We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“what a nice surprise!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, one before doing the Inca trail and 2 nights after. The hotel is ideally located about 3-4 blocks from the Plaza de Armes so you can easily walk to the plaza but you don't get all the noise associated with it. For the price, this was a surprisingly great hotel. It's rated as a 3-star in Peru, but to me, it is definitely a solid 4 star. The rooms are very comfortable, the bed was great, lots of blankets for those cool Cusco nights plus a small space heater if you prefer things even warmer. The bathrooms were very modern and clean. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast was just right, a nice combination of traditional Peruvian and lighter fare, good for those suffering from the altitude. They also have an endless supply of coca leaves and coca tea to help with the altitude. Another nice feature is free wi-fi and free bag storage if you're doing the Inca trail. I would totally recommend this little spot if you want a very nice, comfortable hotel at a great price!

Room Tip: We were with other people so I saw 5 different rooms, all were great - not sure there's a bad ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Nicole_from_Canada,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travellers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    246
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
182
580
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is very nice, they have an internal peaceful patio with a fountain and some tables (although it's cold in July!).
The rooms are spacious as well as the bathrooms; the style is the same of the other Tierra Viva Hotels in Perù (modern, new, clean, with big beds, flat Sat-TV and a safe).
The people working there are very helpful and always available; internet is free and you can print stuff (useful for online check-in procedures for example).
Breakfast is various and good, starting from 5 AM (useful for early trips like Valle Sagrado or Machu Picchu).
It is not really central: just an acceptable walk from the Cathedral, which is OK!
Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear PP,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this excellent hotel for three days, two and then for one night after we overnighted in Machu Picchu. We arrived at about 9am at the hotel and they had us in a room by 10:00am even though check-in was at 12:00 noon. While waiting we were offered breakfast. The breakfast itself was terrific. Simple but a good sampling of local delights set in a cosy room warmed by it's own fireplace. Luis and Denise were warm and helpful when checking in and helping us to settle in. When leaving to go to catch the train to Machu Picchu take away breakfast was prepared (their breakfast starts at 5:00am, a huge boon with the early starts to most sightseeing days). Not needing all our luggage we were able to leave what we did not need in our room that were secured for us at no extra charge. When we re checked-in on our return from Machu Picchu our left luggage was in our new room. When we ordered take-out it was delivered to our room accompanied with cutlery on a waiter. The room was quiet and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The taxi service was dependable and affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better. Parts of the floors are wooden, I imagine the lower floors m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear DineshD,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room and also a suite before/after macchu piccu, the deluxe room although located above the road (one of the rooms above the doorway in the profile pic) it was quiet. The suite was much much larger and definitely worth the extra money, it was located out the rear side of the building and super quiet. the bathrooms are still fitted out the same - and done nicely with big shower heads too.

Breakfast was included w both rooms, with cereal, coffee/tea, fruit, scrambled eggs, avocado etc, nice toasts, croissants, sausages which is more of a variety than usual.

We were constantly pestering the staff - who spoke English - about directions to places, they were great about this and marked maps provided. Main square 10 mins easy walk. Left our bags here while on the trek. This is not backpacker accom but consider spending the extra$ especially if you want a nice clean friendly place to come back to after trips away.

Btw great healthy place to have dinner 'greens' 15 mins walk, have a look on tripadvisor. Best food we've had after a month in South America, which has of course been great for meat etc but is difficult to get healthy food.

Room Tip: Suite 212 is great, out back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Will G,

Thank you very much for your marvelous comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 2 nights, and transferred to Saphi for our 3rd night due to Plaza being full. After our room at Plaza, the Saphi room was disappointing with no windows, and the room was huge, not cozy at all. The hotel was not in as good of a location, had no views from any of the common areas. However, it was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was just as good as Plaza. It was much more quiet then Plaza, though. The funny part is that Saphi cost $10 USD more per night than Plaza. If you have a choice, choose Plaza, but if not Saphi is a good alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkdemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jkdemonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Every Tierra Viva Hotel has different characteristics, and we are so glad to know that you preferred the one in Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza rather than Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,
Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a wonderful, clean, friendly hotel near the Plaza de Armas. The staff was wonderful and "Willy" was fantastic. As others have written the rooms are large, clean with great showers and huge beds. Extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schumis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Schumis25,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing you experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel! Really large, clean, well equipped, well decorated rooms. Hot shower, great breakfast and helpfull staff! Not the closest hotel from Plaza de Armas, but close enough to enjoy the walk. I strongly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaChapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear MariaChapini,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookAssist, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing