We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No tents here!! or other trekkers!!”
Review of Andean Lodges

Andean Lodges
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,600.00*
and up
5-Day Andean Lodges Trekking Tour from Cusco
Ranked #73 of 929 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Andean Lodges". Under the protection of the awesome Ausangate Mountain (20,945 ft. 6,384 m) located in the Cordillera Vilcanota, 3 hours south Cusco, we have constructed four luxury and eco-friendly Lodges, in a private trekking route that is manage with high quality standards, in partnership with the indigenous communities.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I like to find treks that are less travelled. So when organising our holiday to South America, we decided not to walk the Inka trail to Machu Picchu, with 500 other people each day. We caught the train there instead and enjoyed a fabulous 2 days walking all over the site.
But we still wanted to include a challenging walk and found this one. All our other high altitude walks have been staying in tents, so what a treat to stay each night in these amazing lodges at such a high altitude, with a hot shower at the end of the day followed by a 3 course hot meal.
There were 4 in our group and we only saw 2 other tourists on the entire trek. No tourists, no shops, a few high altitude villages and us, so hard to find these days.
All the staff were faultless, my only suggestion is to heat the plates for the evening meal (maybe on top of the wood stove).

Thank cocomolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoLopezJ, Director Comercial at Andean Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience with us and the Apu Ausangate. We think is a great idea to warm up the plates before serving. We will work it out and apply it with our cooks and servers.

Thank you Cocomolly for your contributing to improve our service!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Like any other high altitude experience, prepare yourself. Seek medical advice before going and bring medications in anticipation of need, make sure you are in good shape physically, heed the recommendation to spend some time before the trek becoming accustomed to the altitude, pack for any kind of weather. That said, please read on.......

The Andean Lodges trek has it all--a challenging but not too technical trek, comfortable lodges that quickly became home every evening after a day of trekking, thoughtful menus that were beautifully presented, delicious and easy to digest at high altitudes and AMAZING scenery that seemed to get better by the day. Small details, like water bottles in the beds, the guide who ran ahead to make sure everything was in order, a fire to welcome us, snacks around the fire until dinner and handmade slippers kept us comfortable, even without central heat or electricity. As if these amenities and nature were not enough, our guides were so knowledgeable and personable and we learned so much and truly enjoyed being with them. I cannot say enough about the local people who have been a part of Andean Lodges since its inception--their participation not only helps them maintain their culture, it also gives them the opportunity to benefit from doing so. They provided us an understanding of their Apu, warmth, smiles, wonderful food, music & dance and amazing demonstrations of dyeing, spinning and weaving. We even had a chance to purchase some of their products! I loved hearing them giggle and chat as they walked the trails or worked in the lodges. The entire experience is thoughtfully planned and respectfully coordinated with all involved. What a team!

Thank The0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndeanLodgesCusco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andean Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2014

Thanks we do as much as we can to provide a unique experience, and the local people do their best as well, thanks to people like you we can make this project to keep growing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This trekking is unbelievable.. the landscapes are breathtaking, I have never seen such shocking mountains, lakes, vegetation and skies in the peruvian Andes. During the trekking, Andean Lodges gives a premium service. They carry your bags for you, the food is AWESOME and the services they provide are high quality (which is amazing and priceless in such a faraway environment). Every day, we stopped to have lunch inside a tent they place half way from one lodge to another, usually besides a lake or some special place, and had a rest and a very good meal. The lodges are amazing, They are all located in the middle of the Andes, and have amazing views from all the rooms. They have a chimeney to warm up, duvets on the bed, they light the place with solar lamps and candles (there is no electricity, and this makes it very romantic), and they even leave you a chocolate in your night table. The staff are from the communities nearby, and they are the nicest and sweetest people, always willing to help you. You have to prepare yourself to be cold and endure the altitude, but besides that, it is an amazing and almost luxurious experience, in one of the most impressive places I´ve been.

Thank silvanarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndeanLodgesCusco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andean Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2014

we are glad you have enjoyed this experience so much, the scenery that is to appreciate is really breathtaking, we try this to be an unforgettable experience and we hope you can return any time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our friends talked to us about this Ausangate trek and we kept bugging them until they decided to join us and do it again. This trekking adventure was one in a million. The scenery was beautiful, the trek(altitude) was challenging, and the people, food and lodging were amazing. Roger and his crew have created an experience that allows you to meet and interact with the people in the small villages along the trek and enjoy the beauty of the mountain with no other hikers around. The four lodges that we visited were built and taken care of by the local people. Our guides were extremely knowledgable and we learned about peru, its biodiversity, its food and its people. We can't wait to bring more people to share this experience.

Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndeanLodgesCusco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andean Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2014

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience, indeed it is a unique experience and we encourage you not only to bring more people, but to do the trek again yourself, we hope to see you around soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We did this trip with 2 other couples in our 50s and 60s. It was absolutely PERFECT!!! The lodges are well constructed and beautiful. We saw lots of vicunas and even a condor. The landscape changes every day! The hike is relatively gentle except for the altitude. We acclimated for 5 days and took Diamox and everyone did pretty well. I also recommend sleeping pills like Ambien for the nights because it's hard to sleep at 15,000+ feet. We had all kinds of weather including snow one day but the sun is usually shining and it melted quickly and made Ausengate even more beautiful. The down comforters and hot water bottles made sleeping comfortable, but we wore our long underwear to bed. It is the best of camping without the bad parts of camping. Nico the chef made us wonderful food every day - so healthy and light - I can't say enough about how gourmet the food was. We were lucky to have Roger and Bruno as our guides. The purpose of the company is to help the local communities by training them in hospitality so they can stay in their community - so it has very real social purpose which is also appealing. It's an incredible value for 4 nights $990 compared to other options and you are hiking alone unlike the Inka Trail and the trails to Machu Picchu where there are hundreds of people!! We want to come back in a couple years and do it again with our grown children. It was wonderful!!!!

Thank Nspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndeanLodgesCusco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andean Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Thanks for sharing your Andean Lodges experience, we are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed our trekking route and we definitely hope to see you back here with your grand children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andean Lodges also viewed

 

Been to Andean Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing