We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel”
Review of Don Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel
Ranked #38 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We move to the Don Bosco Hotel after spending our first night in less-than-ideal accommodation and we couldn't believe the improvement for the same price! Guests are rewarded for walking up the hill with splendid views, a beautifully redecorated hotel, friendly service and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Don Bosco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 182 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Don Bosco Hotel-Cuzco. The staff is very nice, polite and english speaking. We took their advise to rest for three hours and eat a light meal just for that day so our bodies can get use to the high altitude. It helped us alot during our Inka trail for the next couple days. Overall the hotel was great, roomy, clean, good breakfast and a few blocks away from the plaza. We definately recommend this hotel. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just came back from Peru. I have stayed 4 or 5 nights at the Don Bosco hotel and I do recommend. They are all very nice, polite, helpful, english spoken, good breakfast, free internet connection (not available in the second and third floors). They kept the bags while I was doing the Inka Trail.

Recomend very much.

Just take care to walk arround on saturdays night. During the night is better to arrive at the hotel by taxi. very cheap.

Room Tip: I suggest to ask to be located at the third floor. That's because in the second floor, if there...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just returned form our trip to Peru. Stayed 3 nights at Don Bosco. That was the best value for family of 4. Other reviewers already covered most of it:
- service is excellent, English spoken, polite staff;
- breakfast is very good, maybe needs more variety;
- recommendations are honest, we ate at recommended restaurants, ordered taxi to Sacred valley at the reception;
- rooms are spacious, very clean, beds are OK, pillows are hard;
- extra towels given, shampoo, soap included, shower works OK, toilet could be better;
- the location is great, even if you need to walk uphill, as somebody said, prepares you for MP! Close to Plaza de Armas and even ruins (we walked down after our visit);
- the outside noise gets to you. Tricky blind corner is local drivers favorite beeping point (for safety too!). When school is in session, your sleep is cut short for sure. They certainly need double windows and isolated doors. Sleep quality is terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdviseTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Somehow we lucked out when we discovered the Don Bosco Hotel located partway up the road that leads to the Saqsaywaman ruins. We had been looking for hostels recommended by the Lonely Planet guide, but luckily for us, they were filled up. The Don Bosco Hotel is like a palace, with high ceilings, huge rooms, and wide windows. I was able to reside in the 3rd floor corner room, which afforded 3-way views of the Plaza de las Armas, the mountains, and a great deal of the beautiful city of Cusco, all just a few minutes up from the Plaza de las Armas. They gave us a great price (my boys took a large room down the hall) during our non-tourist visit in March-April. The staff was warm, welcoming, and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing (I have got to learn how to make those juices!) Besides just looking out at the amazing panorama, one can enjoy peeking out at the schoolchildren next door as they play in their large asphalt field right next door. Staying at this very economical hotel was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiclover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a nice little hotel with high ceilings and spacious rooms. The hotel is only 5 mins away from Plaza de Armas, but the walk is steep. It can be very hard especially on the first day. However this did prepare us for the trek up to Machu Picchu. We wanted to stay here again after our trek, but unavailability caused us to look for another place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacefugitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

- good location, near la Plaza des Armas (Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco) but uphill
- great building, a former college, very high ceiling rooms
- unbeattable view over Cuzco
- very friendly staff, very knowledgable and helpful
- very very reasonnable price, request a discount from the listed price
- good breakfast
What else are you looking for ?

Room Tip: choose the 3rd floor for better view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#19 of 379 in Cusco
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#29 of 379 in Cusco
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#9 of 379 in Cusco
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 379 in Cusco
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel

Address: Teodoro Huaylupo 104 | Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Bosco Hotel is located in a restored colonial building at the edge of Cusco’s historical centre. It features rooms decorated with a traditional 18th-century floor, some offering panoramic city views.Guest rooms at the Don Bosco are equipped with flat-screen TVs with cable channels, radio and minibar. The private bathrooms include a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing