We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate milk ever”
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Cusco ChocoMuseo: From Bean to Bar Chocolate Workshop
Ranked #19 of 169 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Cusco, Peru. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Peru. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Peruvian cacao beans. Finally, ChocoMuseo offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate and cacao farm tours to see how real life in a plantation is. A unique experience for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best chocolate milk ever”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband said that this was the best chocolate milk he's ever had in his life (and he's had a LOT of chocolate milk). The museum staff is very friendly. When you first walk in, it's a little difficult to tell if you are in the right place. You walk into the shop and cash register and there are usually a lot of customers there confusing things, but if you walk past the shop and into the cafe/museum, it begins to make more sense. They offer you some free chocolate tea (very yummy) and you can wander around the different displays or sit and have some chocolate refreshments. It only takes an hour or so, but it's well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MNCFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,107
    691
    318
    65
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“More of a cafe than a museum, but the class was fun”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

As a museum, there isn't much too it, though really, how do you make an extensive chocolate museum. Given what they had to work with, they did a nice enough job. There were drinks/food for purchase, though I expected much more for sale by way of chocolates. We (two adults) took the chocolate making class and it was fun. It was hands on and good-humored. We were rather hungry when we started but quite full by the end; you get to make a fair amount of chocolate (and you can make many flavor combinations), but you need to come back an hour or more later for it, so plan accordingly. I thought the chocolate was average tasting, but my partner thought it was quite good. The class is only 3 times per day, we took the last one at 4 pm. Oh, there was someone handing out cards in the plaza in front that gave you 5% off, so get one of those!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

not extremely friendly..acted like we were doing them a favor by visiting...Asked after their famous chocolate bread and just responded they were out..not alot of character.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Make your own chocolate candies!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I took the bean to bar class at the ChocoMuseu and had a great time. I learned about the process to grow, harvest, and process coco beans. The chocolates that we made were some of the best I've ever had - a result of the freshness and purity of the product and certainly not any of my efforts. I loved the cocoa husk tea and wish I could find it in the U.S. One thing to note - it takes an hour for the candies to set up and you have to come back an hour after class is over to pick them up, so make sure to plan accordingly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank arcticcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The chocoMuseo is a definite must when in Cuzco. The chocolate-making course is great fun and knowledgeable, and there is an informative museum attached to it where you can learn everything you might want to know about the history of chocolate

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing