We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hostel we stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Ranked #15 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Hostel we stayed in”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I cant really put into words how terrible this place was. They only opened in December and already its in a state. We booked it before we left for 2nights for before the inca trail and then for 4 nigths when we came back. We were given a room upstaris just above the courtyard and the first 2 nights we didnt sleep, the music from the bar travels through the courtyard and then people shouting down in the courtyard till all hours doesnt help. No one from reception asks people to keep quiet only people getting out of bed to shout will keep people quiet and thats for about 5mins if even.
The breakfast is just jam and bread and some tea. The "full irish breakfast" you pay for is horrible.
When we came back from the inca trail we were given a room on the courtyard....didnt sleep again. They then messed up our booking and took all the bags out of the room and left them in the hall with about 20 other peoples. The bags were open and all that was said was that there was a mistake with the bookings and we had to leave. No apology and no offer of our booking fee back. We had to go back the next day and ask for this back. There were also a few questions raised as to the hygiene of the rooms and the beds.....
All said if you want to sleep and have a hassle free stay do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gdeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    149
    57
    31
    22
See reviews for
7
53
105
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Had an amazing first eve, where we were welcomed with free shots of tequila, and afterwards played ´killer pool´ with the whole hostel + staff. Next morning all 4 of us woke up half dead :) Rooms are clean, showers are hot, food is fine although there´s a supermarket next door too. Yeah, those were the days!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhollandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
514 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Best hostel i have stayed in ever... and i have stayed in a few

The only issue is there isnt really a common room, they have a pub which is great but sometimes you just want to chill without being around people drinking.

Great hostel!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Comfortable beds, hot powerful showers, excellent value bar food and drinks and and staff who really make an effort to ensure you have a great time. This hostel is suited to Backpackers who like home comforts and a bit of fun at the same time.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 445 in Cusco
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 445 in Cusco
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 445 in Cusco
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 445 in Cusco
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 445 in Cusco
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rover Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rover Hostel Cusco

Property: Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Address: Calle Cuesta Santa Ana 782, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All service Hostel with suites, pods and private rooms available. The best Irish bar in Cusco on site showing all live sports, amazing food options so you never have to leave the comfort of your accommodation. Games room, TV room, football tennis, big garden and free parking. 24 hour security and not to mention the best parties in all of Cusco. The new Wild Rover has taken hostels to another level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Rover Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing