We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #25 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with Perfect Location”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, located just steps to the main square in Cusco. It is also on the road that leads up to the Inca fortress that overlooks the town. The room was clean and the staff are very helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffett was above average. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which has a fabulous view of the town of Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear PeterS27,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    294
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
153
591
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in december 2012 and we absolutley loved it!! The rooms are beautiful and spaceous and the hotel is really close to plaza de armas so you can enjoy all the restaurants and bars but not too close so you can relax and sleep all night. The staff are really nice they help us booking restaurants and made are stay more wonderful they are all really friendly. We simply loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marisavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear marisavela,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I stayed here a couple weeks ago and fell in love with this boutique hotel and were really impressed by the staff. We booked the top floor suite (above the lobby). I would strongly recommend this suite, or the suite off the lobby. Both these two suites have spectacular views of the city skyline. ours had a floor to ceiling window you could open and feel as though you were sitting outside. AS tyhe altitude sickness hit me on the first and second day we were there, I spent more time than expected resting in the room and was really glad we had spent the extra money for this suite. We enjoyed just watching the clouds move across the horizon and the shifting lights on the skyline, something we could do from the comfort of our bed. The suite was beautiful and super-clean. The only small issue was the noise from the disco up the road...but it was not as loud as I worried it would be and I had no trouble sleeping, nor did my husband and daughter (I always travel with ear plugs as I am a light sleeper, but they do not and managed to sleep without problems). It is true that most of the regular, cheaper rooms below the main floor lobby appear to only have windows that open into the two covered courtyard areas--we recommend that you spend the extra money to get one of the upper rooms. But for those who are booked in those rooms, there are a couple of beautiful public areas which are very pleasant for hanging out. The bottom floor atrium covered lobby is beautiful, with a large roaring fireplace, stone walls and welcoming decor. And the lobby off the main entrance has comfortable couches and beautiful views, as well as free wifi.
I have to say something about the staff, as they were wonderful. We had a problem with our visa documentation (we arrived by sea and we were not given the necessary visa cards)--they are required to charge an extra 20% tax for those who arrive without this, and they went well beyond the call of duty to try to help us contact the ship and get access to the cards. They also came up with a good solution to our problem. I had altitude sickness on our first and second day, and they gave me oxegyn and did all they could to make me more comfortable. Terrific staff!

Finally, the breakfast was nice, as well....

We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Room Tip: DEFINTELY book the top floor suite--it is worth the extra expense. If thatis booked, then book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Thekma,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carolinas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I doubt whether you can get any closer to the plaza than this except for sleeping in the square!. A great hotel, great location (maybe 150m from the famous plaza). No need to go any further than the plaza. Great restaurants and pubs. Great food! I cannot help but mention the friendly staff at the hotel. We lost our luggage and the reception staff was onto it every day to find our luggage. 6 days later, but got it! No worries. Great breakfast, great service too! Well worth staying here. Fantastic service! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Dennis V,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The staff of this hotel is excellent, but I have to give this hotel low marks because both of the rooms I stayed in had no windows. This is very important to me and I feel like this needs to be disclosed before booking. There is a very tinted window overlooking an in closed patio, but the room itself gets no natural light. Because this hotel is more expensive then many of the other hotels, I cannot recommend this hotel. I think you can find a better deal else where.

I want to be fare to the staff the room was clean and the staff was excellent and if it wasn't for that one detail I would be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cprops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Cprops,

Thank you for your comment and for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are so sorry that you did not like your room.

All our rooms do have windows, yet some of them face our interior patio, because the characteristic or our property built in an historic monument in the center of Cusco.

Once again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your room and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza for 3 nights in total and we absolutely enjoyed it. The place was very clean with cozy and warm atmosphere. The beautiful interior nicely fusions feeling of inca and kept me in a good vibes of cusco town. Close by to everything tourists would need. The staff was very helpful and profesional.

The only downside was the noise we experienced in the last night. It was locating right in front of the stairs and hall way. Also the room was smaller than the one we stayed for the first two nights and did not have a bath tab so those were a bit of disappointment after being spoilt with a nicer room. But overall we reallyed loved the place. Will definitely recommend

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room with a bath tub if you would need a hot relaxing bath after long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harusame555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Harusame555,

Thank you so much for consider our hotel a “little gem” and for recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before and after our Inca trail trek. It is in a great location right in the middle of town.

It's a clean and well run hotel at a good price. It really was perfect. They gladly held our bags during our trek and had them waiting in our room on our return. Friendly staff and a great courtyard for hanging out in.

Highly recommend for anyone staying in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear BeanFry,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookAssist, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing