We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Cusco home”
Review of Hostal Magico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Magico
Ranked #185 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“My Cusco home”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I absolutely loved the atmosphere: the other guests were fantastic company and there is such a homey feel. The beds are warm and cosy, the kitchen well equipped, the bathrooms clean, and there is a wonderful 'library' complete with comfy sofas, tv and fast computers. Located in a less 'touristy' area of Cusco it is still very close to the Plaza de Armas. The hostel is part of a social project, so all the money goes towards this very worthwhile cause, and you really feel like you are part of the whole family. I would recommend this place to anyone, I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hostel is comfortable and clean and, above all else, inhabited and worked by great folks. Proceeds generated by the hostel are used to fund one of Cusco's finest organizations, Aldea Yanapay, and the inhabitants at any given time are a blend of foreign volunteers and travelers -- in other words, a great, constantly shifting community of philanthropic, down-to-earth folks. During the course of several visits to the hostel I've never had a bad experience, and many a hilarious night I've passed with friends and strangers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbahaysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hostel is really nice! I have been staying in the 6 bed dorm room up stairs and it´s so nice. My roommates are wonderful and the company here is always friendly. The beds have big comforters and in the morning it´s so nice and warm sometimes it´s hard to get out into the cold. The kitchen is big and open, helps a lot when there are many travellers trying to cook their dinners. I moved hostels to another location once and only stayed one night because I missed Hostal Magico so much! The location is wonderful being so close to the big San Pedro market and about a 15 minute walk to the main Plaza. I recommend staying here to anyone! They also have a volunteer project working with the local children, it´s hard work but the project is really amazing. If you volunteer you also get a better rate on your room. This hostel is also not a party hostel, which I love. I´m an early bird and I like relaxing in at home :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hostel is very beautiful, the environment is awsome and the rooms are nice too.
But the kitchen is a mess, there´s always missing basic things like cutlery to eat, and all the times there´s no hot water to shower.
They are not honest with the prices, they tell you the prices based on their humor on the day I guess. Some people can pay 25 soles or 15 for the exactly same room and conditions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipityyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hostel is cheap compared to other hostels in the area, and very much worth the price. The beds are super comfortable and it's not noicy so you have a good nights sleep and you're offered a basic breakfast. Really nice, happy and positive staff. The best wifi and computer access I've had on the entire trip. Hot water in the showers.

I'd recomend to stay here not only cause it's a good hostel but beacause your money will support the local childrens-project called Aldea Yanapay (www.aldeayanapay.org).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkfskdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I liked Hostal Magico a lot and enjoyed staying there (for 1.5 months). I liked the personnel a lot, they were all very friendly and also helpful if you had any questions or troubles to solve. I liked the style of the place and of the rooms which gave a really somewhat magic atmosphere to everything. I felt very safe there - which is really important while travelling in South America - and had no worries leaving my laptop or photocamera in the room. I liked the rooms I stayed in and found that they were well furnished - giving you enough space for your stuff. There were 3 computers in the living room, which you could easily use and WiFi worked well nearly everywhere. Showers were maybe the only constraint about the hostel - they were shared and you had to figure out the best times to take a shower in order to get hot water. However this is easy to deal with knowing the time of the day, when less people use hot water (e.g. at noon) - thus I never had to get a cold shower and easily avoided any troubles with that.
Most importantly, the whole atmosphere in the hostel was very friendly and nice, it was easy to get to know people, find someone to travel with or go out with in Cuzco. I'd really recommend the place.

Room Tip: I preferred rooms upstairs, as they seemed to be a bit warmer and sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_eawag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed in the hostal for two weeks and so far away from home I felt like home. The rooms are very nice and comfy - have lots of blankets and nice small ovens to heat up the room. The garden is very nice and arranged with a lot of love.
services like a libery, a kitchen, internet, laundry service, refill of waterbottles (1,5 liters for 1, 50 soles) Tv with loads of DVDs and very friendly staff.
It is not located in the city center and that what it makes it like home. it is near the market plaza san francisco - awesome. the kitchen offers a lot of space and during preparing dinner i got in touch with the volunteers staying there and we had a blast cooking together and talking.
and also the money you spend is a part of the social project aldea yanapay and helps to keep this wonderful idea of education for kids alive!!
JUST LOVED IT!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiseliebhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#109 of 167 in Cusco
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Magica
Villa Magica
#25 of 454 in Cusco
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#71 of 454 in Cusco
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#164 of 454 in Cusco
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magico

Property: Hostal Magico
Address: 534 Calle Fierro, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magica hostel is part of the Aldea Yanapay community, the same that works with children and families in development and education since 2004, with the aim of providing educational alternatives based on the love and spirituality to our childern, youth, adults and senior citizen. Aldea Yanapay is a cusquenian non profitable organization that works each day for a more conscious and spiritual world. Villa Magica is dedicated to providing hospitality to all human beings who want a cultural exchange. With beautiful green areas, gardens, art, warm rooms, comfortable bathrooms, restaurant, bar, conscious activities such as yoga, drum session or circle of massage, and playground for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing