We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcelo Batata Restaurant

Marcelo Batata Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 614 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our kitchen offers both tradtional and avant garde cuisine, always focusing on rediscovering age-old recipes that allow us to take yesterday's flavors to today's table. Our specialty is Criolle and Andean cuisine where we highlight the essence of this beautiful mix of varieties that provides us with an endless array of flavors and that each Peruvian carries in their veins. In appreciation for all products we utilize we allow ourselves to play with new flavors and sensations based on the immense diversity of native products available: aji (Peruvian chili pepper), distinct passion fruits, avocados, rice and corn varieties are some of our favorites to explore with. Slow cooking dishes and the high flames of our grill are our favorite preparation techniques to use here at Marcelo Batata.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant... We were so glad..
This place was beautiful and very friendly.
We had alpaca which was very tasty :-)
Well worth a visit, would have loved a second meal but left the next morning.
Make sure you go up to the roof for a view of the city, stunning..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    308
    55
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal at an Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We happened to walk by this restaurant not realizing that it had received great reviews on tripadvisor and the owners also owned Uchu Steakhouse. Marcelo Batata is located on one of the samll streets off of the square. The restaurant itself was lovely and quaint. The meal was outstanding. We had the alpace steak with huancaina and andean cheeses and the alpaca steak with andean mushrooms. The meat was as tender and delicious. It was a little bit more expensive than other meals in Cusco, but it was definately worth it. I highly recommed this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cuisine with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Highly recommended by our local guide, Ernesto, this intimate eatery is on a well traveled side street in Cusco's old town. Bright red walls with stark white ceiling set off the artistic black and white photos of the Incan culture decorating the walls. Up a steep (think ships ladder) stairs is a compact, roof top terrace overlooking the roof of the Cusco cathedral, the city lights, and the Andes; a spectacular location for watching the sunset with a Pisco Sour, local craft beer, Peruvian wine, or Mojito. At an altitude of 11,000 feet the air can quickly chill as the sun goes down so don't forget a sweater or jacket. We retreated to the inside dining due to a light evening rain. The front dining area easily accommodated our party of eight (aged 10 to 75) at a long table. The service was attentive and even split the bill for us without a fuss. The mixed drink menu was extensive (some of the best we had in Peru) but don't forget to ask for the wine and beer menus. There is a new craft beer brewery, which is reportedly very good, while the Peruvian 'meritage' red wine was surprisingly good and equal (in my opinion) to Chilean and Argentine wines. The dinner menu ranged from tapas to full plates. The alpaca and lamb were exceptional; so tender and flavorful! As always, the vegetables and potatoes (over 600 varieties in Peru, the origin of the domesticated potato) were fresh and delightful. Even our youngest traveler loved the food. Prices were reasonable. We thank our hostess (the wife of the chef/owner) for her gracious attention and sharing the story of her move from Ohio to live in this World Heritage city. Our only regret: we did not have more time to stay in this beautiful city and enjoy more meals at this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A "good food" restaurant but more expensive than most we ate at. Good value if you have the funds. Has some different choices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hereandtherephotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alpaca Preparation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This restaurant had a lot of really interesting preparations for Alpaca tenderloin. Of the two we tried, both were delicious. We did not have a reservation but the restaurant gladly accommodated us - it was busy, but not full. Highly recommend for a tourist restaurant in Cusco.

Helpful?
Thank Kiley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcelo Batata Restaurant also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Marcelo Batata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing