fast food is a bit offending...

I would like to address your comments:
- I did not find your bill and any reservation on your name in September... and we keep copies of all bills and reservations
- I am eating every night in the restaurant in order to check the quality of our food and to supervise the service; I always talk to all our customers and I interrupt my meal to check on each customer if everything is ok: do not remember any complain in September; I would take an action to correct any mistake; sorry if you felt offended by the fact that the owner is eating in the restaurant
- we do propose to take coats but 90% of clients prefer to keep coats with them; sorry if in your case we did not take your coats; as you know Cusco is a very touristic place and we cannot expect from everyone to bring "habits de ville" to go out
- the wall paper is not perfect but it is a reproduction of a photo with technical limits; walls are beige and yes you right they need a little refresh (planned for next February when the restaurant is closed)
- we do not attempt (where did you find we did) to be posh; we are traditional French gourmet food restaurant with 100% French food and wine (my choice); I cannot sell things I do not like, sorry for that
- if someone orders the house wine, it comes by glass and it is tasted before by the owner and not by client but client has always rights to refuse and ask for another house wine; when you order the bottle you taste the wine before we serve it and even we allow people to change the type of wine if they do not like it
- we do serve only mineral water (still and sparkling): to preserve the environment we serve the still water in carafe and this unlimited
- in our tasting menu there are 2 amuse bouches: pumpkin cream and rillettes (your photos)
- sorry to learn that the service speed was too fast for you: did you mention that to the waiter?
- when I eat in Paris or New York I usually spend 150$ per person for the similar food

Regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    122
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador Department, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent French food, superb customer service and atenttion... Small and elegant. A must visit for foodies visiting Cusco.

Helpful?
Thank JRBucaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado,

Muchas gracias por su comentario sobre le Soleil; me recuerdo a usted y su pareja tan lindos y tan gourmet. Gracias por su visita y gracias de haber pasado el tiempo de un almuerzo con nosotros.
La opinion de un foodie como ustede es muy importante para mi y mi team. Esperamos que una oportunidad se presentara en el futuro para poder servirles nuevamente.

Muy cordilales saludos,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly service , non existing decor and mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to this restaurant due to the reviews on TA and because we love French food. What a disappointment! The owner was very friendly , the decor is austere and the restaurant was empty when we arrived .Although the food is beautifully presented , it is mediocre at best. Can the bland , soft whitebread really be homemade French bread?And the coffee flavoured bread simply did not appeal to us. We had the Pumpkin soup - it had a ginger flavour , and it was nice - the same as pumpkin soup at our local Steakhouse , nothing special . the Andean trout was very good.We had the duck , which was also nice - not the worst I have ever tasted , but not the best by a long shot. Then the coupe de grace - I had the Chocolate fondant and it was overcooked and rubbery - a fatal flaw for any restaurant! This king is not wearing any clothes and I am flabbergasted that this place can be rated the best restaurant in Cusco ! Although I also value TA as a point of reference , I can not but wonder about these opinions. When we left , only one other table was occupied - on that evening people were obviously not flocking to the best restaurant in Cusco!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Huyshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Sir or Madame,

Thank you for your comment about le Soleil.
After our internal investigation (we keep records of all bills and reservations) and because of no response to my mail to you, I have serious doubts about your stay in our restaurant; and there is no bill or reservation which could correspond to your profile.

I do however would like to respond to your critic:
- sorry you did not like our decor; tastes are different and we cannot please everyone
- sorry you did not like our bread but yes it is homemade and if a customer prefers crispy we always toast it on demand: did you mention that to us?
- I do not know your steak house but if you like the soup is ok
- trout was very good: why than you talk about the mediocre food at best
- duck was nice: nice which turns to mediocre later....
- if I was there and you did not like the fondant why did not call me and complain? we can always correct things and please but we need to know;
- you indirectly accuse us of having false comments: the is a serious matter and if you have evidence you should ask TA to start a legal action, otherwise we will do

Regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stylishly French and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was a very warm welcome from the host, with a lovely set menu with plenty of wine and good cheer. What a lovely surprise to be attended to by such a convivial host, whose love of life and sense of humour was a very welcome commodity after spending time walking the Inca Trail. We'll worth a visit to experience this tasty touch of Paris so far from Europe

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flashmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to host you in le Soleil; thank you for your visit and thank you for apreciating our food and service. I was pleased to have a little chat with you and it seems you enjoyed it too ;)
Quite a number of guests, like you, choose le Soleil to celebrate the Inka Trail end; I think it is a nice treat for them and a good opportunity for us to make this moment special. If we did for you, I am very happy.

I hope your trip back home was safe, my best regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An experience: exquisite food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited for our anniversary dinner in December and it was a perfect experience. The service was exceptionally good with excellent attention to detail from the charming French owner Arthur. We were able to select items from both the menu and the set menu for our meal starting with a fabulous pumpkin ginger soup, then pork rillette with house-made bread, and escargot in garlic butter - all of which were devoured with delight! For the main meals Arthur suggested the beef tenderloin for our young son which he thoroughly enjoyed along with his perfectly prepared local vegetables. We also ordered the duck a l'orange which was delicious and came with perfect potatoes and sauce, as well as the baby lamb chops which were perfectly seasoned and cooked. Every item on the plates was artfully presented and provided beautiful flavours that complemented the meals to a science. Add in an excellent Cahor from the very good wine list and we had one of the best meals we have ever enjoyed!
We are certain to enjoy more meals at Le Soleil during our time in Cusco!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OneOfTheSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcinart, Manager at Le Soleil, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for you great review about le Soleil. We have been proud to serve you especially for such an important moment for you. Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your visit.
You mention four elements of a good restaurant: food, wine, service and ambience. looks like we had ok for all of them ;-) This mens for us a lot: our hard work was awarded and we made you happy; it is a very important moment.
All our team says hallo to you and we do hope one day to be able to serve you again.

My best regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Soleil also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing