We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at this amazing hotel for 3 nights in two different rooms in late January 2012.
It is a small boutique hotel just 50 meters up a cobbled side street just off Plazza de Armas in the center of Cuzco.
It seems to be an colonial hacienda which was changed into a series of individual and unique rooms all of which are different. The street view is limited by the colonial terra cotta tile roof tops which add an extra sense of privacy. but you get an excellent view of the mountains surrounding Cuzco
Wonderfully quiet. You feel you are the only guest .
There are 2 high speed computers in a discreet alcove.The room was luxurious with king sized bed, high mattress, jacuzzi tub and flat screen TV. with multi-lingual channels. Bath robes and bottled water! Lovely breakfast with eggs and bacon! They stored my luggage while I went to Machu Picchu for 2 days and washed my laundry while I was gone!
Staff is fluent in English and very knowledgeable.
On my last night, they found me a late night restaurant that served a national dish (coy) that i wanted to experience before leaving Cuzco.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for airport pick up and they will be there when you arrive. Ask for the room off the balcony on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UPTHEAMAZON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Uptheamazon,

Thank you for your wonderful comment about our hotel and the time you have taken to describe some of its features.

Reading comments like yours are a huge incentive for us to continue growing and improving.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in the Tierra Viva Hotel for 5 days in Cusco in January. Initially only intended to stay for 2 days but got really bad food poisoning in Aguas Calientes (do NOT order the chicken taco's ;)) and extending our stay was no problem.

Rooms are clean and nice, if a little small, and any of the rooms we stayed in were without outward facing windows (there were windows facing the internal courtyard, but if you wanted any privacy you had to keep your curtains closed at all times. The walls were a little thin, and you could hear a lot of what was going on in other rooms on all floors, with some intermittent machine noises going on throughout the night.

Breakfast was a nice buffet of local and North American style foods, and staff were generally very helpful, with good English.

Coca tea in reception was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a street view if you want some privacy, although this might be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naulboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Nealboy,

Thank you for your comment about our hotel and or the time you have taken to write about us.

It is the first time we hear about noises between rooms. Yet, be sure that we will revise it and improve it.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great little hotel, close to the square in the heart of the town. Great service, lovely breakfast, very nice room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre38_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I am obsessed with this hotel. It's adorable, cozy, and pretty much perfect. Not to mention a great deal. And in a great location. We stayed here before the Inca trail and I wish we had stayed here after as well. BEST HOTEL EVER.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Kim T,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and for consider us the BEST HOTEL IN CUSCO.

Once again thank you.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I had the privilege of staying 6 nights at this hotel, a few days before taking on the Inca Trail, and two more after to recuperate with a hot shower.

Everything about this hotel was a nice surprise. From the onset the staff were friendly and attentive, and catered to our every need. We originally only booked two nights, but after the first night we wanted to extend our stay because it was so nice.

The entire hotel seems cobbled together from a couple of different renovated colonial buildings on the steep alleys coming off the plaza, so it has a haphazard but ultimately charming layout. The reception is on the top floor which you enter from Suecia, and the rooms are all below, ending with the breakfast area on the 1st floor. It's quite nice as they've retained a fireplace and small courtyard on the 1st floor near the breakfast area.

Anyway, to the rooms. Because we were coming and going, and didn't book long enough days to begin with, we stayed in three different rooms overall.

204 - This was one of the superior rooms, and it was very comfortable and unique. Because of the steep layout of the adjoining streets it has a second floor! The second floor has a couch and a mini-bar, with wooden stairs and rail leading up. The roof is very high and it gave a great sense of space. There is a small spa bath in the bathroom, and a standard size TV with basic cable channels.

208 - This was also a superior room I think. This was right next the alley with some new discotheques which were the source of some complaints in previous reviews we read. To their credit, the hotel owners must have paid attention to these reports and now the balcony (there is a tiny balcony - more of a window ledge really - with enough space for one to sit on a stool with a beer ) is secured by a thick glass sliding door, and the original wooden shutters. Noise was a distant murmur even on Saturday night, not disruptive at all. Otherwise the room was everything it claimed to be - everything was clean and well maintained. No mini-spa in this room.

103 - Finally after the Inca Trail we stayed in this room on the bottom floor. This was one of the normal double rooms, only $90. The difference between this and the so-called superior rooms was negligible. Furnishings and bathroom were identical, only it was slightly smaller than the other rooms. No need to fret over a regular versus superior room, they're basically the same.

Wifi was excellent on the 2nd floor, but was very slow and barely got a signal on the 1st floor.

Breakfast was a standard spread, however I was disappointed every morning that the scrambled eggs and sausages were always cold. Even getting to breakfast relatively early - the cooked food was cold. They use sort of ceramic pots to keep the cooked food in the breakfast area, but they just don't seem to keep the heat. Everything else was fresh and great, the banana bread was especially tasty.

There is no room-service menu, but being only 2 minutes walk to the Plaza it wasn't necessary.

Just want to reiterate the staff always had a smile, and were happy to securely keep our extra luggage for 5 days while we were away on the Inca Trail.

Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Room tips in main review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Salamando,

The privilege was for us, for having you at our hotel.

Thank you so much for considering us a “gem” and for your excellent comment about our hotel.

I just want to add to your comment, that the difference between a Superior Room and a Standard Room, is not only the size of it, but also a 32” lcd tv, mini bar, breakfast area, bath robes and different amenities.

Once again, thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Lovely hotel nice sized rooms helpful staff that speak English free wifi and breakfast which runs from 5.30 - 10am. It's an old building so you can sometimes hear people climbing the stairs but it was never loud enough for us not to sleep. Hotel also provides a laundry service at $4 per kilo. We requested a room with a bath and got it so was very pleased. Hotel also has 2 computers and a printer for guest use. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We got a very small room with queen size bed, well decorated, they picked us at the airport (the return you pay :), nice amenities (2 bottles of water daily, good soap and toilet paper) great breakfast included, nice staff, nice duvet and heater in the room. Free Internet. The only thing I did not like is that the mattress squeaks every time you move, because it moves with the headboard.

Room Tip: The most expensive room is a little bigger, has 2 sofas, drawers and a little table. I would choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birch_abedul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear birch_abedul,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for reporting that incidence with the sound of the mattress, which we have already solved.

Once again thank you for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookAssist, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing