We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Place - best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #25 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicest Place - best location”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I really enjoyed Tierra Viva off Plaza des Armas. It's only 1/2 block up a street from the Plaza - and on a quiet street!!!

We stayed there before and after our trip to Machu Picchu. When we arrived the first time they did not have a twin room available (as we reserved) and so gave us two rooms (and didn't charge any more).

The rooms are very nice, great bathrooms, clean, etc. It's quiet, good breakfast, has Wi-Fi. The front desk helped us to arrange custom tours of the Sacred Valley, and Pisaq. We didn't have to suffer the million tourist agencies around town.

I would definitely return here. And will recommend it to friends!!!

Room Tip: Just reserved on-line!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGATallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear DGATallTraveller,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva!

In all our hotels, our staff is very well trained to asses and inform you in all you could need or require to enjoy the destiny you have chosen.

We hope to have you again very soon at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    294
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
153
591
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were booked to stay in a $90/night room. When we arrived, our room was beautiful but very crampt and small. Location was in the corner on the first floor which was poorly lit and claustrophobic.

So we upgraded to a suite which was very beautiful with down blankets, plasma TV, nice clean bathroom. Location was on the third floor....much better. Rate we were asked to pay was $110 per night which was fine. Then a day later after we loved our room, the staff said they made a mistake and it was $140 per night. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL !!!

We were also charged for our "complimentary" taxi to the airport. Staff refers you to there buddy buddy restuarants, tour groups. Had to ask mutiple times for extra towels. Breakfast is very bland and should be eaten somewhere else.

Hotel is close to sqaure but a up a dark narrow street all uphill. Homeless people were sleeping a few yards from the hotel, not all that luxurious or safe.

SKIP THIS PLACE ENTIRELY!!! Great rooms are not a made up by the HEADACHE and LIES from the STAFF.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inro41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Inro 41,

Thank you for your comment and we are really sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay at Tierra Viva. Yet, we do not agree with the low qualification you have given to us.

At Tierra Viva, we do take all comments and feedback from our clients seriously and make a complete investigation of every problem that happens in order to solve them and make sure they won’t be repeated.

As you have written on your comment, you booked a double room at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, for 2 nights. We assigned you the room number 104, which is a really nice room that has 21 square meters, a 24” LCD TV, queen size bed and a bath tub in the bathroom. Then, as you required, we gave you a Superior Room, that are larger rooms, with 32” LCD TV, mini bar, special amenities and Jacuzzi on the bathroom.

The price of a Superior Room is USD 110, and according to your bill, that is what we have charged you. So we do not understand why you have written that we have charged you USD 140. That rate does not exist in our plan.

Regarding the taxi service, in all of our hotels in Cusco, the airport pick up service is included in your rate, not the transfer out. Because you arrived from Macchu Picchu by yourself, we did offer you the free transfer out, so charging you for that was a mistake and we strongly apologize for it.

On the other hand, regarding the restaurants that our staff recommends we only recommend restaurants that we believe are the best in town, and are also the most recommended on tripadvisor.

Once again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Cusco, and hopefully we´ll see you again very soon in any of our Tierra Viva hotels.

Best Regards,


Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon and had the greatest experience. We were greated straight away and offered a cup of coca tea. And while we caught our breath and sat in the lounge area they checked us in. We also discovered that we were one of their first guests and they had just opened. The service was excellent, and everyone was so helpful and friendly. After 4 days hiking the Inca Trail, we returned back to the hotel and were delighted that they had upgaded us to the suite. That, a nice long hot shower, and the most comfortable bed just topped our entire trip. I would highly recommend staying here....the location was brilliant too

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamboKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Sambokeen,

Thank you for your excellent comment!

We are so glad that you stayed, on your honey moon, at Tierra Viva, and knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us is our best reward and incentive to continue growing and improving.

The kind of details that you kindly mention on your comment is what differentiates Tierra Viva from other hotels, and we are proud of given them whenever we can, because we want that our travelers fully enjoy their destiny and their vacation.

We hope to have you again very soon at Tierra Viva!

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Tierra Viva hotel was a comfortable and affordable hotel in a great location.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Teliman,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at Tierra Viva!

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The staff were very friendly, went out of their way to help us when needed, and the rooms were great. The breakfast supplied was substantial and helped to start the day well. I would definatly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Shellp78,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is “To convert a trip in an unforgettable experience”, and comments like yours make us know that we are in the right path.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again very soon at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Everyone in our mission group enjoyed their stay in your hotel. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. They spoke excellent English and never forgot our first names!! I asked each member if they wanted to return next yaer and I recieved an enthusiastic "yes" from everyone. We will see you in June 2011.

Room Tip: Theyb are all the
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Marck_42016,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us, that is our best reward and incentive to continue growing.

We will be waiting for you in June!

Best Regards,


Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I did not know this when I arrived, but I am the first person to book a stay in this hotel. I had never been to Peru before, and was sort of nervous about the trip. Rodrigo and the staff made me feel very comfortable when I e-mailed them ahead of time. They picked me up at the airport, and put me in an amazing room the first night of my stay. I was delayed in Lima by a day due to weather, and the hotel staff was easy to communicate with when this happened. I think the staff felt bad for me because they let me stay in the suitewhen I finally made it! (I was moved to a smaller room when I returned after hiking the Inca Trail.) The beds are really comfortable, towels are good quality, bathrooms (with hot, hot water) are great, and there was cable TV and wireless internet available. Great amenities! The location is so close to the main square, but set back from the noisy dance clubs. I had a great stay and could not have asked for better from the staff. They definitely took care of me. One additional plus about this hotel, when I returned from hiking the Inca Trail, I took the longest, hottest shower and it felt amazing! Apparently the other people I hiked with stayed in hostels and there was no water due to a landslide in the area. This is one perk I was glad to have paid a little extra for!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowtheyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Mowtheyard,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

As you have said, all our hotels have plenty of hot water, we know that our travelers return tired of visiting so many places in Cusco and want a nice hot shower, so we do not hesitate on that.

We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Cusco.

Thank you, and we hope to have you again very soon at Tierra Viva!

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookAssist, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing