We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really magic place”
Review of Hostal Magico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Magico
Ranked #194 of 462 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really magic place”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

great place to be, located close to the centre, offers you all you need for a good price. with hint of magic added... it has also its social part so when you stay there you can help with local project!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitakowalczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is really special. From the decor to the personnel, the hostel clearly makes and effort and succeeds to communicate a warmth and sense of fun. Whether you stay here for a few days or many months, there will be a homely yet vibrant atmosphere to envelop you. The beds are comfy, the tv room, computers, kitchen and bathroom all decent, and the lovely little garden is a sunny, quiet haven. On top of all this, you know you're contributing to a good cause just by staying here, as the hostel is linked to the 'aldea yanapay' charity, in which you might also be able to get involved. A definitely preferable alternative to the touristy chain hostels...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

As many of the people who stay here also volunteer in the school affiliated with it there is a wonderful sense of community and the communal areas are always friendly and welcoming. There is free internet access, hot showers and a variety of rooms for every budget and circumstance. The staff are helpful and hospitable and the equipped kitchen means there is the option of cooking your own food if you don't want to make the walk into town. All proceeds, along with the Yanapay restaurant, go to the school, so you're even doing your bit for the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had a great long stay at Hostal Magico. With both friendly guests and staff it was a really enjoyable place to stay and it will also benefit their local school project (which I recommend you check out if you have the time). You won't find another hostal decorated in such a beautiful way anywhere else in Cusco, you'll have all the basics that you need and the company around you will make for an unforgettable time. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staying at the hostal magico was one of my highlights in my trip to Cuzco. Other than supporting a great cause (all profits go straight towards helping a children´s charity), I found the place itself a really rewarding experience....I met some awesome people, and the rooms were soooo comfortable. I stayed in both a dorm room as well as a private and felt totally at home in both. Great atmosphere, the staff is so friendly and really knowledgeable about Cusco and its tourist attractions. And I was so happy to finally find a HOT shower. The open kitchen and close proximity to the market makes dining both cheap and enjoyable, and the free wifi and internet as well as the cozy TV/living room is a plus as well. Overall an amazing experience and I would gladly go back! Highly reccommended to all travelers :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for three weeks and it was wonderful. Everyone I met who both worked and also stayed there were wonderful, open, welcoming. Because the funds of the hostel go to a nonprofit, Aldea Yanapay, the people who stay there are interesting doing great things for the community. You get the opportunity to volunteer with the wonderful and sweet children of Aldea Yanapay. It made my three weeks there wonderful.

The hostel is convenient to Plaza de Armas too so if you want to explore Cusco, like you should since it is an amazing city.

The hostel has great beds, the kitchen is well stocked for cooking.

Stay here and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jswanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I recently spent 10 days at Hostal Magico and found it a great place to stay. There are lots of choices of rooms ranging from singles/doubles to good value dorms. There are 2 x communal areas where you can meet other travellers. The hostel is used by volunteers who work at a local school so there's a very social welcoming atmosphere.

There's also an acceptable kitchen, free internet and Hot showers. The statt at the hostel are friendly,helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Cusco if you want to meet people and get to know a bit more about the town and community.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathbeard44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 169 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 169 in Cusco
1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Magica
Villa Magica
#20 of 462 in Cusco
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 462 in Cusco
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#67 of 462 in Cusco
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magico

Property: Hostal Magico
Address: 534 Calle Fierro, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 462 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magica hostel is part of the Aldea Yanapay community, the same that works with children and families in development and education since 2004, with the aim of providing educational alternatives based on the love and spirituality to our childern, youth, adults and senior citizen. Aldea Yanapay is a cusquenian non profitable organization that works each day for a more conscious and spiritual world. Villa Magica is dedicated to providing hospitality to all human beings who want a cultural exchange. With beautiful green areas, gardens, art, warm rooms, comfortable bathrooms, restaurant, bar, conscious activities such as yoga, drum session or circle of massage, and playground for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing