We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Cusco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #12 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Cusco!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi is just a short walk from main plaza. My
husband and I walked it several times a day, just about a five minute
walk. We stayed here 2 nights before going to Machu Picchu. We then
stayed at their other location in Cusco (closer to the Plaza) when we
returned, our bags were moved to the other hotel and waiting in our
room when we returned two days later! Very helpful staff, our luggage
was lost and they called the airport/plane company for us several
times until it was delivered. The breakfast was great, lots of
breads, fruits, meats, cheeses, eggs, sausage, juices, tamales. Lots
of choices and the bread was all amazing! We had a standard room with
a king bed, the bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet, and the
shower and bathroom were very nice. The free pick-up from the airport
was nice too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are on an inside courtyard. Ours was in the second open courtyard and was nice, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear leah828,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    246
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
184
582
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hotel in cusco. Staff is excellent - best we've come across in Peru. Room we had was really nice. Free one way airport transfer was a nice bonus. Walking distance to main plaza where there are tons of restaurants, etc. Breakfast was okay - not much variety/options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMksWorkWorthIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TravelMksWorkWorthIt,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night after our 4-day Inca Trail hike. It was about 3 blocks from Plaza De Armas. About a 10 minute walk. It is not a bad walk but I did wish it was maybe 1-2 blocks closer to the main square.

After the Inca Trail, the room here was pure heaven. Alot more spacious than the room we had at the Cusco Plaza hotel, and the bed was humongous, like a california king bed. The bathrooms were also newer looking and the shower was big--and the water jets from the showerhead was so relaxing. Plenty of space and comfort. I guess this is the extras you get for walking the extra 1-2 blocks. I have zero complaints about the room--it was fantastic.

The buffet style breakfast was the same selection as the Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza and is also 5-10AM--hot foods like scrambled eggs, tamales, sausages, and cold items like fruit, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal. A good mix for complimentary breakfast. One difference I did note was that while the Cusco Plaza location truly kept serving breakfast until 10AM (even at 9:45 items were being refilled), when we arrived at breakfast at the Saphi hotel location between 9:15-9:30, there were no more plates or glasses, hot foods were pretty much gone and things weren't being refilled anymore. We had to ask the staff to bring out plates and cups for us. This wasn't a huge deal to us, but just something to note for future visitors--get there a bit earlier.

After certain hours you need to use the doorbell to get into the hotel. This was a bit awkward for us. We had stayed out for dancing at Ukuku's and when we tried to get back in, there was a bit of a communication issue with the lady answering the bell. She kept asking for our room number...which I must have repeated about 6 times but I guess she did not understand--not sure if it was how I was saying the numbers or if the intercom had too much static. And then she started speaking to us in Spanish which we regretfully could not understand. After several minutes of standing outside trying to tell her what room we were guests in, we were let in. On one hand I'm glad there is security...on the other hand...how to avoid this awkward communication?

Since we had a late departure, the hotel was helpful in holding on to our larger bags until we needed to head to the airport. They even pointed us to their lobby restrooms in case we need to use it, and arranged our taxi to the airport for us (which helps ensure we didn't get ripped off). The 24 hour coca tea by the lobby desk is always a plus. I would recommend this hotel overall. Other than a 1-2 minor awkward points, this hotel was extremely comfortable, a decent location, and the staff is helpful when you request assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sweet P,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

We will review de issue you have referred in your comment regarding the intercom and solved as soon as possible.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

TIerra Viva Saphi is a nice hotel. Rooms are good size with mordern decor. Good for family of four. Hotel is very close to Plaza Aramas but still in a quite an peaceful area of the city. Definitely worth for the money and would return here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear FunTourist,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here twice, for three nights in total (and in two different rooms) on our honeymoon

It's not the most luxurious of hotels, but it is good value for money and makes a good launch pad for seeing Cusco and the surrounding area. The location is good, a safe and relatively short walk (ten minutes if you are taking it easy due to the altitude) from the main square and slightly further from San Blas where some of the best restaurants are (MAP and Cicciolina both very highly recommended!)

Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast is filling with a reasonable selection of cold food (less so for hot food) and the ever-ready supply of coca tea in the lobby is a life saver when trying to acclimatise to the altitude

Rooms were comfortable enough, very spacious and with nice bathrooms. The hotel was quite quiet so easy to get a good night's rest. The internet was a bit slow and unreliable but we didn't travel half way round the world to sit in our room in front of a computer screen so not such a concern! We did leave with some odd bites after one of our stays, the origin of which we are still unsure of but reading other reviews clearly not something that has affected other travellers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OL_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear OL_London,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi has a great location only three blocks from the Plaza de Armas. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and efficient. I appreciated the complimentary hot coca tea available 24/7 in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32655DavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear 32655DavidB,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Their Scrambled eggs are the best we've had. 24hr coca tea was much appreciated.
Lovely wide beds, so comfortable! The reception staff spoke excellent English and assisted us very well.
We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosWaimea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear RosWaimea,

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much our scrambled eggs, beds and our staff.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra
Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookAssist, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing