We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broke my own rule.”
Review of Don Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel
Ranked #39 of 357 Cusco B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Broke my own rule.”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I stayed at the Don Bosco for 5 nights in early May and as much as I'd like to give this hotel a good review because of the kind staff and clean rooms it just cant happen.

As some of the reviews mention the hotel is up a step hill from the main plaza and while I walked up everytime you can take a taxi from the plaza for probably 3 soles ($1.25 US) so being up the hill should be a isssue and it does have a great view, but nowhere in the room can you sit and enjoy is if that was one of the draws. The room has very high ceiling and a small space heater and was clean and made every day, after running the water for about 5 to 10 minutes there was plenty of hot water, the morning breakfast was the standard Euro breakfast which was at times enough to get you going and out the door and the front desk staff was alway friendly and if need be helpfull.


So now for the not recommend part. The first thing you need from a hotel when traveling is a place to get a good nights rest and with the night street noise, the trafic noise from a cross street and being attached to a school where kids are droped off for two hours weekday mornings and then honked too for a goodbye and a traffic police outside blowing a whistle to keep things moving every morning, not to mention the echo of the hallway and as excpected lack of wall insulation makes it almost imposible to get any sleep at all. I also found the bed to be below even the stadard rock hard hotel bed by being lumpy and the pillow actually hurt my head (not sure that's why they were invented) but sleeping in this hotel is almost impossible and because I broke my own rule of staying at hotels that have less than 25 reviews I paid the price. I'm also now very sceptical of the reviews that were dated Feb 03 though Mar 12 as all where in spanish and all just mention great staff great hotel and gave 5 points.

As this hotel did have some good point is it was located on even a half quite location and they get some halfway decient bedding it would be fine. But as it isn't unless you can sleep on a lumpy brick with the noise of school kids and dumptrucks driving by I would recommend this hotel. Sorry Don Bosco!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
58
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

First things first: though it may only be 200 meters from the Plaza de Armas, it's an uphill 200 meters, so it feels quite far (especially for those of us affected by the altitude change). The first half of Avenida Suecia has shops and cafes, but the second half is pretty deserted after dark. I didn't feel unsafe, just that there aren't many other tourists up there.

That said, this was a very clean, well-kept hotel. It is connected to a school (Colegio), and thus the rooms have extremely high ceilings and huge windows with beautiful light. We were there on Easter weekend, so all was quiet, but I'd be suspicious of the noise level on a school morning.

The included breakfast was standard and of good quality. The staff we encountered were friendly, but didn't stand out. Coming from family-run inns in the Sacred Valley, I think we were a bit spoiled by people really making you feel at home. This felt a bit more like a standard hotel.

Good value, nonetheless.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GringaAlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Hotel is situated near the main square of Cusco and the square is easily accessible by one of the two stairs nearby. Hotel staff is friendly but don't give you the best options (taxi to Sacred Valley would be twice as expensive with the hotel as it would be with another hotel, nearest place to get some groceries like water would be quite far away though a slighly more expensive convenience store was located nearby).

Rooms are very high and included a spacious shower and closet. Views over the city are great! The building is connected/part of some school and the rooms are very noisy, even though we were on the third floor we could still hear the doorbell of the reception. Also the floors are noisy so you will hear everyone on the hallway... At 9PM some cleaner was bringing new towels (why? we had some already?) to our room.

Keep in mind the hotel is somewhat higher than the city center so you will have a climb to get back to your hotel or take a taxi... Breakfast is not that great in our opinion, products tasted funny and old in some cases. Coffee and Nachos were fine. There is a 10% charge on use of creditcards.

Hotel is quite cheap for this area/location but you may get a better deal (value for money) at other hotels

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WieMie-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Don Bosco is only 5 minutes far by walk from the main Plaza of Cusco. Hotel is restored colonial building, It is styled traditional 18th century, ceiling are very high like 4 meters. They gave us a very nice room on the top floor with a great view of the main Plaza, like other Hotels in Peru because we are honeymoon couple :) Only thing i can complain about the hotel is that there is not a hair dryer in the bathroom. Room and bathroom was very clean, hotel staff was great. Breakfast was the best as we experienced in Peru. Hotel is all over very good and recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eceko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#82 of 167 in Cusco
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 167 in Cusco
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Triunfo
Hostal El Triunfo
#9 of 357 in Cusco
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
0.4 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel

Property: Don Bosco Hotel
Address: Teodoro Huaylupo 104 | Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Bosco Hotel is located in a restored colonial building at the edge of Cusco’s historical centre. It features rooms decorated with a traditional 18th-century floor, some offering panoramic city views.Guest rooms at the Don Bosco are equipped with flat-screen TVs with cable channels, radio and minibar. The private bathrooms include a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing