We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, convenient place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

First, ignore the swimming pool rating; there is no pool but (Trip Advisor: fix this!) having ticked one circle it doesn't allow one to delete it.) Los Portales was an ideal hotel for us: Diverse clientele --we avoid "accidental tourist" hotels when travelling abroad--friendly, helpful staff, and excellent buffet breakfast. The urn with fresh--and frequently brewed--coca tea is visible from reception; it really helps in dealing with altitude. We didn't need oxygen but know it is available. The staff is friendly and helpful; English is spoken. The lounge has a large screen TV and several computers; internet service is free and high-speed. Our room on the 3rd floor faced the interior courtyard /atrium and we heard noise from the ground floor once or twice but it was not enough to keep up awake. The hotel is walking distance from the Plaza de Armas (central square) and many points of interest. It is also on a main street so it is easy to grab a cab. If you are going to Machu Picchu, the hotel will store your bags in a secure room while you are gone. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Cusco.

Room Tip: I would ask for an interior room because the street noise it likely to be louder and more sustained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zrodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your excellent comment about Los Portales Hotel and for the recommendation about the acoustic isolation in the third floor, which we already fixed.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 702 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was arrange by our Machu Pichu trekking travel agency.
Very welcoming lobby with hot tea round the clock. Two PC next room with comfortable sofas and nice decoration make this hotel a rare find in Cusco.
Modern elevator with spiral staircase surround it make it quite unique.
Friendly staff made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street, as the hotel is right at the street front and can be noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zrodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your wonderful words about Los Portales and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, short walk to plaza de armas and the breakfast buffet was excellent Also, is located close distance to many other businesses, shopping and convenience stores.

The only complaint I had is that I when I arrived at check in, the staff needed the andean entry card (that document the give you at the airport when you arrive from international flights). I didn't know that it was going to be needed and I left it in Lima at my friends house I didn't want to lose it travelling to cusco, machu pichu etc). To make the long story short they wanted to charge additional fees (tax) because I didn't have this card. I said, but look at my passport stamp is from 4 days ago when I arrived in Peru but they didn't care. My Peruvian friend was with me and she had her Peruvian National DNI which according to hotel staff there was no difference. Well, after negotiating we agreed to meet in the middle and I was going to end up paying half of tax amount. Next morning at check out, the same check in employee wasn't there. I ended up paying the extra tax in it entirely and they said is because your Peruvian friend was in the reservation and they charge that fee to nationals. I mean come on, now they changed the story on me. I feel they only wanted to charge me more.

If it wasn't for that little detail I would've give them a 5 star.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank sdnylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zrodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

The Andean Migration Card it is a requirement according to law.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here before and after our trip to Machu Piccu. We all had altitude difficulties the first day; Coca tea and food helped, oxygen too for my wife. Very extensive breakfast buffet, including puffed kiwichia. We had one room facing the street, another facing the pretty alleyway in back. Room has smoke detector, minibar, desk with lamp and wifi, chair, flatscreen tv, closet, safe, phone, and mirror (look in the closet). It does not have a safe, end table, or sprinkler. Pretty close to walk to the main square, or to shopping, and much quieter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McHenryDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zrodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again, very soon at Los Portales Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A good hotel with friendly staff. The location was ok but next time would stay closer to the main square area. A bit of a walk to cicciolina our favourite cusco restaurant. It does specialise in tours which can mean crowded breakfast. Clean and comfortable although potentially not entirely quiet between rooms. Tour group people though early to bed early to rise sort of groups therefore quiet at night noisier in the morning. Breakfast good. Rooms adequate in size but not large.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you for the comment about our hotel, in regard to noise we have acoustic windows in order to give it a better service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My Husband, I and a Friend stayed here for 3 nights total.
On arrival we where greeted warmly at the door and the friendly staff got us checked in. Our room was on the 4th floor the first 2 nights. The Bell hope took all 3 of our bags then showed us to the elevator. It was a small elevator so there was no room for him and our bags. To our surprise he met us as the elevator door opened on the 4th floor. He had ran up the stairs and got there the same time as we did. After a bit of a rest to get used to the elevation we wandered down the the lobby area and where greeted warmly and asked if wanted some coca tea. They brought us our tea as we found a place to sit. We sat in comfy couches sipped tea, and planned our Cusco adventures. We felt very spoiled and special by the treatment we received the entire stay. The room where always sparkling clean, the linens crisp and, the beds comfortable. The food was always good. We had breakfast every morning and dinner/late night snacks and drinks. The restaurant staff was equally as great as the hotel staff.
We left for one night for our Machu Pichue trip and on our return we where greeted as warmly and showed to our room on the 3rd floor witch was as clean and nice.
We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family planing a visit to Cusco.

Thanks for adding great memories to our vacation.

Karen

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with your windows open be sure to request a room on the outside wall not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPFSPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest.

Many thanks for taking the time to write about our hotel we have it back very soon ... !!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week. And we loved it! Location is great just across The Koricancha Temple, and a few blocks away from the Main Square. Rooms were excellent for the price (breaksfast was included) and specially very clean, the bathroom was renewed and worked perfectly (marble on floors and walls). Service was excellent and all the people working there were very friendly, specially Raul who kept pleasing every request we had. He got us a power cable for my wife´s iphone, that she forgot at home, and some pills for me even at 11pm at night. He´s the greatest. If you have a problem ask for him. We believe we found our returning hotel in Cusco.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renzo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zrodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for staying with us and for dedicating a time for writing a comment about our hotel.

We hope to have you again at Los Portales Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#27 of 171 in Cusco
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru (Formerly LP Cusco Hotel)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $76 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing