We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Pisko & Soul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pisko & Soul
Ranked #21 of 455 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I would have no trouble recommending this place to stay. It was very clean and comfortable and we found it quiet. The staff were really friendly and helpful (and have excellent English which was useful for us). The breakfast was really nice. They give packed lunches if you are leaving too early for breakfast. We booked in for both before and after our Machu Picchu trek and they kept our bags while we were gone. They give good recommendations of places to eat, nightlife, sights etc. They offer tours that you can book with them (although they were more expensive than we found at other tour operators around the city). The location was good with lots of nice shops, bars and restaurants locally and it was maybe a 15 minute walk to the main square of Cusco (I’m not sure exactly because we always stopped to browse and take pictures along the way). Overall, it was my favourite place that I stayed in Peru.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    58
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
71
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A very special attention since our arrival was excellent. Breakfast is delicious, I had fun, the staff is highly qualified and very helpful, it was wonderful, I recommend it 100%. The rooms are very nice and clean.The especially Thursday is free pisco sour day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guadalupe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in a mixed dorm in June 2013. The staff here are very friendly and helpful; they had many suggestions on what I could/should do with my days, where to eat, where to get laundry done etc. They remembered everyone by name and were very accommodating. They do a great job of providing breakfast with bread/rolls, spreads, cereal, yogurt, and an egg (scrambled or fried) each morning as well as coffee/tea/coca tea etc. This was great for me as I am gluten free and cannot eat bread so usually can't partake in the free breakfast. One night we even had a free pisko sour night!

The only downside of this hostel is that it is a little chilly - I'm pretty sure you'd have that problem this time of year anywhere in Cusco though. It takes a while to heat up in the mornings but the staff are always on hand with a nice little gas heater to warm up in front of. The common areas are nice and chilled and definitely not a party hostel, people were friendly and made conversation whilst there but I didn't think it was a particularly social hostal - probably due to the cold and the fact many people were just heading off on or back from treks etc. There was one or two occasions where I missed out on the hot water in the shower so try and be in quick or have one later in the day when it has warmed back up!

I loved the location - it is an easy walk to the main square and taking the stairs back from there is hard at first while you acclimatise but good practice if you are going off to do a trek. There is an ATM and laundromat nearby and quite a few shops / markets between here and the main square. WI-FI available throughout the whole dorm is another plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntypicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really the only complaint you can make about this place is that it's a little bit chilly at night. But that's the case for almost every place in Cusco due to the climate.

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for eight nights in late June 2013, and we loved everything about it. It's not a party hostel; the prices are incredibly reasonable; the staff is really helpful and friendly; and the rooms are cute, clean and have private bathrooms. We loved everything about it and would recommend it for anyone who's looking for a cute, affordable place to stay while visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jparodi625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am a Canadian female traveller who was in Peru in April 2013. Pisko & Soul is an amazing place to stay! The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the common areas. Breakfast is great and much cheaper to eat at the hostal than restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferjr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in a six-man room in this nicely-furnished hostel. The room was nice and clean, the bathrooms had hot water and there was wifi access even from my room which was on the second floor. Eduardo and the other hostel staff were very friendly and helpful too. Breakfast is included (eggs, bacon, bread, coffee/tea) and there is coffee/tea and hot water available 24 hours.

Location-wise, the hostel is located in the San Blas neighbourhood, which has some nice art galleries, stores and eateries. There are both tourist and local restaurants in the vicinity, especially on Calle Choquechaca; some seem pricey but there are cheap ones too. There is a place near the intersection between Calle Choquechaca and Calle Hatunrumiyoc beside Jack's Cafe which serves daily set meals (soup, main course, coca tea) that start from 4-5 soles. I also had a delicious roasted guinea pig (cuy chactado) at Piedras Y Carbon, which is located slightly to the right when one comes down the steep flight of stairs from Pisko & Soul to Calle Choquechaca. It costed me 38 soles. There are small provision shops located near the hostel too (within a five minutes walk) where you can get basic necessities like bottled water and snacks. There are also ATMs on Plaza San Blas which is just a short walk away as well.

To get to Plaza de Armas, one just needs to take a short 10-15 minute walk. Just be aware that going back to the hostel from Plaza de Armas will be a little tiring as it will be an uphill walk. Nevertheless, you will be fine if you walk slowly (and you should if you have yet to acclimatize).

Overall, this is a great hostel. Nicely-furnished, value-for-money, outstanding service and good location. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love love LOVED this place. Several reasons why this was such a wonderful place to stay:

1) Price - this should be a no-brainer. A private room with private bathroom was only $25/night, and I went during peak season.
2) They provide towels! I've never seen a hostel that provided towels, so this was definitely a plus.
3) Bathrooms are spotless.
4) Good, consistent hot water. Good, reliable wi-fi.
5) Comfort. Beds were comfy and they provided plenty of warm blankets on colder nights.
6) Security. You have to ring a doorbell to have someone let you in, so people aren't just walking in and out all the time.
7) The number one reason to stay here: the service. I had the pleasure of having Joel, Ronnie, George, and a kind young lady taking care of the front desk during my stay at Pisko and Soul. They're all incredibly nice, will give you solid recommendations on places to go (Joel referred us to an AWESOME local restaurant for ceviche), and are SUPER accommodating and want to make sure your stay is comfortable. They'll even pack up a lunch bag for you if you leave before breakfast starts. How cute is that? Chat with them, because they're great people!

Needless to say, I'd book with Pisko & Soul again without hesitation. I've stayed at hostels throughout Europe, and this one had some of the most caring staff I've ever seen. Absolutely lovely place with lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 167 in Cusco
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 455 in Cusco
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 455 in Cusco
1,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 455 in Cusco
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisko & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisko & Soul

Property: Pisko & Soul
Address: Carmen Alto No 294 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 455 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pisko & Soul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pisko & Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing