We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great value ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Simona Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mama Simona Hostel
Ranked #6 of 401 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place, great value ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here! Fantastic and super helpful staff. Nice room, clean and plenty of hot water. Great location in Cusco, close to everything and the big market but on a quiet side street. Kitchen has lots of stuff so easy to make a nice meal here. Great prices, so overall excellent value.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wawajawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    209
    64
    16
    2
See reviews for
54
227
95
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I have been over 2 weeks in this hostel and let me tell you something ... you will love this place, clean rooms, friendly staff, adorable breakfast and free also, I recommend you this place by far in Cusco if you do not want to spend a lot of money in a 3 start hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

As many people, I stayed here before doing a trek to the Machu Picchu.
The hostel is good and clean. There are various dorms available, all of them are comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and there are hot showers. There are lockers where you can store your luggage while you go on a trek.
There is a comfy common area. Wifi is best in this area. Breakfast is basic (bread is really good and fresh). If you pay extra, you can get eggs and sandwiches too.
The staff is helpful. I arrived in Cusco very early and I got a blanket and could sleep on the couch. Only downside is that there was a lot of confusion on which dorm I was staying. One minute it is possible to stay in a small dorm and the next minute it is not.
The hostel is in a good location; in a quiet side street. About 5 mins from San Pedro Market and 15 mins from Plaza del Armas.
Good place to stay here when going to Cusco.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank askok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Ankara
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place provides a comfortable, quiet option, so you get a good night's sleep and are not far from all that you want to do and see in Cusco. Staff are very friendly; there are always 2 PCs available for guests; constant supply of cacoa tea and the showers are great.

You can stay in dorms or rooms, we chose a double with en-suite and it was fine. This is not a luxury hostel but it is comfortable and excellent value. We were cold in our room and were supplied with an extra quilt without any hassle.

Breakfast is very basic but an omelette or toasted sandwich is only 3 soles extra; the coffee is excellent and the catering equipment is enough for you to cook a complete meal if you desire.

This is a good choice hostel for all types of traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritoninAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place was my temporary home while exploring the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. It was perfect because the dorms were never full, (in March) beds were very comfortable, and the place was super clean. The social atmosphere wasn't the best, but I still met one or two people in the time I stayed there. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to rest and relax before or after Machu Picchu or if you want a hostel with a little more peace and quiet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Cute, great, clean hostel. This was an amazing location on a quiet street in Cusco. The breakfast was very basic unless you pay more for eggs but the coffee was strong and for the most part, the free coca tea was free flowing. The water was always hot and the furnishings were new. I liked sitting out in the living space, it was very flowy and bright. I had a few receptionists during my stay there but the main guy speaks English fairly well and helped my friend and I get a cab to Cristo Blanco.

Before we went to Macchu, we stayed in a 4 person dorm private bathroom and the bathroom was good but with the lack of ventilation there was some mold and mildew in the shower wall. The shower itself was always clean. They hotel allowed us to store our luggage for no extra charge and we picked it up after come back from Aguas calientes.

Some families stayed here and lots of couples. Not a rowdy hostel, which I was thankful for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The best choice if you want to stay in a calm hostel.
People who work in there are very kind.
Excellent location.
Value is fine too.

I recommend this hostel if you are traveling with family.
With you want to party, this is not the best hostel for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mateus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamaSimonaHostel, Gerente at Mama Simona Hostel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for recognizing what Mama Simona Hostel has for you : a calm atmosphere with a friendly staff. Hope you can see again at our house. Safe travels !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#104 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Supertramp Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Simona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Simona Hostel

Property: Mama Simona Hostel
Address: Calle Ceniza 364 | Barrio de San Pedro, Cusco 260408 , Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 401 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Simona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is named after the sacred peak Mama Simona – the only female mountain deity among twelve others surrounding Cusco. Mama Simona Hostel is like a good conversation over a cup of coca tea rather than a wild party; a comfortable and welcoming refuge away from the standard “just-another-hostel” kind of place; simple wooden furniture and lots of room rather than cramped kitschy interiors. Staying with Mama Simona is like being invited into the warmth of a Peruvian home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mama Simona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing