We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little museum!”
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Cusco ChocoMuseo: From Bean to Bar Chocolate Workshop
Ranked #19 of 170 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Cusco, Peru. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Peru. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Peruvian cacao beans. Finally, ChocoMuseo offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate and cacao farm tours to see how real life in a plantation is. A unique experience for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good little museum!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First, I might be biased since I love chocolate so much. This is a little museum. The entrance is free. We went there just to have hot chocolate and buy a few things to bring back home. We ended up getting hot chocolate and chocolate cake. Let me tell you something...the chocolate cake was amazing. We also tried the tea and it was pretty good. We did this the day after Machu Picchu. We were looking for something relaxing to do and this was perfect. If you have kids or the time do one of their workshops. It looked really cool. The kids were having a lot of fun. Stop by if you have some free time while in Cusco.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank i_melendez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    702
    328
    67
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I did a chocolate making class and a Peruvian cooking class here and they were both so much fun! The chocolate drinks here are delicious and the food we made in the cooking class was absolutely wonderful. I definitely recommend taking a class here if you have the time while in Cusco.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Less exciting than you might imagine!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A few displays but really a shop and café and a kitchen area where they will do a mini cookery course to teach people to make chocolate. Sadly we didn't have time for that. We sat at a café table for a while but never did get served.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank colin49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“How can you go wrong with Chocolate?”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A variety of chocolate treats and products available to first sample in some cases and then purchase. I bought several unique chocolate based products. Worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Chocolate History and Cafe”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We walked into the Chocolate Museum after buying chocolate in the kiosk area below.

The history depicted on the walls was very interesting if you area a chocolate lover only. I am and I liked it!

After, we sat down and ordered a chocolate drink with spices, and a cup of coffee in a french press with 3 different chocolate candy flavors. JUST AWESOME! I had energy to spare until 6 pm that evening.

We struck up a pleasant conversation with another traveler from australia thereafter and spent a brief and very pleasant hour there.

DO IT!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing