We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!! WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place was so great! we loved our stay here, very warm and cosy, staff were lovely, food was good, bed was comfortable and room was well decorated. It was a lovely little boutique on a quiet street very close to the main square with many shops and restaurants, location was perfect. The hotel had a beautiful little terrace with great views and was fun to explore, many little passageways and staircases- all underground. They had a fire when we stayed, it was nice to sit in front of the fire after a hard day. We loved it and would definitely return. The free pick-up from the airport was also nice- good to know someone is waiting for you rather than fighting the taxi drivers away and knowing you will be ripped off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freya t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear freya t,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva wth the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon at any Tierra Viva Hotel.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a really nice/great experience! Everyone that I encountered that worked at the hotel were all wonderful, thoughtful & very helpful! The hotel was very clean and the rooms, albeit small in size, were comfortable and clean which was important to me. I was in room 102 which seemed at first like its way down in the "basement" but it actually worked out because it was nice and quite.

The hotel is located very close to the Plaza of Arms... its actually not facing the Plaza but found on a small side street that is less than a 3 min walk to the Plaza where all the restaurants are located. The street is not scary at all... As a women traveling alone, I always felt safe but of course like in any place in the world you always have to be aware.

The staff was always beyond helpful and I can't thank them enough for being so thoughtful and making my first traveling alone experience great! Janette, Juvenile, Miguel, Flor and el senor Abram and anyone else I am forgetting (si me recuerdo bien) muchas gracias por ser tan amable conmigo que pase un tiempo inolvidable en su hermoso Cusco!

Overall I really recommend this hotel. I spent Dec30-Jan3 in Cusco and completely fall in love with the city & the people!

Room Tip: Because Cusco is 12,000 ft having a room on the first floor... lobby is on the 4th... was harder tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evanstongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent little hotel with fantastic customer service.The rooms were very nice but the best part was the location next to the main square. There was limited facilities but you are here to see Cusco , and enjoy the sights and sounds of the city.

The only reson for not giving 5 was the fact that there was little in the way of soundproofing.in Dec it got a little hot in the rooms and the windows faced into the hallway, so you kept them closed unless you didnt mind noise.Even closed you could hear thing in the hallway and outside the building. So until 12am the rooms were a little hot and then they would cool down as the temperatures dropped.

However- we would definitely stay here again if we returned to cusco

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear mmsaf,

Thank your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again, in any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Tierra Viva two nights in mid-December. The location cannot be beaten. It's 100 m from the Plaza de Armas, in a quiet, little street. Fantastic service and advice. Free pick up from the airport (no drop off, though). We stayed in room 204. Very nice, cozy and quite big with a mezzanine, which we didn't use. No window (except on the inner patio), but a velux (with an electronic blinder) that lets natural light in, so you don't feel claustrophobic at all. The room can get a little noisy at night since the room gives on the inner patio and a few guests passing by to get to their room. Breakfast is good, although not great for my European taste. Dried coca leaves to prepare a real mate. LIMO restaurant down the street, overlooking the PLaza de Armas is a fantastic place for lunch and dinner. Actually some of Cuzco's best restaurants are within a 200 m radius (LIMO, Greens, Inkazuela, Chi Cha). Yes, like Tierra Viva, these venues are in the historical center, where all the tourists are, but those who consider them as touristy, unauthentic, and overpriced are actually being snobbish and missing out on great Peruvian Fund.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titi338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear titi38,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Tierra Viva, and for recommending us to the rest of travelers.

We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at 3 Tierra Viva hotels during my trip to Peru and this was by far the best. The main reason being that its design was more of a boutique hotel than a standard modern hotel. The courtyard was awesome and you felt like just sitting there and relaxing.
1. Staff was very friendly and cheerful
2. Location was excellent, 1 block from main square. The view of the town from the main lobby is amazing
3. Breakfast options could be expanded. I am a vegetarian and also do not eat eggs. There were no real options apart from toast or cereals. I stayed at 3 other hotels (not Tierra Viva) in my trip to Peru (similar budget) and all of them had 1 or 2 veg dishes that I could eat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard on lower floors are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngupta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear ngupta83,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.
We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Back in August 2012 I visited the hotel and had some problems (see my last review) however the general manager offered me the opportunity of visiting them again, at no charge, so I could have a second opinion. I am writing again because my family spend one night (four persons) at no charge and they had an incredible time. The food was amazing, the transport was on time, the room service was incredible and the most important, they fix all the problems I reported before. Generally in most hotels after you report a bad experience they contact you saying that they will fix everything and that you should come back to visit them, however they never execute improvement actions. In this hotel they corrected everything and they gave a free night for compensating our bad experience.

Definitely this show the great team they have on the hotel!

I

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Andres V,

Thank you so much for you excellent comment and for recognizing our improvements after your last tripadvisor´s review.

At Tierra Viva, we always read every comment and recommendation from our travelers and make corrections and improvements in our service when is necessary.

We will always listen our guests, because we strongly believe that is the best way to continuously improve our customer service.

We are so glad that you changed your impression about Tierra Viva and we hope to have you again, in any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful, beautiful little hotel very close to the Cusco Plaza de Armas. Right in the middle of the historic center of Cusco with great restaurants nearby. The staff is as friendly as can be. They had a driver pick us up at the airport (Jesus) who was very helpful in arranging tours around the city and to the sacred valley. Also gave us very helpful tips for getting around. Great, comfortable room, free wifi and breakfast included in the price. A bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear jdtb,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $72 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing