We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit in Cusco if you love Japanese food!”
Review of Kintaro

Kintaro
Ranked #160 of 715 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Fujian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hours:Mon-Sat 12:00pm - 3:00pm (L.O. 2:45pm) 6:30pm - 10:00pm (L.O. 9:30pm)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit in Cusco if you love Japanese food!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Rarely am I compelled to review every good restaurant I visit during my travels. But this place is just brilliant. If you're in need of something other than typical Peruvian food (which I also love to eat), this is your place. Affordable, fresh and absolutely delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    63
    16
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“High quality but low price”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for the BEST Japanese restaurant in Cusco, I highly recommend you this Japanese restaurant "Kintaro". I am sure that you should be satisfied with their great dishes whatever you order. Actually, when I was in Cusco, I visited this restaurant so many times cuz every dishes were perfect.
And then the owner whose name is Daisuke is so unique and lovely person. He told me lots of funny stories. Thx for good meals and great time. PLEASE don't miss here when you visit Cusco!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicaxAnko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi in Cusco”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I was dubious about finding good sushi in Cusco but Kintaro did not disappoint! The Inca rolls were a highlight. The location is a bit tricky to find as it is tucked away from the main street but the setting inside is very nice, simple clean Japanese style. Service was prompt and bilingual. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Ethandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value lunch menu”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This Japanese place is great if you want a change from Peruvian food. The lunch menu is great value for money for 15 Soles. It includes tea, soup, a small salad, and a main (we had teriyaki chicken and rice). The quality of the food is great and the restaurant is nicely decorated. They also serve sushi (we haven't tried) but this is more expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Stephaniedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great quality for a low price!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The main reason I gave this restaurant a 5/5 is because of the amazing price/quality ratio. A collegue had recommended it because I had a hankering for any type of Asian food, and this place only charges S/.15 for lunch.

I expected a cheap but boring (yet tasty) place like the Peruvian "chifas", but was pleasantly surprised by the cool restaurant, great-tasting food, and the nice complementary dishes!

This will definitely become a regular lunch place for the next few months!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kintaro also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Kintaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing