We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, but not perfect”
Review of Pisko & Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pisko & Soul
Ranked #21 of 517 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was a little disappointed by this place, having read the other reviews. It was warm, cosy, friendly and atmospheric, but given that the rates are not bargain-basement (especially for private rooms as the price is per person) I thought that presentation could have been better. There were no bedside lights, and only dim ceiling lights even in rooms with little natural light. Carpets were fraying in places and the ceiling of our room had old damp stains that a simple coat of paint would have fixed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mywesterngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 266 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in Pisko&soul for a total of 5nights with our Machu Picchu trip in the middle we were able to leave our main backpacks at the hostel. Firstly the staff couldn't have been nicer, great breakfast every morning. Oscar and Eduardo were so so helpful with pointing us in the right direction of everything we needed. Great location and Free Pisco Sour night on the Wednesday was great fun. Rooms were perfect and so clean. We couldn't find a fault to be honest and will definitely be recommending to my friends!!Thanks for a great stay guys!!
Oh and you gotta try the french crepe place down the street on the right....yummy!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I can't speak highly enough about Pisko and Soul. We stayed in a private room at a very affordable rate of $32 USD per night. The facilities wee extremely clean. The cost of the room also included a well prepared breakfast of eggs, bread, jams, avocado, tea, and coffee.

What really made the stay special though, was the service of the owner and front desk. They provided excellent recommendations of places to eat and see. In addition they always had a smile on their face and an overall willingness to make your stay great.

A great value weather young or old. I would highly recommend you stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tschell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed in Pisko and Soul hostel for 4 nights, and I really enjoyed it. The place is close to the main place, is really quiet and have very nice breakfast include. The staff is helpfull and always make you feel very comfortable. Maybe a bit more expensive than other places, but it worth it!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank etfou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A beautiful hostel that is located in the the heart San Blas (best area of Cusco). The owner, Eduardo, makes you feel right at home and is ready to help with any questions and requests you may have. The other staff is also incredibly kind and helpful. Coca tea is always available for guests. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the atmosphere of the hostel is very authentic. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A friend, my son (14) and I stayed for 4 nights in January at the Pisko & Soul, and we loved it. The decoration of the hostel is very colourful, especially the glass ceilings above the two courtyards. Our triple room looked a bit like a monastic cell with very thick walls and a little window overlooking the lounge, but the building is about two centuries old, so it added to the charm. Speaking about the lounge, it boasts a big plasma TV with a nice selection of DVD´s to choose from, and comfy sofas and armchairs. You have a computer upstairs with which I could upload photos of my trip, so I´d say it works quite well. Wifi in rooms can be erratic but OK. Breakfast is great with good coffee, fresh juice, marmalade, yoghurt and an omelet if you so wish. On the bar counter you also have a selection of different teas to choose from, for a rewarding drink after hiking up from the plaza to San Blas neighbourhood. It´s a steep walk, but you get used to it. I´m 55 and I tackled it perfectly although slowly..... The staff is very kind and make you feel very comfortable. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaAngelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I loved this hostel. It is located in the beautiful neighborhood of San Blas at the end of the street which makes it very quite. Very friendly staff who will remember your name till you leave. They have excellent breakfast (Eggs made to order the way you want it), They have plenty of hot water 24 hours a day. Their wifi is a bit sketchy. They have free pisco sour nights once a week! The rooms are clean, though some of the rooms can be dark. I would definitely visit this place the next time I am in Cusco.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bharat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.5 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 517 in Cusco
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 517 in Cusco
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#12 of 517 in Cusco
433 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal El Grial
Hostal El Grial
#34 of 517 in Cusco
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisko & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisko & Soul

Address: Carmen Alto No 294 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 517 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $20 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pisko & Soul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pisko & Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing