We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Try an excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LP Cusco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LP Cusco Hotel
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Try an excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Try an excellent experience, a very well organized and friendly hotel near the main square in Cuzco. Remember is located in Sun Avenue which means Avenida El Sol, very near shopping centers and the Indian market. The restaurant shows innovative fusion international and peruvian food: Chicken in chicha morada, or a special trout with trigotto (wheat risotto)...absolutely awesome !!. Something very important: medical attention is assured: a group of emergency doctors will be present immediately after a phone call to prevent "soroche" (altitude sickness). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Manager at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ana Maria

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.

We are very pleased to read your description of our property and review of our Restaurant Chaska that means Star in Spanish.
Rests assure we will share your opinion with our staff, specially with our chef, thank you for your positive comments on our service and we will continue to concentrate on providing a personal service for our guests.
We are looking forward to have you with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    190
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
241
45
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with some of the most pleasant staff I have ever encountered. Clean well appointed well maintained. Only minor downside is the very weak unreliable wifi. Free coca tea provided all day. Location is perfect and easy to find.

Room Tip: Outside rear probably best. Front get traffic noise...central rooms get too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Manager at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent stay in Portales Cusco Hotel.
We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay with us, rest assured that will share your comments with all partners to continue working in the service offered to the guests.
About the problems with the connection from the internet will follow are doing it not happen in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is located on the main street several blocks from the main square. We had a nice view of the busy street below. The room is very clean with a tv and a small fridge. We left our luggage in a secure room while we went to Ollytatambo and Machu Pichu. The staff was very helpful and professional. Breakfast was the best we have had in awhile with a good variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Manager at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
It makes us very proud to read that you loved your stay with us
Your opinion about our concierges and restaurant will be share with our staff because comments like yours motivate us to continue performing our duties with pride.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Like other reviews, we were on a Gate 1 tour. We stopped overnight at 3 different cities and Los Portales in Cusco was our favorite hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and bright. Bathroom was tiled and along the lines of what we are use to in the States. A great breakfast was included with our room. The lounge area was top notch too. We had a room facing the street. If the windows were open, you would hear the traffic below but the cleanliness compared to what we saw in other hotels, far outweighs a little street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielczyk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

It makes us very proud to read that you loved your stay with us, specially our Hotel.

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience since it only help us to improve and continue to get better.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here with a Gate 1 tour. Hotel is located 3 blocks from the main plaza. No safety issues at all. Breakfast is included and good. Coca tea available and served when a large group
arrives. Staff friendly and held our bags.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaI031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed the time at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

We hope to see you again!!!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 night on a trip with Gate 1. This was my favorite hotel of the whole trip! I really liked the look and feel of this hotel. The hotel is located close to the center of Cusco, so there are many things to do within walking distance. There is also beautiful scenery all around.

Inside the lobby was a nice atrium area with table to sit at. They also offered free coca tea to drink which was nice for the altitude. Our room was nice and clean. It had a nice modern bathroom too. The room was big enough for both of us and our luggage. I liked the breakfast here as well. They had a good selection of fresh fruit and other breakfast favorites.

As far as the service of the staff, I didn't interact with anyone that much. When I did, the service seemed up to par. But during our whole trip, this was my favorite hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaH11814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the breakfast in Our Restaurant.

Comments like yours, make us to continue our efforts to provide our guests an unforgettable experience.

We hope to have you as our guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there as part of a Gate 1 tour in Peru. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and considering that there were two Gate 1 groups staying at the same time, there were no problems with luggage getting mixed up. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, shops and tourist attractions. While we were visiting, the street that the hotel is on was closed for construction. Saturday night, there were groups of people congregating in the street and it was very noisy. I'd guess that there is alot of traffic noise when the street is open. Others in our group who were facing the interior courtyard complained about noise from the courtyard. The rooms were big enough for 2 people. We were hardly in the room given our busy touring schedule. The room included a refrigerator. The bathroom was very modern with a big shower with a glass door and it was very clean. The odd thing about Peru, that I didn't know 'til I got there, is that they don't flush toilet paper. There's a trash can in every bathroom for paper disposal. Breakfast was included and it varied every day. There was hot food along with bread, rolls, pastries, fruit, cereal (try the quinoa cereal) and yogurt. There always seemed to be an urn of coca tea in the courtyard. Try it, it really helps with the altitude. After our very long day at Machu Picchu we got soup and sandwiches from the restaurant. Though we only tried a few items on the menu, everyone enjoyed their selections. Right off the courtyard was a lounge with comfy sofas and chairs, a fireplace and free computers.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the street and the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your recent stay at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.
We apologize for noise inconvenience created at the courtyard of the hotel . It is not common probably there were guests having dinner, about the toilet paper in the bathroom here in Peru is not usually flush toilet paper because the toilet gets stuck easily.
I am sharing your comments with our staff who I am sure will receive them with gratitude and will reinforce their commitment to continue with excellence in service.
Thank you for your preference again and we hope to have you as our guest sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.4 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Cusco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Cusco Hotel

Property: LP Cusco Hotel
Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Cusco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your LP Cusco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing