We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover new Andean flavors”

Marcelo Batata Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 728 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our kitchen offers both tradtional and avant garde cuisine, always focusing on rediscovering age-old recipes that allow us to take yesterday's flavors to today's table. Our specialty is Criolle and Andean cuisine where we highlight the essence of this beautiful mix of varieties that provides us with an endless array of flavors and that each Peruvian carries in their veins. In appreciation for all products we utilize we allow ourselves to play with new flavors and sensations based on the immense diversity of native products available: aji (Peruvian chili pepper), distinct passion fruits, avocados, rice and corn varieties are some of our favorites to explore with. Slow cooking dishes and the high flames of our grill are our favorite preparation techniques to use here at Marcelo Batata.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Discover new Andean flavors”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hidden on a first floor lies an interesting restaurant where you discover new flavours: tarwi, huancaina, alpaca. Even the potato soup was special. a delicate créme made of highland potatoes, beets, almonds, olive oil, garlic and dill confit, topped with caramelized pecans and huacatay sour cream. Fabulous! We only had appetizers and soup but we were captured by its flavors! In the highlands they recommend you not to have big dinners. The service was impeccable. Noemi , our waitress, with her big smile guided through the different options. Thanks! Noemi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    362
    72
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, not to be missed!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner last night at this restaurant, recommended by Trip Advisor. Both our meals were full of interesting flavours and texture and the presentation beautiful. Clearly a "Cordon Bleu" worthy chef! We have been so impressed with the food in Cusco, Peru and this dinner was one of the best so far. We still have two more nights so have to decide whether to continue exploring or go back again. A very difficult decision! Great service, our waitress was soooo helpful. A perfect evening after an equally perfect but EXHAUSTING day at Machu Picchu. Does it get any better than this!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janbob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great alpaca!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

On our final night in cusco we decided to give peruvian food another go. Not much luck beforehand. We ordered the alpaca suggested by our waitress. It was not sweet, rather "rico", and called something like the antichoachi- something or rather. Second choice of alpaca on the menu. So good! It almost tasted like a rich flank steak but my husband disagrees. Yet we both enjoyed it. That dish was about 38-39 soles but worth it. Another bonus was we asked if we could sit outside in the terrace. They said of course and though it was not set up for anyone we made ourselves at home, set up a table, turned on the gas heater, and turned down the lights/ there we had a night view of cusco's cityscape all to ourselves!

Helpful?
Thank miablee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice interior, good food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We really liked sitting there and having our drinks and food. It is quiet, nice ambiance. On the minus side, the wine glasses are TINY. like, half a normal glass in any other place...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all round experience ”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here for valentines day and we're not disappointed. The decor and ambience are lovely and the door was first class. We would recommend without hesitation

Helpful?
Thank michaelcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcelo Batata Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marcelo Batata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing