We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and very clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirador de Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mirador de Santa Ana
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view and very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here dispite the hot water problem as others also indicated. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nicely decorated this great view of Cusco city. Everything were clean. Breakfast was nice though I hoped there were some fruits.

10' walk downhill to the square. Uphill with 150 steps back to hotel fromthe square making it the most appropriate training for our Salkantay hike.

If the hot water problem is fixed, it would make this a perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    78
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
106
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

What a neat gem of a place - my husband and I stayed at el Mirador for our last night in Cusco returning from Machu Picchu.

The hotel is in a neighborhood up on a hill overlooking the city about 1km from the Plaza.  Getting to the hotel want difficult, but the taxi driver did need the address as it is not well known by drivers.  You'll want to take cabs when returning to the hotel, but walking to town isn't too bad - all downhill.

We stayed in a double room with a private bath and a great view overlooking the city.  The bed was very different, hard and soft at the same time.  We weren't thrilled with the comfort, but slept ok.  We didn't have hot water, but should have called down to the front desk for help.  I do think they could've fixed the problem. Also, getting up and down 3 flights of stairs to our room was tiring with our bags and at that altitude (about 11,000 feet at the hotel).  The decor was updated and comfortable with a small LCD tv in the room.

Breakfast is served on the top level with a great view of the city.  We were the only ones eating breakfast that morning (possibly the only ones in the hotel that day) and had our own private breakfast served to us on a tray.  Eggs, toast, jam, coffee, etc.  It was just right for us.  There is hot water for tea in the lobby 24 hours a day - definitely drink the coca tea to help with altitude.

The place is family run - I believe they live on site.  They were very sweet and eager to make us feel comfortable.  they even looked to see if they had a cable that would work for my husband to connect his GPS to the computer.

So beware of the walk to town/cab back and abundant stairs at this hotel, but well worth it for the views and ambiance!

http://viaperspective.com/blog/?cat=24

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have great views, but more stairs to access them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasM313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antofagasta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yes, the bed was super hard, and yes, the hot water didn't always work properly, and yes, it was a bit far from the square (nice walk down though, and very cheap, easy, and quick cab ride back). HOWEVER--the staff was the most helpful and welcoming of any staff I have ever experienced at a hotel. They made us feel like family. They even booked some of our tours and took care of every detail of our stay--above and beyond what we expected in that aspect. The rooms are clean and well decorated, the breakfast was great and larger than any other that we had while traveling in Peru for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: The view from the top is amazing, but the rooms on the top by the breakfast area are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyelizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hostel we had booked in advance was overbooked, so they brought us to Mirador de Santa Ana. Our double room was very spacious and equipped with a large bed – two singles combined to a large double bed. The ensuite bathroom was very clean, but the hot water in the shower a bit tricky, sometimes there was only cold water. From the room where the great breakfast is served you have an excellent view over the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great views from the higher bedrooms and breakfast room.
Shower not always hot (particularly evenings). Plenty of free coca tea on offer to combat any altitude sickness.

Room Tip: Our room was fourth floor (just below breakfast room). This was probably one of the better ones - t...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great place to stay. It is clean and nice with lovely hosts and good breakfast. What a great view!

It is a quiet neighborhood and has a feel of saying with a family. They really went out of their way for us.

The only bad was the bed. It was not very comfortable.

Room Tip: The top is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clintobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Advantages
- walking distance to city center (you can also take taxi which cost 2-3 soles, (taxi drivers want 5 and more so you have to negotiate)
- very nice view from hotel
- small family hotel with nice atmosphere
- They have very nice driver that we used for trip outside of Cuzco.

Disadvantages
- wi-fi works only in lobby
- water temperature under shower was inconsistent, sometimes it was warm water half minute later it was only cold water and again half minute later it was warm again.
- advertised king bed it wasn't really king bud but joined 2 beds.

other notes
- it was cold in hotel but room was ok as we got heater.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#45 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#60 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.0 mi away
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
#76 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador de Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador de Santa Ana

Property: Mirador de Santa Ana
Address: Av. la Raza 887 | Zona Santa Ana, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador de Santa Ana 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mirador de Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing