We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel near Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #23 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is not only a beautiful historic hotel but one that is very comfortable and modern as well. Our room was the most well-appointed of all the ones we stayed in during our trip to Peru, well-arranged with plenty of storage and a great bed. Even the lighting was convenient for reading in bed. The bathroom was generously sized. Within the hotel, there are sitting areas that would be wonderful gathering places if you are travelling with a group, and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Finally, the hotel is very close to the Plaza del Armas, shopping, and restaurants. Since we had decided to devote our last day in Cusco to shopping, this was an ideal location--and it was on a fairly quiet street. The staff was always gracious and helpful. Definitely a strong recommendation for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Tierra Viva for a total of 6 days. They picked us up at the airport. As soon as we got to the hotel everyone was so nice. They even showed us two different rooms and let us decide which one we wanted. We went with the one that has a little balcony. If you are a light sleeper do not choose this room. It's beautiful, but there is a bar in front of the hotel and you might have problems sleeping a night. Location is perfect..you are right by the Plaza de Armas. You can walk everywhere! Breakfast is served from 5am-10am. This is great is you are taking the train or have any tours early in the morning. We left one night to Aguas Calientes and got back really late the next day. They kept our luggage and took care of my laundry while I was gone. Our luggage and laundry was already in our room. We just had to pick up the key. We used the 20% off coupon from Tripadvisor. It saved us $100! If you are going to Cusco Tierra Viva is your best choice. I can't say enough good things about this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_melendez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear i_melendez83,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is situated just around the corner from the Plaza de Armas. The experience was fantastic, the staff were cheerful and very helpful, we were greeted with coca tea upon arrival to assist with altitude sickness, and when they provided meticulous directions for obtaining a new immigration card (which I had lost). The rooms are small but clean and tastefully decorated, had comfy beds, hot water and included a safe and column heater, which was very much appreciated as it was freezing at night! Wifi was a bit non-existent in the room itself, but worked fine once you ventured into the main area. Very pleasant experience, would have stayed longer if I had the $!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabsLiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Kavingy,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travellers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect. It is in the middle of the town center and the employees are simply perfect! Their attention to detail and service was appreciated. I trekked the Inca Trail and booked another hotel when I returned. Tierra kept my bags and I found my bags inside my new hotel room when I arrived. Also breakfast was great. This is a great pick.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoettaKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear JoettaKeene,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considerin Tierra Viva an “Excellent Hotel”.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco plaza for a total of 5 nights. 4 nights prior to hiking the Inca trail and one night following. We were overall very happy with our stay. The first time we were in room 103, which was fine, but did get a bit hot at night without use of the heater. Fortunately, it was very quiet, which we appreciated. My parents stayed in a larger room--5th floor, which had an amazing view. Upon our return, we had room 301. We could hear the club next door, but that was easily masked by my white noise app on my iPad. We returned late from the hike and with 9 other family members (6 total hotel rooms), and we were relieved and grateful when we found that the staff had already put our luggage in our rooms and checked us in. Very helpful.

Pros: location
Accommodating staff
Clean
Great breakfast
Reliable wifi

Cons: some rooms are noisier or less inviting than others

Overall, good for the price and we highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Drstacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Drstacyf,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Note that there are two Tierra Viva hotels. We stayed at Cusco Plaza, which is closer to the historic district than the other one.

My wife and I used Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza as our base camp during our two weeks in Peru, staying for a total of five nights - three nights acclimating before starting our Inca Trail trek, one night between the Inca Trail trek and our Manu tour, and then one night after our Manu tour in preparation of heading home. We couldn't have been happier with our stay!

The staff was amazing!!! They helped us when LAN Peru delayed delivery of our luggage, held our luggage when we were out on excursions outside of the city, had our room completely set with our luggage waiting for us upon our return from each excursion, had great breakfast and coca tea, and genuinely cared about how our stay was. Many thanks to everyone at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Adam G,

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay at Tierra Viva.

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Which normally wouldn't have been an issue, except that I received many emails from the hotel saying that they offered a free pick up service. I provided them with our flight # and confirmed several times prior to our arrival in Cuzco. The taxi people told us that they send taxi's to Tierra Viva everyday, and to not expect the hotel to pick us up. I was sure they would come eventually, and after an hour and a half of waiting, and calling to hotel, and having them tell us "10 minutes, well be there" we got in a cab and headed to the hotel. The hotel compensated us for the cab ride, but an hour and a half of our already short vacation was wasted.

Otherwise, this hotel had the best bed, shower, and breakfast of any place we stayed in Peru. A little noisy, as the walls were thin, but we learned that this is pretty typical in Peru.

Location is 1 block from the main Plaza.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies are cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkdemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Jkdemonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had with your airport pick up, and we can assure that we will investigate what was the cause of it and solve it in order to assure that this problem will not be repeated with other traveler.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#29 of 172 in Cusco
1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $79 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookAssist, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing