We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aldea Yanapay - CLOSED

Aldea Yanapay
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: ALMUERZO BUFFET VEGETARIANO DE LUNES A SABADO A SOLO 10-15 SOLES($4) INCREIBLEEEE Restaurant Aldea Yanapay provides delicious Peruvian ,italian ,marroqui,thailand indu food (with some European favourites) in an unforgettable and unique setting. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the resturant regularly holds music . As well as good food and service, the resturant has the added satisfaction of allowing you to help others whilst enjoying yourself as all profits from the restaurant go towards the financing of Aldea Yanapay's social projects. As such, the restautrant is run with the same care and honest socio economic outlook as the social projects. Thus all employees recieve a fair salary and social benefits, taxes are paid and peruvian products favoured.
FO
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

good food in a NGO doing good for kids in Cusco. The people are nice. good pizza and salad. good psico sours

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    64
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
1 review
“A Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a sweet cafe with a quirky and fun atmosphere. The cause is of course amazing, and the food is delicioso!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I dined here with my wife and daughter last Sunday and left very satisfied. I´m not usually a TripAdvisor writer, this is my first review, but as they are a charity needing publicity I thought I´d make an exception.

The food was very good - I trusted the waiter´s reccomendations and was very glad I did. The ´causas´ and curries were particularly good, and it was the first time I´ve seen a bottle of wine served properly in Cusco - the label, the tasting, the works!

There was, admittedly, a bit of a wait for the food, but the service was exceptional. I heard our waiter speaking at least 3 languages over the course of the evening (including native english), and we had rarely felt so well looked after in a restaurant.

This gets a double reccomendation because of its admirable work within the Aldea Yanapay social project, but it gets a huge thumbs up as a restaurant in its own right! Big tip well deserved!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Needs to spend far more time on the food rather than the decor etc.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked our family Christmas Day lunch at Aldea Yanapay as it looked like a great place to be at Christmas, fun decor, games to play and supporting a good cause to boot. Unfortunately we were the only guests for most of the time which might explain the lack of investment in the Christmas menu plus poor atmosphere.

The promised tomato soup (kids favourite) was not available and we were given very salty asparagus instead. That included the 3 of us that had ordered the wontons with guacamole?!? So much for preordering when we booked. When we mentioned this they made a few up but ran out, the waiter went out shopping and we got more after the main course.

Turkey was very over seasoned and the sides promised like a Waldorf salad were not available. Chocolate cake dessert was left by most and vanilla icecream was replaced by strawberry, no one's favourite flavour.

In over 2 weeks our worst meal in Cusco. A real shame as they look to support a great cause, we even bought muffins in the street from their fundraisers a few days earlier and were inspired by their passion. Just don't eat there!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Makes your taste buds taste allies in a fight for social justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This restaurant has it all. The food makes you want to dance, but you cannot cause it is harder to eat while dancing. The drinks make you want to sing but drinking and singing is difficult, though not impossible. The fact that the restaurant supports a social project makes you want to hug yourself. If you can eat and hug at the same time you are a blessed person.
In all honesty the food is terrific. The presentation is incredible and portions are filling. Happy hour drink specials are both delicious and affordable. The atmosphere is delightful, perhaps even playful, the staff helpful.
I really cannot say enough about the restaurant.

I hope you go. Nowhere else can you go a good thing while eating a good thing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stewart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldea Yanapay also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing