We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here twice and the rooms were a good size as were the bathrooms. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant. Only downside with the hotel is location, a 5 minute walk from the square along a fairly quiet street and secondly the size of the breakfast room. I guess we were lucky that we were staying in the low season and seats were available. Wi-Fi while available was slow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear ichibanwanderer ,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    237
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
177
563
70
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was one of my favorite hotel stays ever, if not THE favorite hotel stay I have ever had. The rooms were lovely, the place was charming, the breakfast was wonderful. It was also quiet - something I cherish after traveling Peru frequently, where car horns, barking dogs, and partiers are often cause for insomnia. But the best part was definitely the staff - they took care of us from beginning to end and helped us with every need, sometimes before we were able to ask. My only very slight negative is that it is a few blocks away from the main square in Cusco which is tough to navigate when you have altitude sickness, but that's probably also why it was quiet, so I appreciated that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Holly R ,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you had an "amazing time" during your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGA, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service in a beautiful warm hotel. During our stay we did not once heared word No! Everything we needed the staff was able to give us. Warm bathroom floor and fireplace with fire in the breakfast room was additional bonus in the cool Cusco. And the bed was soo comfortable - because of the altitude and lack of air it's always hard to sleep in mountains so bed was especially important.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JanisLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear JanisLV,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highlight our excellent service.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have spent two nights at this hotel on our way to Machu Picchu. It is located on one of side streets next to the main square - 3 min walk. It does not have scenic views, all rooms face a little patio in the middle of hotel.
The service was helful, breakfast was nice with a lot of fruits. Staff arranged us taxis and transfers at very affordable rates.
Rooms were decorated in Peru style - simple wiht some color highlights. Bathroom was modern and clean - very nice. We booked suite which had small guest room and bedroom. Some fruits were served in the room. The only issue was that room was very cold even with the heater, and we had to stay as much as possible in the bedroom to have at least one room warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Tania L,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The guys at Tierra Viva took great care of us. The room was fantastic, the food was lovely and the location was perfect. Just a short walk to the square where there is great food and shopping and you can also organise your trip to machu picchu at with Peru rail down there too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Lucas S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva an “Awesome Place”.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed three times at Tierra viva Cusco saphi. The staff are just fantastic and are really helpful. They organised a driver for the day to take us to the sacred valley, helped us buy tickets for machu pichu at the official office which is much cheaper than through the agents in town and stored our luggage as we went to and from Cusco. Room was spacious and beds were very comfortable. Hotel is very characterful and rooms are arranged around a series of pleasant courtyards. Location of 10 minutes walk to the main square meant it was quiet at night.
Pack your pyjamas and fleece for the evenings as Cusco can be cold at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie99Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Annie99Manchester,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it is a lovely place to say. I really don't have a bad word to say about them. The hotel staff went above and beyond and helped us with restaurant reservations, taxis...anything we needed, they even stored our luggage for us when we spent a night in Aguas Calientes. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The fireplace and free tea (two varieties) also kept us cozy and warm during the chilly, rainy Cusco weather.

Location is pretty good, about a 10 minute walk from the main square (although uphill in the altitude it can get a bit tiring when you make the uphill trek back to the hotel).

We stayed in two different rooms, both were spacious, clean and comfortable (the bathrooms were nice and the floors even felt heated somehow). The wifi signal was on the weak side, but for us it helped us disconnect from our otherwise over-connected lives.

This is not a full blown luxury hotel but was a truly comfortable and lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear ESB22,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Very Special Place”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#15 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing