We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped and dirty accommodation with cold water :0(”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Magico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Magico
Ranked #184 of 404 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cramped and dirty accommodation with cold water :0(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in Magico Hostel and were bitterly disappointed with our room and the hostel in general. I had done a lot of research before getting here to try and find a great hostel for our 3 weeks in Cusco. I thought Magico Hostel would be this but it was terrible. The hostel is very small and is shared with many volunteers. The two showers are cold at all times of the day. The rooms are facing the main courtyard so it is often noisy. The kitchen is very small and dirty, dishes were piled high in the sink when we were there. Wi fi in non existant except for the tiny reception room. There are 2 hostel computers but they are constantly in use. Our room was very small, damp, dirty, cold and dingy. The bed was warm and comfortable but this was the only positive about the hostel.

We arrived in Cusco at 4pm, and after getting some food decided to search for another hostel despite feeling very tired from the high altitude. We saw rooms in about 6 hostels and chose Samay Wasi. They have two hostels, we're in number 2. What a difference! For the same money, we get delicious breakfast included, excellent wi fi, really decent clean room and bathroom with very hot showers! We cooked up some food in the brilliant kitchen with two other girls we met and had a great night....so much happier!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent two great nights in Hostal Magico. The owners and staff are friendly and accommodating and also run a charity program for schoolchildren in Cusco. Friendly international volunteers stay long-term at the hostal, and it was wonderful to meet them as well as the short-term travelers just passing through. The set-up of Hostal Magico makes it very easy to meet other travelers.
The hostal is located an easy 10-minute walk from Plaza des Armas in a great location. It has comfy rooms and beds, internet, and communal bathrooms with hot showers.
I would definitely recommend Hostal Magico as one of the best places to stay in Cusco!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I stayed here for almost a week and went to Hostal Magico because of the great reviews I have seen. Some of the money you give to pay for the hostal goes to helping educate children around the area, also the staff are super nice and eager to help. However, I only recommend this hostal if A) You don't mind having to wait to use the rest room because other guests are using it (it has shared bathroom facilities, no private ones), you also don't mind if the restrooms are dirty sometimes. B) You don't mind having a half cold bedroom since the natural heater isn't big enough. C) You don't mind having to take a 10-15 minute walk to the main square (Plaza de Armas), when there are other hostals that are closer and cheaper. If you do not look forward to any of these small issues then I recommend you not to go, but if you are up for these little challenges then you should go and support this place! There's free hot beverages, great attention and a sweet dog by the name of Yanapay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kryzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed in Hostal Magico for about three months and loved it, it felt like a second home. It's a great place for solo travelers, couples and even groups. Wonderful guests, friendly staff -- the hostel is it's own little community and guests often cook, eat or hangout together. There's even a friendly hostel dog, Yanapay. I was traveling solo and it was nice to have others to go out on the town with. Everything is beautifully decorated, very bright and cheery. You'll have all the necessities of home and the price is right. The selling point was knowing my stay helps to fund a local social project. It's a short walk to San Pedro market, shops and restaurants so you have the option of eating out or cooking in the hostel - I did a little of both. As others mentioned it can get cold at night, however there is natural heating and extra bedding which does the trick. The hostel is situated close to popular tourist areas, including Plaza de Armas, but with just enough distance to provide a genuine cusquenian experience. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

The first thing I would mention about this place is the charm that hits as soon as you walk off the street, it's decorated colourfully & has a pretty little courtyard for all guests to enjoy - I knew I would love it when I spotted a guest relaxing on a hammock in the courtyard!
As a first time solo traveller I was a little nervous about staying in a hostel so I paid a little extra for a single room which came complete with ample furniture, double bed & flat screen tv (which I was not expecting). The nights in Cusco get pretty chilly but the hostal do provide each room with a clay pot alcohol burner which I recommend using as it really warms the place up.
The location is convenient for the big market in Cusco where you can buy anything you really need and only 10 minutes or so from the main square.
Cooking facilities are fairly basic at the hostal but definitely sufficient for most travellers needs - eating in Cusco is so cheap I rarely cooked while there.
The other thing about this hostal that made my stay so enjoyable was the staff that worked there, really friendly & helpful to the point that I was really sad leaving them when I had to go home!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

No better place to stay and/or spend your money! Clean, incredibly friendly, helpful staff, loveley dog, nothing, littaraly nothing to comölain about!
Definately worth a stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeloneRosine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

The people working there are very friendly and caring. The rooms are nice but can get cold at night , so remember to use the kerosene placed on the window sills. Go for early showers to make sure there is warm water. If you have a chance volunteer in the school supported by the hostel , it's a great experience and the kids are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luumusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#113 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Magica
Villa Magica
#23 of 404 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#77 of 404 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 404 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 404 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magico

Property: Hostal Magico
Address: 534 Calle Fierro, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 404 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magica hostel is part of the Aldea Yanapay community, the same that works with children and families in development and education since 2004, with the aim of providing educational alternatives based on the love and spirituality to our childern, youth, adults and senior citizen. Aldea Yanapay is a cusquenian non profitable organization that works each day for a more conscious and spiritual world. Villa Magica is dedicated to providing hospitality to all human beings who want a cultural exchange. With beautiful green areas, gardens, art, warm rooms, comfortable bathrooms, restaurant, bar, conscious activities such as yoga, drum session or circle of massage, and playground for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing