We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU NEED TO STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is the best hotel I stayed at in all of South America! The hotel is really nice, it's at a great price and you WILL be really comfortable. The front desk is really friendly, they speak really good English. After I made my reservation the hotel contacted me and asked for my flight information. They had a driver pick me up and drop me off to and from the airport. They had great recommendations and were always available to help me.

The room was really nice, comfortable, and modern. There was plenty of room for me, and the new renovated showers had a really unique yet modern touch to it. I can't say enough about how comfortable this place was compared to other hotels I've seen in Peru.

The location is great! Right next to the main plaza. I had no issues having private tours find the hotel and pick me up at the hotel. They also have a good laundry service that works really fast.

There's a huge drop off on what hotels in this city would call 4 or 5 star hotels. But this hotel is very up to speed and has a high standard in it's quality. You should really stop looking and book this room today.

Room Tip: Bring that entrance slip you get when you arrive to Peru. You'll avoid a huge tax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear ted p,

That you considered Tierra Viva, the best hotel in South America, make us feel so proud of what we are doing.

Thank you so much for such a nice comment, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

My friends and I arrived at the Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza after a long day traveling back from Machu Picchu -- 90 minute train ride to Olly, followed by a 2-hour cab ride to Cusco.

By the time we got to the hotel, it was after 9 p.m. and we were tired and hungry. The cab driver had recommended a restaurant from which we could order Pollo A La Brassa. When we inquired about this at the reception desk, they took care of ordering for us and even had one of their staff members, Agustin, go out to purchase a bottle of wine we had requested.

We went to our rooms, expecting the food to be delivered there. About 30 minutes later, we got a call to say our food was ready. We walked out into the courtyard to find a table had been set for us, wine had been poured and the fireplace had been lit.

We were completely overwhelmed by the service and the kindness of the staff.

The hotel is a short walk from the Plaza, has an amazing view from the upstairs lobby, and the room price includes breakfast. Our standard room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable.

Other hotels should take their cue from this one.

Room Tip: We looked at the suites and higher priced rooms, but could not justify paying the extra amount of mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Barb b,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Tierra Viva!
Comments like yours are our best reward and incentive to continue growing and improving.

Once again, thank you.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, the staff are super nice and accommodating with everything we needed and it had a decent free breakfast. It was really clean and nice with interesting little features here and there like the lounge area downstairs with the sky roof and the little balcony off the reception area that has a fantastic view. We stayed one night before going to MP and one night after returning from MP and had different rooms both nights. Both rooms were fine, basic but comfortable and clean. The bed and shower were good, so thats the main thing for us! They leave you two bottles of water and then there is breakfast downstairs that had fruit, cereal, bread, eggs and sausage. I cant say enough about how helpful the staff were. They carried our luggage up and down the stairs for us and held it after checkout as well as while were spending one night in MP. Overall had a nice stay here.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I researched about two hours on the internet to choose the hotel where I stay. The truth is that it was worth such an investment of time, the longer you stay and care Cizco Tierra Viva Plaza was simply wonderful. The care staff are 10 stars and the warmth that is felt in the hotel make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredij30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Just two minutes from the main plaza, but once you're in the hotel you wouldn't know it. Quiet, really nice decor, great rooms, free internet and an amazing price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayonnaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear Bayonnaise,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

In the moment I've booked this hotel at booling.com I new it would be the correct one. We were in a group of 9 people. And it pleased every one.
The room was clean, the service was great, all the staffs were open to any kind of help and provinding all the information needed, a trustble place to change money, taxi, what we couldn't miss at Cusco.
We stayed there for 2 nights than went to Aguas Calientes and the way back we expend one more night in Terra Viva.

At the last day we had a small issue, one we were in a group of 9 it could be a little mess, than what happening was, Tierra Viva is located in a very narrow street, and we had 3 taxis waiting for us to take us to the airport, in the rush every body got in the car and didn't check if every lugged was there. Anyway, my husband and I didn'd have our bags there. We hold one taxi and run to hotel. In the time we checked out and request our bags out the room it was forgoten. But they were much nervous thean we were. They instantanitly got out bags and paid our taxi. So, at the end I was a fun experience. And Nothing to complain at all.
Thank you Tierra Viva team for all the confort you had provided.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear AnaC3,

Thank you for your excellent comment about our hotel.

We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed our installations and services

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights (superior double room) on our way to Machu Picchu and one night (double room) on the way back. We liked both our rooms – the main difference we noticed was that the double didn't have a fridge.

There are many plus points, such as free airport pick-up, free wi-fi as well as free internet access on hotel computers, laundry done by the kilo (only $4 per kilo), they're happy to store luggage while you're away in Machu Picchu, a decent buffet breakfast and unlimited supplies of coca tea. That's not to mention the excellent location just off the main square and the friendly and helpful staff. Eleazar, who works on the front desk, deserves special mention. Nothing was too much trouble for him - from printing our boarding passes to making restaurant bookings and even giving recommendations for which CDs to buy (my partner wanted advice on contemporary Peruvian groups). Also, when we mentioned a minor problem with a doorknob in our room, it was fixed by the time we returned to the hotel two hours later.

The only slight negative was that on our last night there was quite a bit of noise from the street but, to be fair, it was a Friday nightfa

All in all, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Eating tip: The crispy chicken salad at nearby Incanto restaurant is possibly the best salad I've ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Markus04,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about our hotel.

I just want to add to your comment, that other main differences between a standard room and a superior one, are the size of it, the minibar, bathrobes and a 32” lcd tv, among others.

Once again, thank you for your excellent words and for having stayed at Tierra Viva, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $72 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing