We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - great staff, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - great staff, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Free pick up from the airport was good. When we arrived, they gave us cups of tea while we filled in the register. The rooms we stayed in were great - clean, warm and modern with good wi-fi. All the rooms open into shared open air courtyards or balconies, which makes them feel very open and light. My girlfriend asked for some assistance with understanding the instructions with some medicine and the staff took the pamphlet away and typed up and printed a full translation of the whole thing - incredibly helpful. The breakfasts were great - it's a buffet, but good quality and variety - a great way to start the day. It's less than 10 minutes to walk to the main square, but they are doing a lot of development on the road at the moment, so it can feel a little desolate for short stretches of the walk out to the hotel where construction work is ongoing. But that is a small point and one that will be remedied shortly when the work is completed on the buildings. A good place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the hotel are much roomier with higher ceilings, but they get colder (althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ewan H,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    246
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
182
580
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Free pick up from the airport made for a good start. We had a superior room for 5 days plus a day after the trek. Large, clean room which had extra blankets and a heater. It does get cool in the evenings. Breakfast was buffet style with more than enough choice. Coca tea is available all day, to help with altitude. Staff are super friendly. We loved the fact that it was in a quiet location and it was an easy 10 minute walk to the square.
Many of the day tours now leave out Pisac as the road bridge is down. We had an interesting day there on the local bus for 3 soles. Walk across the bridge then get a tuk tuk (1sole) to the market. A taxi to the ruins cost 25 soles. There is a way to walk down which takes 30-40 mins.
Cusco has a great choice of restaurants and coffee shops and always has lots going on. It is very safe as there are tourist police everywhere.
We left our suitcases with the hotel while we were on the trek. They will give you an envelope for valuables if you want to leave items in their safe.
We had a great stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Markate,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 3 days and I always send people there. First day, water was not working due to some work in the whole hotel, it got repaired in 3 hours, though. Bathrooms are nice, clean, and amenities are complete. WiFi is good. Breakfast is delicious since it is buffet and you have everything to choose. Staff are very handy and respectful. Location: 2 blocks from main plaza. It could get dark at night on the streets and not many people walk around. Taxis are available all day and night. Rooms are cozy and decoration is unique. Transportation to the airport is not included but they can call a taxi for you for S/.10 (US$ 4)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GonzaloVillena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear GonzaloVillena,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had three nights at Tierra Viva and we couldn't fault it in any way. All the staff were most helpful, organising transport and tours. We loved the fact that after a long day at Machu Picchu, when we returned to the room the lights and heater were on. Thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohopejoe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear ohopejoe70,

We are so glad that you loved our hotel!

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cusco is a very cool town. We like the location as it's only 5 mins walk to to the main square. The hotel is clean and the staff is helpful. Breakfast is ok, not great. There're a few restaurants/cafe, just a block from the hotel for u to get a quick bite. You don't need to walk to the main square for the restaurants.
There're a lot of steps before we can get to our room but the hotel staff help us to take our luggage.
The only complaint that we had is the TV is too small for such a big room (The bed is too far for the TV remote control to work).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear JJ517,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Tierra Viva for 2 nights at the start and end of our Inca Trail trek and everything about the hotel was just perfect. Free airport pick-up was included with a driver waiting for us as soon as we landed and we were greeted upon arrival at the hotel like old friends. The service at the hotel is exceptional - nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they will go out of their way to help in any way they can.

The rooms are spacious with lovely decor and a fantastic powerful shower - bliss after 4 days on the Inca Trail without a wash!

Breakfast was excellent - buffet style with so much choice. The hotel is in a perfect location about 5 minutes walk from the main square, which meant everything was within a short walk....but you could get some peace and quiet if you wanted to.

When we returned from the Inca Trail at about 8pm, our rucksacks that we had left at the hotel during the trek, were waiting in our room for us and we didn't need to check-in again, which as we'd been up since 3am trekking meant our return to the hotel was made as simple as possible for us.

An excellent choice in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Barbie1976,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Lovely Hotel Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The reviews for this hotel on TA are good but I thought it was OK. We were disappointed after the places we had already stayed in elaewhere in Peru, which were full of charm and personality. Tierra Saphi is trying hard to captu the 'local' flavour but it feels characterless and a bit like a chain hotel. The room (superior) was very small and the only window opened to the courtyard so no privacy if the curtain was open. The bathroom was modern and efficient. The breakfast, adequate.. Not made to order, but a small buffet with pre made stuff. The location - it is just 3 blocks from the main square and that more than a 10 minute walk - but the streetlife deteriorites totally after 2 blocks and there's nothing in the immediAte neighbourhood except condemmed buildings and a large construction site. The staff was excellent, helpful and prompt. If I had to choose a place again in Cusco, i'd prefer a place in a different neighbourhood. Having said that, this location is all set for upgradation and gentrification, looking at all the For Sale signs around!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear kalimata,

Thank you for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We are so sorry that you did not like our decoration. As a matter fact, is the first comment we have received in 3 years of someone that did not like the decoration of our hotel. However, we understand that our travelers could have different tastes.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing