We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Wonderful boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #26 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow! Wonderful boutique hotel!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Such a joy to find this gem of a hotel right near the Plaza del Armas. Beautifully decorated, charming, well appointed hotel with excellent service. Greatly enjoyed the modern feel that was still cozy and welcoming. The hotel is quiet and lovely, although you may get street noise coming from the busy restaurants and clubs nearby.

This was a wonderful place to refresh and relax during our tour of Cusco, Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. We requested to stay here because of the good reviews received (and mixed reviews of the hotels listed with our tour company) and it was no problem for our wonderful tour compay Machu Travel Peru to make the change and arrange for us to stay at Tierra Viva. I think everyone should stay here to make the most of their time in this delightful city. You will enjoy the great location, also.

A special thanks to Janet, Jorge and Jovenal for extra special service and to the ladies in the breakfast area for a delicious breakfast and wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dogsinthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear 3dogsinthecountry,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, at any of our
hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    294
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
153
591
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel is part of a new chain called tierra viva. they have hotels all around. this particular one is brand new 3 months old. it is in an old inca building and has been remodelled to suit. the design is very good and interesting. the staff are great always ready to help. it is very clean with all the mod cons wifi cable tv etc... the location is perfect very closed to all the attractions. the only thing i think might be a problem is that there is no phonic insulation, so you hear everything and being and old building full of courtyard it echoes quite a bit. the other challenge for the management will be to be able to maintain such a good standard over time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didier v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear DidierV,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

As you have stated in your review, we are a new hotel chain with hotels in Cusco, Arequipa, Puno and very soon in Lima.

Once again thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, at any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Tierra Viva hotel was perfectly located just metres from the Plaza des Armes but very quiet and comfortable. It is an intimate boutique hotel, with a delightful view across the tiled roofs of Cusco from the upstairs lounge. The room and bathroom were comfortable and well equipped and very quiet at night. You rarely encounter your fellow guests except at the breakfast buffet, which is pleasant and ample. It is very central to the museums and restaurants of Cusco. The hotel includes airport pick-up in its tariff which is welcome. The staff were helpful and arranged cabs to and from the railway. Late at night on our return from Machu Picchu it was great to have someone waiting for us. The interior courtyard lounge is a charming spot for a quiet beer!

Room Tip: The rooms appeared consistent across the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear MacSydney_Australia,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about our hotel and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, many thanks, and we hope to see you again at any of our hotels very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 separate nights each at this hotel. Its a quick walk down the tiny side streets to the beautiful plaza. Restaurants surround the hotel for blocks. The hotel staff is very accommodating. Excellent at assisting with bags if needed, arranging transport, even finding a cell phone left in a cab.
The rooms...Understand that this hotel, like most in the area, is built in what must be an ancient building. That requires some ingenuity on the part of the hotel owner. I stayed in 3 completely different rooms, each very unique and comfortable. Soft, warm beds, excellent towels and bath items. I will say that the room my first night- their base room- was a bit small for my enjoyment. When I mentioned this to the staff on checkout, I was moved to much larger rooms for other nights I stayed. Again, excellent service.

Room Tip: I feel like every room there is different. Ask to see a couple, the rates are not significantly more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gromets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Tierra Viva with my boyfriend for 4 days this month. What a lovely hotel! super cute and great location right off the center square of Cusco. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only negative about our room was the actual location of the room- ours faced a very busy nightlife spot in Cusco so you could here people partying and bands playing etc. so if you can't stand noise request an interior room or one facing the front of the hotel (we weren't really bothered by it). The breakfast was very fresh as well. Also our driver who picked us up fronthe airport was wonderful! Jesus helped us plan our Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu trips, he did everything at a very reasonable price, very organized. overall LOVED this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mmhele,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place was so great! we loved our stay here, very warm and cosy, staff were lovely, food was good, bed was comfortable and room was well decorated. It was a lovely little boutique on a quiet street very close to the main square with many shops and restaurants, location was perfect. The hotel had a beautiful little terrace with great views and was fun to explore, many little passageways and staircases- all underground. They had a fire when we stayed, it was nice to sit in front of the fire after a hard day. We loved it and would definitely return. The free pick-up from the airport was also nice- good to know someone is waiting for you rather than fighting the taxi drivers away and knowing you will be ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freya t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear freya t,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva wth the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon at any Tierra Viva Hotel.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a really nice/great experience! Everyone that I encountered that worked at the hotel were all wonderful, thoughtful & very helpful! The hotel was very clean and the rooms, albeit small in size, were comfortable and clean which was important to me. I was in room 102 which seemed at first like its way down in the "basement" but it actually worked out because it was nice and quite.

The hotel is located very close to the Plaza of Arms... its actually not facing the Plaza but found on a small side street that is less than a 3 min walk to the Plaza where all the restaurants are located. The street is not scary at all... As a women traveling alone, I always felt safe but of course like in any place in the world you always have to be aware.

The staff was always beyond helpful and I can't thank them enough for being so thoughtful and making my first traveling alone experience great! Janette, Juvenile, Miguel, Flor and el senor Abram and anyone else I am forgetting (si me recuerdo bien) muchas gracias por ser tan amable conmigo que pase un tiempo inolvidable en su hermoso Cusco!

Overall I really recommend this hotel. I spent Dec30-Jan3 in Cusco and completely fall in love with the city & the people!

Room Tip: Because Cusco is 12,000 ft having a room on the first floor... lobby is on the 4th... was harder tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanstongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing