We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis in Cusco”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights before and two nights after doing the Inca Trail in September 2012. It's a great place with friendly staff. Both of our rooms were great - really comfortable beds, fabulous bathrooms with the best showers I've experienced in South America. The staff looked after our bags while we were away on the Inca Trail, and the bags were waiting for us in our new room when we got back. The free wifi was mostly good, but a bit patchy. Most of the time it worked fine. The breakfast was nice, although pretty standard for Peru. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the main plaza (about 3 blocks) which occasionally felt a bit far, but overall it is as a great place and well worth the extra walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiewoosie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear susiewoosie27,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for considering us a “Peaceful Oasis in Cusco”.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    244
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
182
578
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Overnight stay 19th September 2012 after arriving from Macchu Pichu. Only a little way from the main 'plaza de armas'. Prebooked for me by my tour firm. A delightful hotel with smiling reception staff who spoke very good english, it was a sanctuary from dust and heat. My room was directly off the little enclosed courtyard, with a beautiful fountain. All amenities were clean, really comfortable, with new TV, safe included... I was impressed. A map provided, I soon found my way to suitable eateries and did not feel threatened walking at night. Prior to leaving for Lima the next day there was a well supplied breakfast buffet, then staff held my case while I toured the Incan Imperial Capital city of many hidden treasures. The only thing I had to ask for was someone to unlock the safe which I managed to jam shut with my passport inside (it was secure alright)...oops! Not a problem and done with a smile. Only downside was no restaurant (B&B). I would love to have eaten dinner without having to venture out after a full on day. Would highly recommend, and would be happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianM109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Gillian M,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is really near the main "plaza de armas", it's clean and really cofortable. The rooms are big and modern. The staff is professional and kind. The best way for enjoy your vacation in the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisewin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear elisewin83,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again very soon at any of the Tierra Viva Hotels

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for 3 days before doing the Inca Trek and a night after. We stayed in a superior room, which was very clean, spacious and the beds and pillows very comfortable. Breakfast is available from 5am, which was good for those doing the Inca Trek, and cocoa tea is available for free in the lobby.

The staff spoke perfect english and were extremely helpful in organising tours, guides and taxis upon our request. Upon checking back into the hotel after the Inca Trek, we were told that our bags had already been placed into our room, which I thought was especially considerate.

The only downside would be the showers. The temperature would often fluctuate slightly, I assume due to other people using the water. This is something I could put up with though, and wouldn't stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Jozae,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering us a “Great Hotel”

We hope to have the opportunity of having you again at Tierra Viva in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the very beginning of our trip through Peru and Bolivia, and this place definitely rates amongst our favorites of the vacation. Our room was located on the top floor of the inner courtyard, was perfectly clean and without disturbing noise, wifi and even satellite tv also worked fine. Staff was very friendly and helped us organise some of our transport without any issues. They also made sure our bags were transferred to the other Tierra Viva hotel in Cusco while we were visiting Machu Picchu. A nice breakfast and airport pickup are included.
The hotel is located in a calm street and only a short walk from plaza de armas - a perfect compromise between central location and silent nights...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissInBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear SwissInBrazil,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for rate us as your favorite place during your vacation.

We are so glad that you enjoyed so much Tierra Viva and we hope to have you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I and my husband have been in Cusco and we absolutely love it! The people, the festivities, the food, and the markets were all an adventure for us. We stayed at this lovely hotel called “Tierra Viva”, which I think it means “live earth”. It is located in Saphi-Cusco. It was a very nice, clean, and comfortable place. After a long day at Machupicchu it was so nice to see the friendly people who work there and to have a room with a king bed waiting for us. We stayed there only for a few days, but Miss Edith, a lovely young lady who works at "Tierra Viva", was very kind and helpful with us. She recommended us some places to eat and to shop. It is always nice to talk with her. My husband is a very demanding person and I really appreciate Miss Edith's patience with us and her professionalism. I really hope to go back to Cusco again and I would definitely stay at the “Tierra Viva Hotel”.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear MH D,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for recommending us to the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed so much our service and we hope to have you again very soon at any Tierra Viva Hotel.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here one night before leaving Cusco. Hotel was very clean and the service was great. Staff very friendly. Breakfast had a nice selection and was fresh. Seemed like it was a 10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, or about 3 blocks. We liked the location. On the way back from the Plaza de Armas it is a walk that is all uphill, although it is gradual and not steep. A police station was very close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear BryanE,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering us a “Very Nice Hotel”

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookAssist, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing