We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry Starry Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Morada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Morada
Ranked #14 of 313 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Starry Starry Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was spending 5 weeks in Cuzco in June-July 2012 while leading a summer architecture program. La Morada was my home away from home during that time, and I couldn't have been happier with my stay. The staff was professional and friendly, the in-room breakfast perfect for a leisurely morning, and their attention to detail was extraordinary. Most important, evenings writing or drawing on the patio in the sunsets overlooking central Cuzco with the beautiful ceiling of stars overhead was the best way to end each day. I wish you continued success and recommend anyone traveling to Cuzco to book early. Abrazos, Russell

Room Tip: I preferred the single-level room overlooking the terrace (108 I believe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    61
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
83
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B'ham
Level Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel is situated up a very very steep path. On the day of our arrival the roads were blocked and so the shuttle taxi dropped us at the bottom of a hideous flight of stairs with our heavy luggage. On reaching the top I had a severe attack of breathlessness due to the combination of altitude and the lifting of heavy luggae up such a ludicrous amount of steps.
On a positive Willy ran out from the hotel and gave me an Oxygen cannister to ensure I was OK.
Rooms are lovely but on the small side. We booked as we wanted self catering though the litchen is very small with no table and chairs to sit at. OK fro summer as you can sit outside but not ideal for us in rainy February.
Laundry done on the day.
Breakfast always prompt.
Wifi always worked
We had a couple of minor hiccups but always sorted immediately and with a smile.
I cannot rate the staff high enough but would have preferred a location nearer to the square with less steep paths to climb.
Once over the altitude this should not be a problem for anyone relatively fit.
Quitely tucked away so always a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice. Ask for a room with the big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

La Morada was a beautiful place to stay on either side of the Salkantay Trek to Macchu Picchu. The kind staff did their best to make our stay comfortable. They were able to organise same day washing (on a Sunday) for us, arrange a lovely breakfast delivered to our room and I really appreciated the space of having a well stocked kitchen + bathroom downstairs with the super comfy beds upstairs (though we did struggle with this while acclimitising). Additionally, we did not realise they offered free airport pick-up, so instead they organised free airport drop-off when we left. They also minded our luggage (free of charge) while we were away doing the Salkantay Trek. The suite had a reliable WiFi connection and in general, was located within an easy walking distance from the main squares of Cuzco.

Thank you to the dedicated staff of La Morada.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We loved our stay in the family room with our 2 teenage kids. The 3 levels suited us well but others not so agile may find it challenging especially if requiring the bathroom during the night. Staff, breakfast & facilities were all great & we would recommend. All very new & pristine. The walk to the centre was enjoyable for us but again those less agilemay not enjoy the uphill walk back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We travelled to cusco with our 3 children 10, 10&7 and stayed at la Morada. The apartment was perfect. Great breakfast, wonderful views over Cusco. Free wifi and the staff were lovely. The San Blas area is lovely and it is an easy walk down the hill to lots of restaurants and markets

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

La Morada - without a long history or dedicated website - was something of a risky booking for us. Given the large number of what appear to be very good accommodations available in Cusco for reasonable prices, I had begun to wonder if I had made a mistake. However, all those worries evaporated when we arrived here. Although the stairs leading up to the hotel can be a bit of a struggle before you've acclimatized, everything else here is perfect. Great location, friendly (and mostly english-speaking) staff, modern suites, great beds and linens, and the most reliable wireless internet (an unfortunately unplanned necessity) we found in Peru. In all my travels, this might have been the best value I've ever found.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelthepole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I just got back from Cusco and wanted to find a place in the San Blas neighborhood. Overall, a very quiet place, great service, a 10 minute walk to the main plaza, clean rooms and hot showers. There is also a great terrace view of the entire city and free Wifi service. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobRod821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#30 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#18 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada

Property: La Morada
Address: Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 313 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Morada 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing