We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable hotel marred by it's architecture and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #26 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in four locally owned hotels during our 15 days in Peru recently, and while we were very happy with all of them, the Tierra Viva hotel in Cusco was the most comfortable of them all - the beds had plenty of covers and pillows, and you didn't have to ask for extra blankets or for a heater. The hotel keeps these items in the room. We were very happy with our room's high ceiling and stylish decor. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was very helpful in setting up transport from the train and to the airport. The location was excellent. Unfortunately, a thundering discotheque is right next door, and the noise is horrendous. After the disco noise died down each night, a loud, belligerent drunk shouted in the street every night of our three-night stay - we saw him in a doorway on the street several times, and he seems to be a fixture. Moving from a room that is exposed to this noise may cause you to be placed in an inner room that has windows that look into the small interior courtyard, so you will probably have to keep your blinds closed and the windows closed for any privacy. The breakfast is very nice (starts at 5 am since many trekkers must leave early). I'd love to give this property a 5, but the surrounding environment makes this a poor choice for a restful stay. I would suggest hotels farther away from the plaza.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room away from the noise of the disco and the street. One of the inside rooms i...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear TySeattle,

Thank you so much for your comment and for having stayed at our hotel.

We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant sleep in our hotel that is a primary characteristic of Tierra Viva properties.

As you have mentioned in your review, our hotel has a really central location, just a few steps
from Cusco´s Main Square, and for that reason and our travelers suggestions, we have put a double sound proof system in all the rooms that face the street.

We cannot know exactly in which room you stayed in. Yet, reading your comment, we assume that was one of the ones that face Procuradores´ Street, where we have installed the double soundproof system and we have not received any noise comments after that. Thus, either you have stayed at our hotel before we installed the system or the window was not closed properly.

Once again TySeattle, thank you for comment and we hope you can try our hotels again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a wonderful four night stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and extremely friendly. The rooms are small, but well designed. Breakfast is plentiful and the hostess is very eager to please. The location is right off the main Plaza in Cusco, so you are close to all the sights to see. Restaurants are right around the corner. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this gem to anyone visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_K_NorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, General Manager at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear B_K_NorthCarolina,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and for recommending us to the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay with us and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza is perfectly located and is a very nice boutique hotel. The breakfasts were great and it was a comfortable launching pad to see the city of Cusco. I would certainly ask for one of the quiet rooms away from the discos/bars that seem to share a wall with one side of the hotel. These bars play music loudly and prevented me from getting a good night sleep. On Friday, they play loud music well past 2am. The noise was the only issue, but the stay at the hotel was overall good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCJmO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, General Manager at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear DCJmO,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Director General
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was a bit of an oasis for us. We arrived after the 10 hour bus ride from Cusco, and then again after a home stay on Lake Titicaca during which we were a little sick from food/altitude/motion/whatever. So both times coming to this fresh and clean hotel was a welcome relief. The staff were very, very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless. There was a mechanical problem with the toilet but it was fixed immediately. The location is good, just a block or so from the Plaza and a block from banks, restaurants and a pedestrian mall. I don't think you can go wrong here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortstop44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was myy favorite hotel during a recent trip to Peru. I'm very particular about customer service and the staff here was excellent.They were very attentive to our needs, helpful, and very friendly. We stayed here for one night, went to Machu Picchu for a night, and then came back for another two nights. Both rooms we stayed in were very clean. The hotel also has a great location, being right off the main square and steps away from several restaurants, atms, and the PeruRail office.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaMaryJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear PriyaMaryJames,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

It is an honor for us to be your favorite hotel during your trip to Peru.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great little hotel right off the Plaza de Armas. Clean with super cozy rooms that's walking distance to everything! The included breakfast is a nice touch, as was the airport pickup. Super friendly staff that were able to accommodate our every need including helping us to organize an excursion! Well worth the money. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney5610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Sydney5610,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of traveleres.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you like dark rooms with no windows, this is your hotel. To add to your discomfort there is a very noisy restaurant next door that plays loud music. And if you are unlucky enough to get one of the rooms under the lobby (rooms 201, 301, 101) your cave will be literally under the road, and you'll add cobblestone road noise to your overnight symphony. You'll probably be coming or going to Macchu Pichu. So don't underestimate the need for a good night's sleep in your hotel.
The staff is lovely, but they can't overcome the limitations of this property. Plus, there are so many lovely open-courtyard hotels in this town you don't need to suffer here. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_L35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear David_L35805,

We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay at our hotel.

The noise you are referring in your comment was due to the opening that day of a new restaurant near our hotel that has overpassed de levels of sound permitted by the Municipality of Cusco. We have talked to the owner of that restaurant and also to the Municipality and the problem has been solved.

Once again, we strongly apologize for the bad night that you had during your stay at our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $78 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookAssist, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing