We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple restaurant with good service and good food”
Review of Pachamama

Pachamama
Ranked #200 of 732 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simple restaurant with good service and good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Tucked a bit down a street from the Plaza de Almas, Pachamama is a quiet little restaurant that seems to be frequented by Peruvians. Their menu is quite extensive and the food is good. Our daughter accidentally spilled a drink and the staff were quite gracious to her and moved us to another table while they cleaned up our first one. There was nothing exceptional about the restaurant. It just serves good, comfort food by nice staff. I wish there was a "Good" rating instead of "Average" and then "Very Good." It fits right between the two.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Peru”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by the owner of our B&B, and we were very happy with the meal, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofFour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Alpaca to die for”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This place was a revelation to us. A beautiful courtyard with tables under umbrellas with gas heaters made the most of a beautiful clear night, though there seemed to be plenty of room inside also. We had alpaca kebabs, and they were deliciously tender and beautifully medium-cooked. Dessert was a real treat too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our tour guide in the Sacred Valley. We were not missled. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was excellent.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank howtodoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I dined here for lunch one afternoon while visiting Cusco. We stumbled upon it while meandering through the plazas and stone streets, saw they accepted Visa AND had good reviews in our travel book! It was a win-win- and we were starving! We were seated immediately and given a decent menu to choose from.

Food: Noticing they had a papa rellena on their menu, which I love when we go to Miami, we opted for a starter (think ground beef inside a deep fried mashed potato ball!) Both of us agree that it's the best we've had. For lunch, we deviated from the Peruvian norm and each had calzones made in their pacha oven. We actually watched them make the calzone and the process of using the clay oven was pretty neat to see. They were very flavorful, full of meats and cheeses.

Ambience: Located in a small courtyard, we dined at an umbrella shaded picnic table right next to the clay oven. It was a beautiful day, wonderful Peruvian music playing and just an all around pleasant experience. The steps alongside the patio were lined with fresh veggies used to make some of their specialties.

Cost/Bottom line: Price on point with other locations in Cusco and credit card is accepted. Check them out for a leisurely lunch in the courtyard, you'll be glad you did!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CosioFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pachamama also viewed

 

Been to Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing