We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samanapata Comfort Hostel
Ranked #246 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Hood River, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worked for us.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed on three separate occasions, and found it to be a comfortable place and a good value. The staff is friendly and it has a laid back atmosphere. Arturo (night staff) is especially fun, and someone you could ask about Ayahuasca trips. Well except for the night a school group stayed. The only other downside to the place was that their bookkeeping wasn't great. Be sure you are clear on the price of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Doubles go for 50 soles. This is pretty good for Cusco.
It is located about 5 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, however location is very nice.
Rooms are very clean and there is hot water (gas) 24/7.
The staff and manager are very kind and helpful and went out of their way to help us.
Windows are problematic in the rooms... Some have no light and some cannot be darkened. Ask to see the room first if possible.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms make a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odedfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Samanapata is definitely a good option in the San Blas district. Very good location, competitive price (50 S for a double) including an OK breakfast (bread & butter, coffee, piece of fruit) and towels. They have two locations, the main one where the reception is, and a second one 50 meters away around the corner with no reception/kitchen (a bit more inconvenient as you need to walk to the other building to get to the reception or to have breakfast). Both have internet & fast wifi.

Now, do check several rooms before you put down your bags! Try to avoid rooms 1 and 2, as they are noisy (close to entrance door), dark (no windows!) and damp. After staying in #2 for half a night after a 4am arrival, we asked to be moved, and found the rooms upstairs to be much nicer in all aspects.

Room Tip: avoid rooms #1 and #2, dark and damp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inaki294306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Located in the heart of San Blas, Samanapata is a small hostel that offers great value for Cuzco.
Rooms are cleaned every day, towels are included, there's cable TV in every room, and the price is unbeatable: 50 soles for a double room with private bathroom.
Just bare in mind:
- staff are a little too casual
- basic breakfast, although there is a fridge available to guests (no other kitchen facilities)
- not all rooms are as spacious so ask to see the room first
- the wifi doesn't work in the rooms at the top floor

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#165 of 454 in Cusco
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#48 of 357 in Cusco
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 167 in Cusco
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#71 of 454 in Cusco
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samanapata Comfort Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samanapata Comfort Hostel

Property: Samanapata Comfort Hostel
Address: Calle 7 Angelitos No 643 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostels Cusco Samanapata is located in the heart of the city of Cusco, we are a chain of hotels Cusco since 07 years. We are pleased to offer our guests a quality accommodation service and comfort. We work with highly qualified professionals for their expertise and courtesy. We offers a personalized service that will meet your expectations making them feel at home, we invite you to be part of our family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing