We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pisko and Soul”
Review of Pisko & Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pisko & Soul
Ranked #18 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pisko and Soul”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great hostel in a convenient area, close to Plaza de Armas, great restaurants and shopping. Edwardo, William, Oscar and Ronnie were all excellent, always ready to give good advice, book a trip for you or chat. Remembered my name. Breakfast was excellent with eggs prepared how you wanted them. Triple room was a little dark but we spent so little time in the room, it didn't matter. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe the upstairs rooms have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    57
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
69
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I loved staying at Pisko & Soul. Unfortunately I was only there for 3 nights - one before and two after my trek to Machu Picchu. The staff is super friendly, the free breakfast is delicious (and includes an omelette), the coca leaves for tea are endless and although Cusco can get quite chilly at night, there was always a space heating pumping out warming rays. They let me keep my nonessential trekking items at the hostel for 4 nights in a locked cabinet and I was even upgraded to a double room for no additional charge. Although I haven't stayed anywhere else in Cusco, Pisko & Soul should be highly considered when planning your trip to Peru!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cusco was the last part of my trip in south america where I was doing the inca trail and amazon jungle tour from. I chose this hostel because i wanted something decent with hot showers and a bit of a social atmosphere but nothing too crazy like wild rover. Somewhere I could sleep well before and after the tours.

When I arrived at the hostel I was given a room which was more of a cave (they actually call it that between themselves). They were kind enough to move me to their second hostel around the corner because I wasn't to keen on the cave. It was very dark and smelt damp and window of the toilet opens into the common area.

A lot of places don't have heating in cusco but are insulated much better. This place was freezing to the point im sure I had full blown flu the days after because of it.

The noise from the neighbouring dogs at night is unbearable especially if you have to wake up early in the mornings for tours etc.

The room and bathroom are not bad aesthetically. Wifi is decent and staff are nice except for the owner who can be rude. But due to the noise and cold I moved across the road to Madre Tierra. Its literally a few steps from this place and is a hundred times nicer. They have dorms and private rooms which are lovely and insulated.

I regret staying at Pisko, it ruined my stay in cusco. I wanted something decent with a social atmosphere, this hostel offers a pisko night where not even the owners stick around and the hostel isn't always that busy. I stayed in February so maybe it was just a quiet period. Anyway it was the worst experience I had travelling in south america.

There are plenty of hostels which are so much better but get booked quickly so don't leave it too late!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amritakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I loved Cusco and I'm sure it's partially due to the fact that we had this little hostal as a home base. Our room (201) was nicely decorated, had a really comfy bed and windows facing the small street in front of the hostal. It's located in a lovely artists (and expat-hippies) quarter just a short walk to the main square.
And then there was the great staff, always friendly, always smiling and giving really good advice on everything. And making great breakfasts.
All in all just great.

Room Tip: 201 was really cute, with the window facing the small street. (Of course the street can get noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publizischt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancud, Los Lagos, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Cusco is a sprawling city, and Pisko & Soul is located right in the heart of the San Blas district, which is stuffed with great restaurants, cafes, and architecture. The rooms themselves are quiet and clean, and the showers were the best I've had in all of South America. So hot! So much pressure!

The breakfast is fantastic--eggs are included, as are fresh bread, juice, cereals, yogurt, etc. But what really makes this place special is the staff. Everyone from the owner to the cleaning staff were beyond friendly and went out of their way to make my stay as pleasurable and comfortable as possible. The atmosphere is definitely the friendliest I've come across in Peru.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in total (couple in double room). Staff was great and always helpful. Breakfast was excellent (including eggs made to order and prepared the way you prefer and with bacon). Location was good in the centre of San Blas and relatively quiet at night. Rooms were good (except the bathroom had some big black spots from poor ventilation - wouldn't like my own bathroom to look like that). Also, individual reading lights by the bed could have been nice. Overall, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff of Pisko & Soul is top notch. Eduardo, Roni (sp?), Joel, and co. are spectacular. Really nice and welcoming. Answered any and all questions about things to do/how to get around/where to eat/drink/bailar, etc. It makes the Cusco experience better than it otherwise would be. I stayed in a private room with two twin beds and a private bathroom. It was clean and included an external heater for the cold cold Cusco nights. The shower was good too--HOT WATER. Wifi was decent, cool common areas, not loud at night (not a party hostel if that's what you are looking for). Located in San Blas neighborhood...less than 10 min walk to Plaza de Armas and really close to a few great restaurants and bars. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 445 in Cusco
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 445 in Cusco
1,379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 445 in Cusco
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 445 in Cusco
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 445 in Cusco
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisko & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisko & Soul

Property: Pisko & Soul
Address: Carmen Alto No 294 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pisko & Soul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pisko & Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing