We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first meal in Cusco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcelo Batata Restaurant

Marcelo Batata Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 687 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our kitchen offers both tradtional and avant garde cuisine, always focusing on rediscovering age-old recipes that allow us to take yesterday's flavors to today's table. Our specialty is Criolle and Andean cuisine where we highlight the essence of this beautiful mix of varieties that provides us with an endless array of flavors and that each Peruvian carries in their veins. In appreciation for all products we utilize we allow ourselves to play with new flavors and sensations based on the immense diversity of native products available: aji (Peruvian chili pepper), distinct passion fruits, avocados, rice and corn varieties are some of our favorites to explore with. Slow cooking dishes and the high flames of our grill are our favorite preparation techniques to use here at Marcelo Batata.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our first meal in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were recommended here by our hotel and also got 10% off for showing our hotel card. The service was really good and the owner personally came over to see how we were doing. I tried a "rocoto picoso" drink which was spicy and made with Pisco and my husband had one of the best lamb dishes he has ever eaten

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mySAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    341
    66
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I made my own meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of friends and myself had a 7 hour culinary class with Chef Erick Paz, and what an experience it was! We started out at the local market where we learned about various fruits and veggies, then we continued back to the restaurant where we learned about pisco ( and made ourselves pisco sours) and then we were taught to make causa, a Peruvian dish made with potatoes, chicken, avocados, olives, and egg....and then we ate it! It was fun and oh so tasty. After that, Chef Erick made an alpaca saltimbocca for us, which we quickly devoured.

The restaurant itself is very modern and beautifully decorated in reds and blacks. The kitchen is open, so you can watch the food being prepared, and the place is spotless. There is also a rooftop terrace with an incredible view of Cusco.

The restaurant was quickly filling up while we were there, it seems to be a very popular place, and the menu was quite extensive and the prices were reasonable. I'd go back again for sure, a lovely place for nice meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi Traveler
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here because Restaurant Inkazuela had a 2 hour wait. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was fantastic, especially the 3 cheese lamb. I tried a few of their many pisco sours, and there were great. The fruit smoothies were good, but had a little too much yogurt flavor. Unfortunately, it was too cool for us to eat on the rooftop because there are no heaters, but the service inside was the best we've had since being in Cuzco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CBoothe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had dinner one evening on the rooftop of Marcelo Batara's. The food was really good, but the view was incredible. We split a bottle of wine and watched the sun set on the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jinh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service, delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We actually ended up here because Uchu wasn't able to seat us until 3 hours later. This turned out to be great for us as we did Uchu the following evening and Marcelo Batata was much better!
Here is where we tried Alpaca. I have to say, we tried alpaca in several places and I am just not a fan of it. But this was the best we did try. The service was excellent. I think the best service we had in all of Peru. It's just around the corner from the main square but it's not obvious so you need to get directions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcelo Batata Restaurant also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Marcelo Batata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing