We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Ranked #21 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here with a Gate 1 tour. Hotel is located 3 blocks from the main plaza. No safety issues at all. Breakfast is included and good. Coca tea available and served when a large group
arrives. Staff friendly and held our bags.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaI031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed the time at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

We hope to see you again!!!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    232
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
293
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 night on a trip with Gate 1. This was my favorite hotel of the whole trip! I really liked the look and feel of this hotel. The hotel is located close to the center of Cusco, so there are many things to do within walking distance. There is also beautiful scenery all around.

Inside the lobby was a nice atrium area with table to sit at. They also offered free coca tea to drink which was nice for the altitude. Our room was nice and clean. It had a nice modern bathroom too. The room was big enough for both of us and our luggage. I liked the breakfast here as well. They had a good selection of fresh fruit and other breakfast favorites.

As far as the service of the staff, I didn't interact with anyone that much. When I did, the service seemed up to par. But during our whole trip, this was my favorite hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaH11814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the breakfast in Our Restaurant.

Comments like yours, make us to continue our efforts to provide our guests an unforgettable experience.

We hope to have you as our guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there as part of a Gate 1 tour in Peru. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and considering that there were two Gate 1 groups staying at the same time, there were no problems with luggage getting mixed up. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, shops and tourist attractions. While we were visiting, the street that the hotel is on was closed for construction. Saturday night, there were groups of people congregating in the street and it was very noisy. I'd guess that there is alot of traffic noise when the street is open. Others in our group who were facing the interior courtyard complained about noise from the courtyard. The rooms were big enough for 2 people. We were hardly in the room given our busy touring schedule. The room included a refrigerator. The bathroom was very modern with a big shower with a glass door and it was very clean. The odd thing about Peru, that I didn't know 'til I got there, is that they don't flush toilet paper. There's a trash can in every bathroom for paper disposal. Breakfast was included and it varied every day. There was hot food along with bread, rolls, pastries, fruit, cereal (try the quinoa cereal) and yogurt. There always seemed to be an urn of coca tea in the courtyard. Try it, it really helps with the altitude. After our very long day at Machu Picchu we got soup and sandwiches from the restaurant. Though we only tried a few items on the menu, everyone enjoyed their selections. Right off the courtyard was a lounge with comfy sofas and chairs, a fireplace and free computers.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the street and the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your recent stay at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.
We apologize for noise inconvenience created at the courtyard of the hotel . It is not common probably there were guests having dinner, about the toilet paper in the bathroom here in Peru is not usually flush toilet paper because the toilet gets stuck easily.
I am sharing your comments with our staff who I am sure will receive them with gratitude and will reinforce their commitment to continue with excellence in service.
Thank you for your preference again and we hope to have you as our guest sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stay in this hotel on a regular basis and are happy with our choice. The rooms, although on the smallish side, are very clean and well kept. The breakfast choice is fine and the complimentary coca tea always welcome when arriving in Cuzco from Lima. The only issue we initially had is that the single beds are not made for tall people (> 1.80m). But after making the management aware of this 'size problem', they were more than helpful and organised for us to get tooms with queen-size beds where one can sleep diagonally :-). Overall we recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travellers alike.

Room Tip: If you are very tall ask for a queen room otherwise you will feel like sleeping in a prison cell :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your comment with us about our hotel!!!!
We apologize about your rooms assigned at the first time but We handled that depending your reservation, however an important thing is We could change to matrimonial rooms with Queen bed.
We hope to see you again and offering the best service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is very nice and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed 3 days in this hotel the only 2 minor problems I found was that the rooms we stayed were facing the front and it was noisy and the rooms were too small for 3 people but they were cozy and clean, the location was great 10 minutes walk to the Plaza, where you can buy many sort of items and eat all different types of Peruvian food or other foods, also is safe to walk around in the morning or night, we shopped for hours during the night time and saw police officers guarding Cuzco city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the excellent review about our hotel. And We are so happy you enjoyed your trip.
We hope to have you back soon at Los Portales Cusco ...!!!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We also went with Gate 1 Tours as part of a package. The Hotel is very clean and reflects it's
charming history. It's right in the middle of the tourist area. We toured Cusco by walking tours
with our very knowledgeable Tour Guide, Raul Fernando. Raul shared a wealth of information
of Cusco and the Inca Culture.

Cusco has lots of aggressive street peddlers, everyone who tried to sell us something claimed
they made the jewelry,or painted the picture. lol Can't blame poor people for trying, we got some hats at very low price 2/$7USD . You need to bargain with them. We also donated to people allowing us to take their photo. As we do in every poor country we visit. As a Photographer, I'm was delighted with picturesque Cusco. Cusco is 11,700 feet above sea level. The Hotel has Green Leaf Tea available for guest all day. The tea helps you adjust.

Room Tip: Go with Gate 1 Tours, let them pick the hotels for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the excellent comment about Los Portales Hotel, and for sharing with us your experience in Cusco.
We hope to have you again very soon with us!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Gate 1 Machu Picchu travel package. The hotel was very clean, room and bathroom were very clean. Our room window opened to the hotel courtyard which was a little noisy for about 30 minutes one evening but frankly people were having fun so I didn't find it annoying. One evening there were two men playing acoustic guitar and a woodwind instrument and it was lovely. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening and it was delicious. Breakfast each morning was nice as well. One day it was raining and the hotel clerk allowed us to borrow and umbrella. Staff was very pleasant and most spoke enough English that communication was not an issue. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAnn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for leaving your impressions about our Hotel on TripAdvisor, We are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay, work much more to give even better service on your next arrival in Cusco.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 169 in Cusco
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Property: LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru (Formerly LP Cusco Hotel)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing