We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but choose room carefully” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but choose room carefully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were travelling from La Paz to Cuzco by bus and were supposed to be picked up from the bus station. However, the bus company we booked with iin La Paz changed at the 11th hour and We weren't able to inform the hotel. As a consequence, there was no pick up. However, this wasn't a big issue as we had a drop off to the airport on the way back.

We were allocated our room (207) which was lovely and had a French window leading on to a little balcony. However, we had read a previous review advising that room 207 was very noisy because of a disco. First night was ok but the next night we had to move (even with ear plugs) because of the noise. We were offered another room which was very big but there was no fresh air, only a skylight that you couldn't open so it did tend to feel a little stuffy. We did eventually. I've back to our room 207 when the disco was closed.

There's a lovely seated area with a fire and the smell of woodsmoke was really appealing.

The breakfast was good, we did welcome the sausages, bacon and tamales and the staff were all brilliant. Extremely helpful and after the experience with the noisy room, couldn't do enough for us.

Thanks a lot Tierra Viva for making our stay so welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    286
    54
    12
    10
See reviews for
146
565
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is by far a great hotel to stay at while in Cusco. It is very close to the square and close to everything you need while you are there. We stayed there a total of 4 nights and left our bags in the hotel while we went on our 4 day trek.

The staff is SUPER friendly and nice. And the breakfast is open early so you can get food before you leave on the trek (to save a few bucks).

As for the rooms...we first had 209 for the first night and it is a wonderful room except when the disco-tech starts up then you better have some ear plugs. We didn't complain the first night (Saturday) because we were super tired, then Sunday night came around and no music, so we were good to go. All of the rooms on that side are the only double bed rooms for two people (209, 206 and 207) - I think those are the room numbers; and all the rest of the rooms are queen beds. So if you need two beds I would suggest you request that they move a bed into a different room.

When we came back to stay with them after the trek we told them about the noise and we didn't want to go back into that room again. They knew about the noise and so they put us in our own separate rooms for one night then moved us to room 104 where they put another bed in the room for us.

Even though we had one bad night with the disco-tech, the hospitality and willingness to move us around so we could have a good nights sleep was OUTSTANDING. That goes far in my book.

We also had them do all our laundry which was a decent price (just make sure you total it up before you give it to them because if you have a lot of clothing, by the kilo is much more expensive).

One last thing, there is a massage place right next to the hotel (on the side street where the restaurant is) and the massage is only 25 soles, which is a steal especially after the long trek.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby are better. If you get a room over the breakfast area you will hear the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great time! Very good choice of Hotel! good rooms clean and cozy, very quiet place, private, nice services conveniently located less than a block from the central plaza. Hotel is recently renovated, staff is friendly. the street where the hotel is located is a bit dark and small but we never felt uncomfortable since is very close to the central plaza. We had breakfast at the hotel every day and it was always good and tasty. Courtyard is small but beautiful, I wish we had spent more time on it but there is a lot to do in Cuzco.

Room Tip: the suite two different types of suites where almost the same size but the bath tub made a differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

It was fantastic to be so close to the sights of Cusco without hearing the noise from nightclubs in nearby streets Tierra Viva does it by having rooms organized around two inside courtyards without windows or openings towards the outside. It felt a bit strange at the beginning but e got used to it, as ventilation is good.
The hotel is also pleasantly decorated, rooms are comfortable. We recommend the triple room with mezzanine for families with one or two kids (not toddlers though, as there are some stairs)
Staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. As far as service goes, it was just as excellent as at the 5 star property we stayed on the previous nights. For example, when they saw me walk in from the market with flowers for my wife they brought me a vase without even needing to ask.
The only minor flaw was that we didn't have hot water on the last morning. It seems that transitions between gas bottles are occasionally complicated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petitdobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Petitdobrasil,

Thanks for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva!

We wish you an excellent 2012 and we hope you can visit us again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel two days before the Inka Trail hike and one day after. The hotel is great, with good rooms, they are one of the more pricier hotels. They stored our bags while we were on the trail. One of the rooms we stayed in had a shower drain that was sluggish, so they gave us another room upon our return from the Inka Trail when we requested. The morning break fast is included. Even though the hotel says 'Cusco Plaza' they are not right on it, they are 'off the plaza' on a side street Suecia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TkPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear TkPhilip,

Thanks for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva!

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in total. The first two nights we stayed in Superior room. They gave us the room right next to reception area. We started to suffer from altitude sickness on the first night and we couldn't sleep at all due to the loud noise from the disco place nearby. The next morning we headed to Machu Picchu without any sleep and we were in bad form.

The second night there was a loud noise from the other side of the wall. Some guys from the next building kept banging the wall started at 4 am! and didn't finish until 9 or 10 am. At this point we couldn't take it anymore, so I asked the staff to change my room to other side of the building. The room we got was on a second floor and it was a standard room. I personally think that the standard room is nicer than Superior room. The bed in Superior room was too high but the bathroom was nicer and it has more space than Standard room.

The location is great though. Only 3 minutes walk and then you are right at Plaza de Armas. They staff were nice enough especially the women and a guy wearing glasses in particular. There was another guy who checked us in and wasn't so friendly.(the good looking one) He didn't really want to help when I asked him about getting taxi in the morning to Poroy station. He also hangs around balcony at night and talking on the phone all the time. I also noticed that he didn't even say hi or acknowledge the guests when they walked in to the hotel which I think is pretty bad manner for a front desk staff.

The hotel breakfast was good and it started quite early so you don't need to worry if you are heading to Poroy station in the morning. The hotel also has coca tea available 24 hours at reception area and also 3 computers and a printer. I would recommend this hotel to a friend but should try to avoid the room on the same floor at reception desk as it can get very noisy at night.

The hotel also offered free transfer from the airport to hotel. Just let them know your flight schedule in advance.

Room Tip: If you don't have big luggage like we did, you better book for a standard room as it's prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We could not have had a better time. Staff were fantastic and our driver Jesus was fabulous. We used Jesus to book our tours which turned out perfect. We were always picked up on time and the vehicles were perfect to almost new. Jesus seemed to be always there to see that we were looked after. The hotel itself surpassed all our expectations and seconds from the main square Plaza de Armas. Fantastic courtyard, great views from upper patio, perfect breakfast buffet and always coca tea ready. Thanks to all who made our vacation perfect. We stayed on two occasions for a total of 5 days in December and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room 204 was very quiet and WiFi was always strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Rayhill,

We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Thank you for your wonderful words about Tierra Viva and we hope that you can visit us again very soon

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing